Do you ever plagiarize yourself?

It happens to me often. While I’m grocery shopping. While I’m washing the dishes. While I’m lying in bed trying to sleep. A few words, a phrase, maybe a whole stanza . . . it’s brilliant and I have to begin writing immediately. I silently recite the words over and over again until I’m able to pull the pen from my hair and commit the words to paper. Sometime during that recitation, it hits me. I’ve written those words before. I’ve plagiarized myself 😉

I plagiarized the first two lines of this poem from a poem I wrote in college.

Can I see this but for a moment when I must go?
Something for that almost when – always there.
A glimpse of what nearly was –
of promises never fulfilled –
of that radiance in your eyes when you called me your sweet angel.
Sweet chocolate covered lies I longed so desperately to believe –
eating them up like a Reese’s Christmas Tree, a Lindt Truffle or maybe a Rocher.
In my mind I ran away a thousand times,
but you tamed me –
made me whole again –
made me feel loved, although you never did love me.
Who was I to argue when you told me not to be afraid?
After all, you wanted me.
Even told me so.
So I dreamed in pastels –
beautiful Springtime hues of pink and purple and green.
I fell from skyscrapers with no one to catch me
and now I’m broken.
Again.
I hate you for pushing me off that roof.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Good poem!
    I’m sure I HAVE plagiarized myself before…it happens! But I suppose it’s better than plagiarizing others, right? 🙂

    Reply

  2. “Sweet chocolate covered lies”–love that description! So appropriate to a love relationship!
    “So I dreamed in pastels –
    beautiful Springtime hues of pink and purple and green.”

    I love color imagery, so those were my favorite lines. On that note, I see you in deep, rich earth tones that make me feel warmly welcomed; at home.

    Reply

    • “I see you in deep, rich earth tones that make me feel warmly welcomed; at home.”

      What a wonderful compliment! It means a lot – thank you 🙂

      Reply

  3. OMG, yes! =P Though it’s kind of flattering to myself, I guess, that the phrase comes up later and I still like it. =P

    What an absolutely beautiful poem, Dayle! I so relate to all the different chocolate-covered lies you describe. I’d eat up almost anything covered in Rocher. =)

    Reply

    • I like that way of looking at it, Sam! — It is flattering that I still love my own words years later 🙂

      To quote a former co-worker in regards to Rochers — “They’re better from sex!”

      Reply

  4. Posted by Anita on July 23, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    Beautiful! It definitely resonates with anyone that has had a confused or broken heart. The poem, and the comments, also remind me that I’m in the minority when it comes to the love of all things chocolate. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

