Mommies don’t get sick days, neither do freelance writers

Every inch of my body aches. My glands are swollen. My head is throbbing – even after 8 naproxen. I have just about completely lost my voice (my boyfriend’s probably excited about this one). Every time I speak, I cough. All I want to do is curl up in my blankets, turn off the sun, and sleep.

But we have T-ball pictures in a few hours. I have to wake up my daughter, get her dressed and begin the bus trek to the baseball field. It doesn’t end there. Straight from T-ball pictures, we will be heading to her school for the end of the year potluck. My boyfriend will meet us there with the Pot-o-Dirt that I made last night instead of going to bed early.

No, mommies don’t get sick days. Even with an extremely helpful partner, there are just some things that only mom can do . . . and some things that mom just refuses to miss, like first year T-ball pictures and the end of the year potluck that she had already promised an excited 6-year-old they would attend.

When we finally make our way back home, my bed might as well be on the other side of the planet. I won’t be able to lie on it – I have work to do. Articles need to be submitted because, well, bills need to be paid. Unfortunately, I don’t get paid for sick days.

It’s the price I pay for freedom. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.
I may have to work tonight, but I can start when I want to start. I no longer have to tell my daughter, “I’m sorry, we can’t go because mommy has to work.”

No, I don’t get sick days.

I do get to see my daughter’s smiling face every morning (ok, maybe not so much smiling as pouting, but I do get watch her try not to smile when I tickle her and joke around with her).

I do get to tuck my daughter into bed every night, read her stories and sing her songs.

I do get to eat dinner at home every night, instead of on a bus on my way to work.

I do get to attend reunions with old friends, without having to request the day off and crossing my fingers that I’ll get it. Likewise, I get to attend graduations, birthday parties, baptisms, and first holy communions.

The “I do’s” most certainly outweigh the “I don’ts”, and I wouldn’t trade any of them for a sick day!

But tomorrow, I may temporarily give one up for a nap. 😉

10 responses to this post.

  1. I hope you get to feeling better soon!

    Reply

  2. Hope you feel better soon! And in spite of the firm hand with yourself to get it all done even when you feel bad that the freelance life requires, I can so understand why you wouldn’t trade it for the world!

    Reply

  3. I hope you feel better soon… and I love this post. I would give up sick days too to have what you have. 🙂

    Reply

    • Thanks, Sondra! It’s definitely a struggle sometimes, and I wonder if there is going to come a point where I’ll have to trade it all in for financial stability . . . but even if I have to, I will still treasure every second I have now! I spent so much time saying, “I’m sorry, but mommy has to work.” Or even worse . . . “I’m sorry, but mommy really needs to sleep.” I worked 3rd shift and sometimes my only survival was the electronic babysitter while I napped on the couch.

      Reply

  4. I hope you are feeling better! You are one awesome mommy…especially for making Pot-o-Dirt, I LOVE that! It’s abundantly obvious that you give 100% to the things (and people) you are passionate about, and that is quite an admirable trait.

    Reply

    • Thank you 🙂

      You know, almost no one touched the Dirt! We ended up bringing more than half of it back home (and we all ate some at the pot luck :P). It seemed like nobody knew what it was 😛

      Reply

  5. Dayle – Hope you had a great weekend and are feeling better. You are so right that parents never get a real sick day, and there is the double bind of being a writer who works at home. It makes it much more challenging to get the time to rest or relax. You are a great mom to ensure you are there for your daughter–it’s the best investment you can make! -A

    Reply

    • Thank you!

      The weekend was a blast and definitely worth pushing through the sickness! My daughter is everything, and I just want to make the most of every possible second while I am able.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

