There’s a problem with free family planning?

Is it just me? Am I missing something? I cannot, for the life of me, understand where the problem is here. They’re proposing free family planning and contraceptives and people are against this?

My mouth hung open as I read this article in The New York Times online. I am all about respecting people’s religious views and I fully believe that everyone is entitled to their beliefs and opinions, but this is about trying to deny services that could greatly benefit the lives of women, children, and entire families.

I can’t speak for statistics, and I can’t quote specific case studies. What I can do is comment on what I see every day just by walking out my door. I used to work in retail. I can’t even tell you how many parents came in with Access cards (welfare cards) after unwanted pregnancies. I overheard a pregnant women talking to her friend not that long ago about how she “didn’t want this kid to begin with, but the insurance wouldn’t pay for an IUD”. It’s mentioned in the article that about half of all pregnancies were not planned. That number truly does not surprise me.

I certainly don’t take away from personal responsibility, and yes a lot of these women still could have prevented their unwanted pregnancies. But who is really suffering here? The innocent kids who had no say in being born. You add more children to a family that couldn’t even afford birth control and what do you think is going to happen? The health of each child is going to suffer.

And let’s not forget how much money will actually be saved in the long run. For the insurance company, compare the cost of contraceptives to the cost of prenatal care and childbirth. For the average taxpayer, compare the cost of contraceptives to the cost of more kids raised on welfare. Who is losing in this? Where the hell is the problem?

I read the religious arguments. I just don’t understand them. It “could violate the ‘rights of conscience’ of religious employers”? Really? What about the women who are physically unable to carry out a pregnancy? Their lives could be saved by free contraceptives. Where is the conscience in denying that?

All I can see are the positives to individual families, to society in general, to the taxpayers’ pockets, and to the health of women and children. Forgive me for not understanding the cons.

3 responses to this post.

  1. If only everyone could see it the way we did… *sigh*

    It’s a damn shame that the government can’t see their part in this. Although when have they ever claimed responsibility for things they do?

    I think where the government is lacking though it’s up to us as parents to step up to the plate. We need to stop making sex such a taboo. Start creating stronger bonds with out children now so as they grow older they don’t look for that same comfort in someone else s bed. So they too can make informed decisions about sex. I went to a school for teen moms, I walk outside of my house too, everyday, and see tons of moms who have children they can’t afford, and they struggle to keep their family together. So I start to wonder…… where does it start? Yes contraceptives should be available for free. Religion has no right to wiggle it’s way into anyone’s crotch. But what about education? We have a whole new generation on it’s way. If more people started teaching their kids family values and more importantly personal values, the unwanted pregnancy epidemic would still be present (It has for centuries just never to this proportion) but imagine how smaller of a problem it would be.

    As a mother of a boy I am drilling into his head now about condoms and sex and children. Yes, even at 8. He knows all about sex (but he has a personal reason too). For the average child Sex can still be talked about without the details. When He was waiting for his cousin to arrive he knew she was in your belly, he knew that his uncle had put her there through your vagina (he always knew correct terms). He also knew that your vagina was how she was going to exit your belly. Now in his little mind he didn’t quite understand and that was ok, honestly he probably didn’t know where the vagina was located, at his age it could of been your ear for all he knew lol. There was no need for further discussion, he wasn’t ready. But it set a foundation for later. As he got older and learned more (sometimes more than I wanted him too) we went a little further into detail. I don’t want him to be 14 and curious, or 18 and adventurous. Not about sex anyway. I WILL offer him condoms if he asks. I WILL be more than happy to talk to his girlfriend about it too should it come up. Sex will never be a shy topic in our house.

    Reply

    • Ok, you gave me about 5 more blog topics here! I am huge, HUGE on the sex education bit. Sadly, that’s being pushed down by a lot of religious folk as well.

      Abby knows how babies are born (and yes, we use real names too . . . in fact I had a little argument with her not too long ago when she called a penis a birdie and I told her that that is not what it is). She doesn’t know how the baby gets there though . . . of course, she hasn’t asked yet. I figure I’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. And yes, there will be condoms in my bathroom closet when that point comes and Abby will know outright that she can always feel free to talk to me and I will be right by her side at her first gyn appointment.

      Reply

  2. And these are reasons why I love you 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

