A new ending to Puff the Magic Dragon

I bought a new planner a couple of months ago and in transferring all of my important dates, I somehow mixed up Take Our Sons and Daughters to Work Day. I thought it was today. I planned it for today. It’s next Thursday! Take Our Sons and Daughters to Work Day is something very special to me . . . which I’ll get into next week . . . so we’re still going to celebrate on the 28th with my daughter staying home from school to work with me. But I did promise her that we would write together today, and I couldn’t (and wouldn’t) back out from that.

A few weeks ago, Abby told me that the end of “Puff the Magic Dragon” makes her sad. I don’t blame her. It makes me sad too! I suggested that we write a new and happy ending to the song. That’s just what we did today. For those who don’t know the song, here are the original lyrics followed by the addition that Abby and I wrote together. I hope you enjoy it!

Puff, the magic dragon lived by the sea
And frolicked in the autumn mist in a land called Honah Lee,
Little Jackie Paper loved that rascal Puff,
And brought him strings and sealing wax and other fancy stuff. Oh

Puff, the magic dragon lived by the sea
And frolicked in the autumn mist in a land called Honah Lee,
Puff, the magic dragon lived by the sea
And frolicked in the autumn mist in a land called Honah Lee.

Together they would travel on a boat with billowed sail
Jackie kept a lookout perched on Puff’s gigantic tail,
Noble kings and princes would bow whene’er they came,
Pirate ships would lower their flags when Puff roared out his name. Oh!

Puff, the magic dragon lived by the sea
And frolicked in the autumn mist in a land called Honah Lee,
Puff, the magic dragon lived by the sea
And frolicked in the autumn mist in a land called Honah Lee.

A dragon lives forever but not so little boys
Painted wings and giants’ rings make way for other toys.
One grey night it happened, Jackie Paper came no more
And Puff that mighty dragon, he ceased his fearless roar.

His head was bent in sorrow, green scales fell like rain,
Puff no longer went to play along the cherry lane.
Without his lifelong friend, Puff could not be brave,
So Puff that mighty dragon sadly slipped into his cave. Oh!

Puff, the magic dragon lived by the sea
And frolicked in the autumn mist in a land called Honah Lee,
Puff, the magic dragon lived by the sea
And frolicked in the autumn mist in a land called Honah Lee.

*********************************************************

Inside Puff’s dark cave, he found a big surprise
Jackie Paper had a sister, that little girl was wise
Little Jayla Paper told Puff, “this is not the end”
Puff the magic dragon had found a new lifelong friend

Puff, the magic dragon lived by the sea
And frolicked in the autumn mist in a land called Honah Lee,
Puff, the magic dragon lived by the sea
And frolicked in the autumn mist in a land called Honah Lee.

Puff shared his worldly treasures, all his fancy stuff
Jayla laughed and smiled and added lots of fluff
Together they built castles and danced with princess fairies
Chased elves through the meadow while eating zazzle berries!

Puff, the magic dragon lived by the sea
And frolicked in the autumn mist in a land called Honah Lee,
Puff, the magic dragon lived by the sea
And frolicked in the autumn mist in a land called Honah Lee.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nicole Elizabeth on April 23, 2011 at 12:23 am

    Dayle,
    I love that you and Abby write together! I am sure that you are making a huge impact in her education! Love ya!
    Nicole

    Reply

    • Thanks Nicole! We’ve made up songs and stories together before, but this was the first time ever wrote one down. We will definitely do it more often! I’m going to plan a whole day for Thursday. We’ve been talking about writng a children’s book with our ferret as the main character. Should be tons of fun!

      Love you too 🙂

      Reply

  2. I love this! And I am also interested in these Zazzle Berries…they sound yummy! 🙂

    Reply

  3. I wonder if puff deis at the END

    Reply

  4. hi this is me Adele but i rullay like the song puff the magic dragon it is a grait song but iy dont now
    WHY

    Reply

  5. Posted by Ann on February 16, 2013 at 9:31 pm

    This may seem silly to say, but this song has honestly been a source of very bittersweet pain for me for so long that it is so wonderful to discover your personal ending to it. I really have no idea why this is, but when I first read the lyrics when I was very small I literally cried myself to sleep, and it has still affected me in all the years since then. Thank you so much for this!

    Reply

    • I don’t think it’s silly at all . . . . music definitely has a way of affecting us. Years before I had my daughter, I babysat a toddler and she used to love for me to sing this song to her. Of course, she didn’t realize the ending was so sad at the time, but the more I sang it to her, the more odd it felt to sing something like this to a child. My uncle’s sister told me how she and her kids made up a new ending, so when, years later, my daughter pointed out the sadness in the lyrics, I knew we had to change the ending too 🙂

      I’m glad you found our ending and thrilled that you enjoyed it! Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

      Reply

  6. Posted by Kathy Waller on December 23, 2014 at 1:04 am

    I’m glad Puff has a happy ending now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

