My thoughts on medical marijuana, as inspired by Dr. Oz

Montel Williams was one of the many guests on the Dr. Oz Show today talking about medical marijuana. As many know, Montel Williams has been battling Multiple Sclerosis for over a decade and is very public about his use of marijuana to ease his pain. I found myself clapping along with the audience as I watched the show, and it hit me that I am a lot more passionate about this issue than I realized.

Let me put in a quick disclaimer. This is NOT about the legalization of marijuana for recreational use . . . We’ll save that topic for another day. 😉 Now that that’s out of the way, I can move on.

The medical marijuana debate has been spreading across the country. People like Montel Williams declare its benefits, while naysayers rant about addiction and increased use for teenagers. An overabundance of statistics and facts were discussed during the show (you should watch it). I haven’t done a whole lot of research on my own with this. I can only speak from personal experiences.

Is marijuana a powerful medical tool or a public health hazard? Since being diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis, Montel Williams has launched a personal campaign to find a cure for MS and legalize medical marijuana. From the time he began taking medical marijuana, no additional plaque has formed in his brain. Hear his story.

I used to work in a pharmacy. I can’t tell you how many times people came in with phony prescriptions for controlled substances. I’ve seen more people hooked on Vicodin, Percocet, and Oxycontin react violently . . . dangerously . . . than I have ever seen on weed. I’ve been on Vicodin and Percocet on two separate occasions for two different surgeries. I hated how they made me feel. I was in a constant state of nausea and lethargy.

I look back to when my mom had cancer and the chemo made her sick all the time and she was on god only knows how much morphine. Sometimes she would look at me and not know who I was. Sometimes she would talk about her mom as if she were still alive (3 years after her passing). Sometimes she would talk about random things from high school as if they were happening right then and there. Nobody can convince me that marijuana would have been worse for her than any of that!

I have semi-jokingly said on a few occasions that if pot were legal, I wouldn’t need Prozac. Actually, there’s probably no joke in that at all. Prozac gives me a plethora of side effects, which is a whole blog in and of itself! The fact is that marijuana could calm my anxiety faster and better than Prozac without all the wacked out side effects.

I can’t understand equating medical marijuana use with teenagers smoking pot. If that were the case, then prescribing pain medication would cause teens to pop more pills.

There are so many possible benefits. I don’t understand why something that can help a patient to feel better, to heal, to remain productive in society can be so debated. But then again, I don’t understand a lot of things people do and think.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by poolman on March 31, 2011 at 3:30 am

    There are plenty of studies. I know people that have used marijuana to ease nausea from chemo. I was looking for an article I read about one kid that was being treated with oral marijuana pills and found this source with lots of studies…

    http://www.showmethefacts.org/medical-marijuana-facts/add-adhd/

    God makes the best medicine for our ills. 😀

    Reply

    • Yes, yes she does 😉

      In seriousness . . . it has always been my belief that the world’s plants contain an enormous amount of untapped potential. In another life, I might have been an herbologist 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

