High heels hurt my feet, but they never got me suspended

My boyfriend walked into the bedroom a little while ago. He shook his head and said, “You want another example of how schools are so afraid of anyone who looks different?” So I turned away from the computer to listen to the story he had to share.

Now, I have a thing for free creative expression. Perhaps it stems from my attendance at a high school for the arts many moons ago. Or, perhaps my attendance at said high school stemmed from my thing for free creative expression. At any rate, this story did more than irritate me; it outright pissed me off – so much so that my boyfriend had to stop me and say, “Why are you yelling at me?!”

“I’m not yelling at you! I’m just yelling because it pisses me off!”

If you haven’t clicked on the link yet, here’s the story in a nutshell:

A ninth grade boy in Washington State has a conversation with his mom one night – about high heels. He tells her that he doesn’t think wearing high heels is all that difficult. Mom says, “Fine. You try it.” Boy says, “Okay. I will.”

The next day the boy, Sam Saurs decides to wear high heels to school. But wait! High heels go best with a dress, right? Sam Saurs, who was already known for his quirky style, thought so. He walked into school sporting some black and white heels and a black dress with white polka dots to match!

So what happened next? Was he sent home to change? No. He was suspended! Wait – there’s more! He was also not allowed to attend the school dance or his class trip. (Later his suspension was cut to 3 days, but he was still not allowed to go to the dance or on the class trip.)

Are you serious? For wearing a dress to school? (Oh, and for those wondering, there was nothing in the school dress code that said that he could not wear a dress.)

Ok, first – it wasn’t that long ago that women wearing pants was considered cross-dressing. But that’s really beside the point. This was about a silly challenge laid down by a boy’s mother – all in fun. Someone please tell me who this was harming?

Second – I had a classmate (at that art school I mentioned earlier) who thought skirts and dresses were more comfortable than pants (I, personally, disagree with him, but que sera sera). He would come into school in “normal” clothes while a female friend would come wearing a skirt or dress. With two more friends to do the running between bathrooms, they would swap clothes. I remember a blue evening gown once, but my favorite was the leopard print skirt with the fishnet stockings.

I didn’t see a problem with it then. I don’t see a problem with it now.

Kudos to you, Sam Saurs, for being yourself and not caring what other people think!

Photo Credit

12 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, I never really thought about it like that…boys wearing heels and dresses that is. I am old fashioned when it comes to my dresswear, almost non existent cleavage and almost all skirts below the knee…my girls hate it. I do believe however, that I would allow our children to be open or at least experimental with their attire…to a point. I honestly don’t know how I would feel about my son wearing a dress, even if it was just to make a point. Aside from that, I enjoyed reading this, it gave me food for thought. thanks.

    Reply

    • Thanks Robyn!

      If he got in trouble with his parents for wearing a dress, I wouldn’t necessarily agree with the parents, but I certainly wouldn’t have been outraged. My problem was with the school suspending him for it. Each family has a right to have their own rules and regulations. Obviously this boy’s mother was okay with him wearing a dress and heels, so why should the school have a problem? There were no rules broken. He wasn’t disruptive. Why was he punished? It bothers me!

      Reply

  2. It seems a little much suspending him and keeping him from his dance and a school trip. I could understand them making him change, though.
    Not that there’s anything wrong with him expressing himself in that way, but schools do have the right to their own rules so I could see them saying, please change. I think the suspending and everything was too much.

    Reply

    • His mom even said that she would have understood them just sending him home to change. (Which I still would have fought considering that there was nothing in the dress code that said he was not allowed to wear a dress – so he did NOT break any school rules – but then again, I always enjoy a good loophole 😉 ) But yeah, the suspension and keeping him from the dance and trip were just ridiculous, IMHO!

      Reply

  3. Love the shoes–the dress not so much! That is just silly–I don’t see why he mom couldn’t intervene and say, “I dared him to!” Maybe I need to read the article. . .but I do dig the shoes!!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Freestyler on July 16, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    As you have said – it was not so long ago that women did not wear all masculine apparel as nowadays so men should have the same freedom!

    Reply

  5. As a man who freestyles myself I think what they did to this young man was total BS! To me if a women can dress, look, act or wear what she wants why can’t I or this young man? Mainly because someone else says it’s not right! I work in a job where women are suppose to be able to be strong and tough like me but can go home toss on a skirt and a dress and do there thing. Now if I did something like that I would almost certainly loose my job. Where I work women can wear ear rings a guy can’t. A women can paint her nails a guy can’t. Hell she could even walk around with bright red hair and I couldn’t. I guess my mode of thinking is until we as men start standing up and saying I am going to wear this or that do this or that and fight for those right’s when they are taken from us thing’s will never change!

    Reply

    • I couldn’t agree with you more, Steven! This story upset me quite a bit, BUT I do like how Sam Saurs handled himself. I think in one interview he said something like, “this just makes me want to be even more outlandish” or something like that. I am totally impressed with his ability to stand up for himself when surrounded by such a conservative mind-set.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

