How do you fascinate?

My friend, Samantha’s recent blog post about Sally Hogshead’s new book Fascinate prompted me to find out how I fascinate, or how I persuade and inspire those around me. According to Sally Hogshead, there are 7 triggers a person uses to fascinate. I took her F Score Test to determine my primary and secondary triggers, as well as my dormant trigger.

Here are my results. I’ve bolded the bits that I felt were the most accurate. It reminds me a lot of when I did my Myers-Briggs Personality Test. It was ridiculously accurate. (I’m an ISFJ by the way, in case anyone is interested.) I’m trying to figure out how brilliant these people have to be to be able to pin point me so accurately just by asking me a handful of questions!

YOUR PRIMARY TRIGGER: PASSION

So passion is your primary trigger. That means you draw people closer with a warm and open style of interaction. You’re expressive with ideas, communicate well in person, and probably have a strong creative streak. Even when you mask your emotions, you feel passionately about your opinions.

You’re intuitive with information, often making decisions based on gut instinct rather than cold intellect. While other personality types prefer facts, you’re more attuned to the nuances of attitude, design, and a certain indefinable je ne sais quoi.

Passion is a powerful form of influence because it creates irresistible messages that overcome rational resistance. When you dial up your primary trigger, you have the ability to create messages that are extremely difficult to ignore.

You’re remarkably talented in creating messages that lead to a powerful intellectual, physical, and emotional response. For instance, you like to share experiences with others, and in conversation, you draw people closer with body language and eye contact.

By applying these natural strengths to your work, you can build warmer relationships and more trusting dialogue. And by applying to your ideas, you can create messages make people say, “I want that now!”

YOUR SECONDARY TRIGGER: REBELLION

Well, well, well. Look who has a rebellious streak.

We’re all occasionally tempted by forbidden fruit, and you’re certainly no exception. That devil sitting on your shoulder, whispering in your ear? What he’s whispering to you is rebellion. When told you can’t have something, or shouldn’t do something, this trigger of fascination can take hold and make you want it more.

Irreverence is sprinkled throughout your conversations, because you possess a sharp sense of wit and irony. A personal sense of freedom is near and dear to your heart; anyone who tries to force you to play by the rules might just end up losing you.

A little rebellion goes a long way, and overuse leads to unreliable behavior or erratic messages. With rebellion as your secondary trigger, you might want to increase your use of other triggers (such as trust or prestige), in order to establish a more consistently effective approach.

YOUR DORMANT TRIGGER: ALARM

Laid-back and easygoing, you probably make friends easily, and make others comfortable. Your personality is probably relying more on trust or passion as main triggers, rather than the urgency and focus of alarm.

On the downside, without the presence of alarm in your personal brand, it’s quite possible you’re coming across as a bit wishy-washy. A judiciously zest of alarm adds a sense of urgency to your requests.

What do you think of Sally Hogshead’s theories? How do you fascinate?

8 responses to this post.

  1. Dayle – This looks really interesting, I am going to check it out. I’ve found the MBTI tests useful as well for me. -A

    Reply

    • I was shocked at how accurate my Myers Briggs’ results were. I think the first time I read it, my mouth hung open the entire time!

      Let me know if you take the F Score Test . . . I’d love to hear what you think of your results!

      Reply

  2. Dayle, thanks so much for the mention! I love how this post is leading you deeper into the Twitter world too! =) Pat on the back!! =)

    I also loved learning more about you through this post. I just *knew* that passion would be a strong one for you! =) Now, to think about taking advantage of these triggers for your business! =)

    Reply

  3. OOH, never heard of this before! Looks interesting…now I want to take this test and see what I get! 🙂

    Reply

  4. A majority of it seemed to fit me, yes

    Reply

Leave a Reply

