The inevitable abortion blog

Abortion’s always been a hot topic, always the center of controversy, and many people’s deciding factor when voting. Almost everyone has a strong opinion one way or the other. I’m no exception. So, yes, it was bound to become a blog topic sooner or later.

I’ve never been comfortable with the idea of abortion. In fact, for many years I called myself Pro-life. The truth of it is that I still am. But I’ve come to consider myself Pro-choice as well. I know that sounds contradictory. I know that most people will argue that I can’t possibly be both. I very much assert that I am.

I knew before I missed a period that I was pregnant with my daughter. I just knew. And I was in love from that moment forward. There was no doubt in my mind that what was growing inside of me was a life, a life I helped create, a life I would be the sole provider for in the months to come. I loved my daughter before she was considered a fetus or viable or a baby.

Several friends of mine over the years have had abortions. I don’t judge them. I don’t necessarily agree with their choices, but I don’t judge them. I know that the decisions they came to weren’t made easily. I love them and I support them.

Most Pro-lifers that I talk to tell me that their goal is to overturn Roe v. Wade. They want to shut down the abortion clinics. They oppose Planned Parenthood. They vote for people based solely on their views of abortion. All of this is counter-productive, as far as I’m concerned. I want to see the abortions rates go down. I think the goal of a Pro-lifer should be to save as many lives as possible. We can’t accomplish that goal by making abortion illegal or protesting abortion clinics or ending federal funding to Planned Parenthood.*

I don’t want Roe v. Wade overturned. I don’t want to stand outside of abortion clinics shouting insults at women who are obviously already in turmoil. I want to educate and inform. I want to make birth control more easily available and affordable. For as many abortions as Planned Parenthood has performed, how many do you think they’ve prevented by providing the birth control that stopped the pregnancy from even happening?

I am so tired of the right-wing religious zealots who can’t seem to see any other perspective. Don’t talk about sex in schools. Don’t provide condoms to teenagers. Don’t take your teenage daughter to a gynecologist. But yell at the top of your lungs at the atrocity of teenage pregnancy rates and young girls having abortions.

Do I think a 15-year-old should be having sex? Hell no. Is it going to happen anyway? Hell yes. Education is key. We need to teach our kids how to protect themselves, not just against pregnancy but STD’s as well. If you’re Pro-life, isn’t saving their lives just as important?

I have a six-year-old daughter. I know I am several years away from this being a household concern, but it is still something I think about. We will talk about sex and talk about it often (no matter how much she groans and turns red). I will tell her that I would prefer her to abstain. I’ll also tell her how to protect herself if she chooses not to. There will be condoms in my bathroom closet and I will take her to the gynecologist when she’s ready. It’s what my mom did with me. Guess what. I was a virgin till I was 21. Here were my mom’s exact words to me at 15 years old, “15 is too young to have sex, 16 is too young to have sex, 17 is too young to have sex, but I’m not stupid. I had you when I was 17. One of the benefits of being a young mother is that I was your age not that long ago. All I ask of you is to wait until you know you are ready and to talk to me first.” And if she were alive when I made the decision that I was ready, I would have talked to her. Open communication is so, so important.

Women need to know what options are out there and they need to be able to access them. We can start by educating our youth. We can continue by funding places like Planned Parenthood and speaking out against those who want to diminish women’s health care.

*This post was prompted by a friend’s post on Facebook about the House of Representatives voting to bar Planned Parenthood from federal funding. You can click here to see how your local rep voted and to contact him/her.

29 responses to this post.

  1. I think its important to note that being Pro Choice does not necessarily make you “pro abortion.” I’ve known more than a few pro choice women who were against abortion….

    Reply

  2. Posted by poolman on February 24, 2011 at 12:21 am

    Amen. I followed you here from Neil’s site. Apparently you posted while I was composing mine. Neil and I don’t see eye to eye, so I usually get chided over there. But I have a burden for these fundamentalists that are lost spiritually. Plenty of knowledge, but off track. I agree with your post here and at his site. God bless your socks off, I pray.

    Reply

    • Thank you for coming by and expressing your support! It is certainly appreciated!

      Reply

      • Posted by poolman on March 10, 2011 at 1:13 am

        Hello Dayle,
        I just visited Neil’s site again and noticed he used my post from here and picked it apart with his usual false logic and the twisting of my words. I attempted to post a retort, but apparently I’m banned or in moderation. He’s really a coward if he can’t defend his position. I don’t know any real Christians that are cowards, so I suppose that in itself speaks volumes. I’m certain he’ll read this and have to try and defend his honor. Maybe my comment will suddenly appear. Anyway, I apologize for those types that call themselves believers, yet they are not spiritual.

        It’s like a blow dryer without being plugged into the power outlet. It’s still a blow dryer, but what good is it? 😀 Unfortunately, it seems the majority in America fit that mold. Christian in name only.

        God bless you! I’ll continue to visit and remember you in prayer. If I have something to add to the commentary, I will. I appreciate the hospitality. 😉

        Reply

      • Posted by poolman on March 11, 2011 at 3:01 pm

        Well, my post stayed in moderation at Neil’s for a day and a half, then he deleted it save one paragraph it that he picked apart in his usual demeaning way. 😆 He obviously didn’t want the rest of it to show how his argument didn’t hold water. Good thing I saved it in a word doc. 😉 Sorry you had to get in the middle of this. These guys are cannibals!

        Reply

      • Posted by poolman on March 11, 2011 at 3:47 pm

        I posted my comment to Neil at the end of comments. That way anyone interested can get the full picture. 😎

        Reply

  3. People who want taxpayer-funded abortions are truly pro-abortion (not sure if you are in that camp).

    Pro-choice is the ultimate deadly sound bit. They should finish the sentence: Pro-choice to crush and dismember unwanted human beings.

    “For as many abortions as Planned Parenthood has performed, how many do you think they’ve prevented by providing the birth control that stopped the pregnancy from even happening?”

    But if abortions aren’t wrong, who cares? Saying people should be able to kill 3,500 innocent human beings a day because it might prevent 3,600 from being illegally killed seems like bad reasoning.

    Reply

    • I apologize for the delay in response. Your comment, for whatever reason, was in my spam folder and I just noticed it. I’m still learning how to navigate this site.

      The loss of funding for Planned Parenthood and tax funded abortions are completely seperate topics. Goverment money is already restricted from paying for abortions. If the bill to bar Planned Parenthood from all federal funding is passed, it will take funding away from all of the other things that Planned Parenthood provides, such as HIV testing, birth control, and cancer screenings. I think that it’s hypocritical for someone to call himself Pro-life and then support this bill.

      Reply

  4. Hi Dayle,

    I realize the taxpayer-funded abortions are separate from the PP de-funding issue. I was just pointing out that anyone who is pro-taxpayer-funded abortion could fairly be referred to as pro-abortion.

    I think there are plenty of other groups who could provide those services. Planned Parenthood has been caught countless times hiding statutory rape and even sex trafficking of minors. They should be in jail, or at least have their taxpayer funding removed for starters.

    I encourage PP fans to donate their own dollars, just like those of who support Crisis Pregnancy Centers do.

    Good luck with the blogging! It can be quirky at first but WordPress does a pretty good job of making things easy enough to navigate.

    Reply

    • I am quite sure there are other organizations that can provide the services that Planned Parenthood provides, but the truth is that they are not nearly as well known or well trusted. And that comes down to one of the points in my original blog (which while inspired by what’s going on with Planned Parenthood, was not about Planned Parenthood) . . . education. Make these places more well know and maybe they can reach the same standing. Unfortunately, a lot (not all, but usually the most vocal) of Pro-lifers are also against sex education and birth control.

      As for the “countless times” Planned Parenthood has been involved in any criminal activity . . . . I can’t speak directly on those cases because I am unfamiliar with them. What I can say is that I know of “countless” Catholic priests who’ve been caught molesting boys, but I don’t judge the entire Catholic church on their actions.

      Thank you for the encouragement! I am enjoying myself so far. This has been a great help in getting me back in the habit of daily writing. WordPress seems pretty simple. I just need to play around with some of the nuances.

      Reply

    • Posted by Joiane on March 6, 2011 at 3:33 pm

      PL= Pro-Life
      PC= Pro-Choice
      PP= Planned Parenthood

      I think at the heart of the matter even the most stone cold Pro-Choicer isn’t pro-abortion. And that’s where people get confused. I’ve never met someone PC who advertises abortion as though it’s a great means of birth control. What they are saying however is something a Pro-Lifer isn’t taking the time to hear.

      Imagine for a second that you just turned 18. You’ve been raped by your boyfriend who has been your high school sweetheart and your scared. Insecurity and shame are flooding your brain and you find out your pregnant. Your scared to tell your parents because of the consequences and there’s no way you can look a baby in the face who is a product of such a horrible act. You have 3 choices.
      1. To tell your parents to get help (this mind you is the ideal choice, however not everyone’s life is so easy)
      2. Get an abortion and try to put a life changing even behind you. Maybe then you can be the survivor of something that some woman can’t even live through. You can’t use your parents insurance to cover this (nor can most woman in this situation regardless of age or circumstance) so you use Medicaid. Thank God for small miracles of Government funded insurance and facilities.
      3. Have the baby and put it up for adoption. And for the next 9 months you will be reminded of how someone you loved took the most sacred part of you away. With every kick from your baby you will be haunted of the night that at some points have driven you to attempt suicide. When you put that baby up for adoption the scars of child birth and the preceding rape will haunt your very existence. When that child becomes of age and looks for you, everything you have put behind you will come flooding back once again shaking your life to the very core. The emotional problems that this rape and childbirth have left you with are unthinkable.

      I can also use the scenario of a woman who is told that because of the malformation of her unborn baby that both her and the babies life is at risk. With the outcome of the birth leaving both of them dead.

      I won’t tell you I’m Pro-Abortion. But I will say that I’m Pro-Choice. It’s not my call to say that any woman’s choice in what she does for not just her but her baby is uncalled for. If any PLer wants to challenge that even in the worst case abortion is “easy” I’d love to put them in one of those scenarios. It is NEVER easy to handle a pregnancy that way. Even for the mother on the bus talking crap about it. When the time comes it’s never ok to hear your babies heartbeat during the ultrasound and know that what your about to do is going to end it. But for some people it’s the only option. How can you and your Bible quotes going to argue that? Then again. Since I see you are a man you will never understand what it’s like to know what a woman feels. Maybe instead of attacking the woman who are doing the best they can just to survive you can start by helping to heal the wound. But you’ll never see it that way.

      As far as PP goes…. Never has an agency been able to help the masses of woman AND men like PP has. Never has there been a group, clinic, or agency that has tested, treated, prevented and EDUCATED the way they have. Yes there are other clinics out there, but in the moment of crisis when there is no where else to go, their reputation alone is a safe haven for women.

      Your government dollars are paying far worse in the Welfare debate. People are having babies just to make more money and guarantee themselves a lifetime of benefits. People sell their food stamps to buy drugs. So I ask you… Why not protest against that? Why not try and find a way to stop the drug addicts and scammers from wasting your tax dollars than going after the women whose life depends on one of the hardest decisions in their life?

      Reply

      • I am on the board and have volunteered for years at a crisis pregnancy center, so I am very sympathetic to the challenges faced by women in crisis pregnancies. I do a lot for them with my own time and money.

        But people often confuse psychological complexity with moral complexity.

        Psychologically complex issues: Being pregnant and worrying about pressures from boyfriends/parents, jobs, education, etc.

        But abortion isn’t morally complex. It is always immoral to kill innocent human beings for 99% of the reasons given for abortion (the 1% is when the mother’s life is at stake, but that is consistent with the pro-life ethic). We wouldn’t condone killing the poor / unwanted / product of rape / educational barrier / etc. child outside the womb at any age, so we shouldn’t kill her inside the womb, either.

        If people want to entertain capital punishment for the rapist, I suppose I would be interested in their arguments for that. But I oppose killing the innocent child for the crimes of the father.

        And post-rape trauma is very similar to pro-abortion trauma. Abortion won’t undo the rape. Rapes are despicable and have horrific consequences; rapes that result in pregnancy are just that much worse.

        “Why not protest against that? Why not try and find a way to stop the drug addicts and scammers from wasting your tax dollars than going after the women whose life depends on one of the hardest decisions in their life?”

        Who says I don’t oppose those things? I just don’t think abortion helps those situations.

        “But for some people it’s the only option. How can you and your Bible quotes going to argue that?”

        Unless it is to save the life of the mother, then it is not the only option. I don’t need the Bible to point that out.

        “Maybe instead of attacking the woman who are doing the best they can just to survive you can start by helping to heal the wound. ”

        I’m not attacking the women, I’m trying to help them — including the females (and males) in the womb. As with nearly all pro-choice arguments, your statement ignored them.

        Reply

  5. Posted by Joiane on March 6, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    I could go back and forth with your quotes. But I think I’m comfortable enough in my own skin to leave it for all that it is worth. You say nothing to back up your claims other than how you feel it’s wrong. Call me pro-abortion all you want if it means giving people the right to make their own decisions and keep you out of their vagina’s. I will light a candle tonight for all of the females in close proximity to you that their vagina’s are safe also. I’d hate to see how quickly you would turn your back on them should they feel the need to make the “right” decision that you don’t agree with.

    I took one look at what you call a blog and felt like I had walked into the front doors of a bad religious infomercial. But now that I know where you’re coming from I totally understand your cookie cutter reasoning of thought. I feel bad for you. It’s such a shame to see what seems to be a smart man brainwashed and sheltered into one way of bible thumping thought.

    I also want to thank you for putting your input into these blog entries. I work so hard at making sure I surround myself with positive things, that sometimes I forget what ignorance there is in this world. So thank you Neil for reminding me.

    Oh yeah one more thing…..

    Holding a picket sign and handing out pro-life pamphlets to scared, emotional women does not constitute as donating time and money to a pregnancy crisis center. Unless of course you work at one of those cult crisis center that takes in unwed pregnant women who you’ve managed to lure in. Promising them a brighter tomorrow when instead you demean them and make them feel even less of a woman. Yeah, I’ve been to one of those. Thank Goddess that I ran like hell out of there too.

    Reply

  6. “You say nothing to back up your claims other than how you feel it’s wrong. ”

    My claims are simple and backed up by science and basic morality.

    1. Scientific claim: The unborn are human beings from conception — http://tinyurl.com/yfje8lq
    2. Abortion kills unwanted human beings.
    3. It is immoral to kill unwanted human beings.

    “I will light a candle tonight for all of the females in close proximity to you that their vagina’s are safe also. I’d hate to see how quickly you would turn your back on them should they feel the need to make the “right” decision that you don’t agree with.”

    How quaint. I donate time and money to help women recover from post-abortion trauma. I don’t turn my back. I also don’t encourage them to destroy their unwanted children so they can live with that regret the rest of their lives. It is telling how you must resort to being crude and making personal attacks to defend your position.

    “It’s such a shame to see what seems to be a smart man brainwashed and sheltered into one way of bible thumping thought.”

    Hmmm . . . there’s a fact-free response. You are welcome to comment at my blog. Feel free to explain where I misinterpret the Bible. Feel free to point out where I misstate or misunderstand the historical evidence for the life, death and resurrection of Jesus, for the existence of God, etc. But if all you can do is offer insults and tell me I’ve been brainwashed then I’ll consider that a concession speech. BTW, I used to be a pro-choice atheist. My changes don’t make me right, but they were driven by mounds of evidence and logic. That’s what I argue from, as opposed to those who just have logical fallacies and personal attacks to offer. As frustrating as it is to mostly come across folks who argue like you and Dale, in a weird way it is reassuring. It is like, “Is that the best they’ve got?” I love it when middle ground people read these threads and see me referring to scientific facts (a new human being is created at conception) and all I get in return is personal attacks.

    “Holding a picket sign and handing out pro-life pamphlets to scared, emotional women does not constitute as donating time and money to a pregnancy crisis center.”

    And making up false claims doesn’t constitute an argument. Please show me your evidence that I’ve ever done what you described. Then explain why crushing and dismembering unwanted human beings is moral and why discouraging people from doing that is immoral. I don’t picket clinics but I admire (most of) those who do. Some are over the top, but many have saved countless lives.

    You can have the last word. Feel free to visit and comment at my blog, but only if you can come with facts and logic instead of just made up accusations and personal attacks.

    Reply

    • Posted by poolman on March 8, 2011 at 12:06 pm

      Science and logic will all pass away. In the end it will be how well you loved. I am confounded how so many fundamentalist “Christians” have come from atheism to doctrinalism. You trade one millstone for another. You need the cornerstone. You miss the whole point of why Jesus came to earth in the flesh. In essence you crucify Him daily with your ignorance. Oh, don’t get me wrong. You are intelligent and knowledgable, but ignorant of the true character of God. Love. A life of sacrifice and service to other humans already sharing the air on this planet. That’s our mission.
      “Are you so foolish? After beginning with the Spirit, are you now trying to attain your goal by human effort?” (Galations 3:3)
      “The man without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him, and he cannot understand them, because they are spiritually discerned.” (1 Corinthians 2:14)

      Yes abortion kills a human and stops its potential contribution to this world. However, the spirit lives on. This world is not our home. The spirit is eternal, the flesh is temporary. There are many more evils in this world that are done to humanity. Go spend some time in Palestine or Somalia. Many parents there would consider it a blessing to have never had their children than to rather see them suffer the atrocities they have had to endure. Fix what you can with the resources you are given. Quit causing division and pronouncing judgment. Help educate and elevate those around you. Save the lost souls. Love covers a multitude of sins. They will know us by our love, one for another.

      Reply

      • Thank you for your insight! It has been a long time since I have called myself a Christian, but I certainly don’t admonish Christian teachings. The ins and outs of my spiritual path are complex enough to take up several more writings, but I do believe in what Jesus taught . . . what you empasized so strongly above . . . love. I am not as well aquainted with bible verses as I once was, but from what I’ve gleaned from your comment you exemplify what I’ve always felt a Christian should portray.

        Maybe, just maybe, if we make this world a better place, it will become one that more people will want to bring their children into!

        Reply

  7. Part of the original point of my blog is that I am not pro-abortion. What bothers me about most Pro-life arguments is that the goal seems to be more about futhering a religious and/or political agenda, not preventing as many abortions as possible. If a pro-lifer really cared about saving lives of unborn babies, they’d push more for those things that would actually do that . . . education, birth control, parental support, education (it’s worth repeating).

    Reply

    • Posted by poolman on March 8, 2011 at 12:12 pm

      Amen. Teach these kids all about sex and the consequences of sex early. We are so backward in this country. To teach our kids about sex and talk about it is taboo. Act like it’s dirty and doesn’t exist. But then to use it everyday in everyway to market product is hunky-dory. We have so perverted love and sex in this nation, IMHO. God help us!

      Reply

      • And Amen to that as well!

        I am so tired of the way we dumb down our kids. They can walk past Victoria’s Secret displays in the mall, but don’t let them see a woman breastfeeding. They might pass crack pipes on the ground on the way home from school, but don’t talk about the details of drug addiction. They see tv shows riddled with sex, listen to songs all about sex, but if you teach them about sex in schools you’re going to corrupt them and make them want to go out screw around.

        Reply

      • Posted by poolman on March 8, 2011 at 7:34 pm

        Yes. Exactly. This world comes at you fast and furious. We need to arm these kids with as much ammunition as we can as early as we can. Most “Christians” today do a piss poor job.

        Reply

  8. It’s interesting to see this point of view. I can’t say fore sure if I agree or not, but it is something I will think about now.

    Reply

    • Thank you for coming by!

      This has always been a difficult topic for me because I really do see all sides. There was a time when I was very adamently Pro-life and I felt that illegalizing abortion was the way to go. By the time I was 16 I had known at least 4 girls who had had abortions, all of them younger than me . . . one of them 12 years old (who did not want an abortion, but who’s mother pretty much forced her because her body was not developed enough to carry a child and give birth). I listened to their stories and I sympathized, but my views still held strong. In college, I had a very heated debate with a friend who was Pro-choice. Talking to her brought back the memories of the girls I knew in my teens. The more I thought about it, the more stories I heard, the more research I did on why women have abortions . . . the more my views started to change.

      Reply

  9. Posted by Joiane on March 8, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    I like Poolman 🙂

    Reply

  10. @Poolman . . . I guess I can’t comment under your last comment because the indentations get to be too much? ::smile::

    I only skimmed his post . . . I pretty much had no interest in continuing to read once I saw myself and my sister-in-law referred to as athiests. I don’t think either one of us ever stated such a thing, especially since it’s not true.

    I certainly appreciate your views. Open-mindedness from any religion is always welcome. I don’t claim to have all the answers. I think that that’s a huge human fallacy. I don’t know what lies beyond, but I know that I try to do as much good in my life regardless of what will come next.

    Most of the dearest people in my life are Catholics. We don’t agree on a lot of things. My uncle likes to poke fun at my liberal beliefs and in turn I roll my eyes when he starts talking about George W. Bush . . . I love them, they love me. We respect each other. That’s all that matters.

    I like the blow dryer analagy!

    Reply

  11. Posted by poolman on March 11, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    Humor me Dayle, please. Thank you in advance for taking up your cyberspace.
    This was my original comment to Neil’s post regarding my comment here:

    Neil, I’m flattered you felt the need to pick my comment from another blog apart, even if you failed to link the source [he’s since added the link] so others would be able to read it in context. Seeing as you did such a thorough job at attempting to discredit my faith, I find it only fair to pick at your logic used to arrive at such an unfounded conclusion.

    in the end it will be whether you repented and trusted in Jesus or not.

    Actually whether you follow Him and make Him Lord of your life. “For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will save it.” (Luke 9:24, same as Matthew 16:25 and Mark 8:35)

    ignoring the destruction of the weak and defenseless is the opposite of love

    Who said anything about ignoring the unborn? It wasn’t me. You are reading things in here that are not there.

    Just because the unborn humans don’t directly share the air on the planet he views them as fair game for unlimited destruction.

    Really? Fair game, eh? I never claimed that. You’re making stuff up.

    one of the most extreme legalistic positions I’ve seen to defend abortion.

    Again, you either have poor reading comprehension or you just want to paint me as an advocate of abortion. I have stated many times I hate abortion.

    He claims that our service to others only applies to those outside the womb. Got any Bible verses for that?

    Well, let’s see. Matthew 25: 35-46, Mark 16: 15-18, and virtually the rest of the NT. Rather, show me where in the NT it claims our service extends to the unborn.

    he views them as fair game for unlimited destruction.

    Wow. Where did you get that from? Again, not anything I said or inferred.

    Poolman doesn’t seem to see that by trivializing abortion so broadly that he does the same for murder outside the womb. And he implies that the value of a human comes from her contribution, not by her nature as being created in the image of God. That helps people rationalize the destruction of those outside the womb who aren’t “contributing” by the definition of those in power.

    There is so many fallicies in this paragraph. Trivialize? Murder? Human contribution? Rationalize destruction? You’re all over the map with your accusations that don’t apply to anything I have stated, even in your cut and paste version of my post. Tilt at windmills much?

    Are thousands of innocent human beings killed in Palestine every day?

    Thousands have been killed. The daily total matters not. What does matter is our tax dollars support it. Our money, our weapons, our blessing.

    So we’re causing division and judging but he is not. Check. Ah, the hypocrisy.

    Why aren’t you advocating attacking China for the genocide of 30 million unborn babies per year? How about stopping trade with them? Or quit letting them buy our debt? Why aren’t you picketing Chinese restaurants? Or boycotting their products? Is there less value to Chinese babies? 30 million!!

    If the unborn aren’t important enough to protect, why are they important enough to educate once they are outside the womb? If we can’t educate them to protect innocent human life, why educate them on anything else?

    You are definitely the king of the non-sequitur.

    And the ace of the ad hominem:

    Yes, and unborn human beings count as “other,” as do the mothers who deserve better than people like Poolman encouraging them to abort.

    “Do not deceive yourselves. If any one of you thinks he is wise by the standards of this age, he should become a “fool” so that he may become wise. For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in God’s sight.” 1 Corinthians 3: 18

    Random Bible verses? Yeah, I suppose to those who cannot hear what Jesus is saying to the church. Probably just words on a page in a book to you. Living words however, in the spiritual realm.

    Reply

    • Thank you for posting your thoughts here . . . They are, of course, welcome.

      I feel no need or desire to revisit his blog . . . I have very little stomach for hate disguised as religion.

      I admit that I inadvertently welcomed the attacks here by posting on his blog to begin with. The timing of blog posts was completely coincidental. I stumbled onto something he wrote and it reminded me of a “Christian” gay bashing website I saw several years ago . . . which, in turn, reminded me of the bible passages that I responded to the website with. I didn’t explain any further there because the title of his blog was, “That’s interesting, but what does the bible say?” So that was what I answered, at least in one small part.

      I’m rambling now . . . I expected a backlash with this blog post . . . it’s inevitable when you discuss something that so many people have such strong feelings about. I would never promote a woman to have an abortion, but I also wouldn’t condemn her. There was so much “evidence” spouted about life beginning at conception. I don’t think I ever denied that. In fact, in my original post I wrote about how I KNEW I had a LIFE growing inside of me from the moment I knew I was pregnant. I do believe that life begins at conception, but all I see coming from the illegalization of abortion is more women dying in back alleys.

      Neil also mentioned the danger of precedents in the other blog of mine that he commented on . . . which quite easily transfers to the debate of overturning Roe v. Wade. Just look at what the wacko in GA is doing. What’s the next step? Forced sterilization for the poor or disabled? Illegalize spermacide? (ya know, cause each sperm has the potential to become a life) . . . Maybe they sound like ridiculous arguments, but so does a criminal investigation for every miscarriage. Nothing surprises me anymore.

      So yeah, instead of pushing for something that won’t make anything better, I push for those things that will.

      “If the unborn aren’t important enough to protect, why are they important enough to educate once they are outside the womb? If we can’t educate them to protect innocent human life, why educate them on anything else?”

      Seriously? I mean, seriously? I don’t even know how to respond to that kind of idiocy!

      ::Sigh:: End rant 🙂

      Reply

  12. […] Dayle I expressed my rather grey feelings about abortion (or rather the legality of abortion) in The Inevitable Abortion Blog a few months ago. Not long after that, I discussed the idiocy of Bobby Franklin, a GA state […]

    Reply

  13. […] Controversial Post — “The Inevitable Abortion Blog” – for obvious […]

    Reply

  14. […] I’ve written before about how I see myself on both sides of this proverbial fence. My boyfriend gave me the term “pro-choice anti-abortionist” and I think that fits quite nicely. There is no need to argue with me over the belief that life begins at conception. I already feel that way. I’ve always felt that way, but I especially felt that way after becoming pregnant with my daughter. I knew I was pregnant before I missed a period, and no, we weren’t trying. I took one of those “five days before you skip a period” tests because I just *knew*. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

