One week down, a lifetime to go

Because this is not a diet. I am changing the way that I live. I’ve heard that before . . . don’t diet, change your lifestyle. I understood the concept, but I could never get away from the “diet mindset.” Until now. I haven’t counted one single calorie all week. I haven’t scrutinized a nutrition label. And I haven’t avoided eating when I’ve been hungry.

Week 2: August 15, 2011 --- 321.7 lbs.

I have, however, lost 5 lbs.

My 3am cravings still come . . . and I still indulge them. I just do it with an enormous salad instead of a bag of chips or a plate of nachos. Oh, and my totally yummy salad dressing? A very little bit of oil, vinegar and a couple spoonfuls of Splenda.

I’m working towards making healthier choices.

I was proud of myself on Wednesday. I went to the beach with my best friend, her son and my daughter. It would have been really easy to say, “screw it” for one day and have a slice of pizza or a cheesesteak. Instead, I had a grilled chicken salad for dinner.

I’ve stuck with the Wii Fit every day. (Except Wednesday because I wasn’t home all day . . . but I think swimming in the ocean and walking the boardwalk for a couple of hours covered me for the day!)

The Wii Fit allows you to set calorie goals for what you want to burn each day. I

Halloween '97, somewhere around 165-170 lbs.

set mine at the highest possible, which is 455 calories. The first few days, I had to break up my workout to reach my goal. Since Friday, I have been able to do one straight workout to reach my goal (just about an hour).

In just one week, I can already feel the difference when I walk. The pain is still there, but it is much more manageable. My feet are also back to normal for the first time in weeks.

I know I will have my difficult moments, but so far, I feel really great. 🙂

Oh, and another success . . . I spent the day Wednesday with a smoker and I didn’t have a cigarette! (This is HUGE. It’s a lot easier to not smoke when you’re not around smokers!)

***So, I pretty much hate this posting a picture thing every week. I figured to combat my self-esteem issues, I would also post a “thin” picture every week to remind me what I’m working towards :-)***

24 responses to this post.

  1. Congratulations on your success this week, and it sounds like you’ve got the right perspective for continued success.

    Good luck in good health,
    David

    Reply

  2. Congratulations on your 5lbs!! Isn’t it amazing how one little change in our life makes such a huge difference?

    Reply

    • Thank you! And yes, it is amazing. Today, I walked down to the supermarket. My back hurt, but I didn’t need to stop and rest at all . . . first time in a while!

      I have to get over and check you blog . . . How have you been doing?

      Reply

  3. Wow! Congrats! Keep up the good work! 🙂
    I’m very proud of you!

    Reply

  4. WOW. Dieting AND not smoking. That is huge, girl. I am really impressed. I’m sure you want some sort of indulgence, so to avoid both food and cigarettes while sticking with your exercise program seems nearly impossible. You rocked it last week. : )

    Reply

    • Thank you 🙂

      It’s been nearly 7 months since I’ve had a cigarette. I hardly miss them anymore. My first hurdle with that was going to the bar and not buying a pack. Spending the day with my best friend who happens to smoke menthols was the second!!

      Reply

  5. Posted by Ginny Layton on August 15, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    Fantastic–Very impressive, Dayle!!!

    Reply

  6. Thats awesome! Your doing great! I totally commend you for following along on your blog and posting pics. i have considered doing that but I am utterly chicken shit. I weigh 218 and I have lost about 8 pounds since I started. My wake up call came when I found out that I had insulin resistant PCOS and that if i didnt retrain my body to absorb insulin properly I was going to be a diabetic in a matter of months and possibly lose my ability to have children. I have been following what works for me. One awesome way to curb the potato chip cravings, sliced cucumbers and hummus! Omg i am practically living off of it. its the perfect snack…lol. Anyway enough about me. I think what you are doing is amazing, and I know you will succeed! Five pounds in one week is a great accomplishment…:c-). Oh another great low cal salad dressing… champagne vinegar with shallotts, sea salt, black pepper and fresh parsley, with just a little extra virgin olive oil. I keep it in my fridge at all times. 😀

    Reply

    • Thank you 🙂 And congrats on your success as well!!

      The picture and weight thing seems to cause a huge emotional drain every time I do it, but I look forward to being able to look back and see all of my progress. And maybe, just maybe, I can help motivate someone else while keeping myself accountable!

      I don’t like hummus 😦 I’ve tried different flavors and all and I just can’t acquire the taste for it!

      I’m definitely going to try the salad dressing!

      Reply

  7. Thoroughly proud of you, Dayle! Your dedication motivates me to live healthier too! =) This won’t just help my body, but also my budget. =) Thank you!

    Reply

  8. Great job, Dayle! (Especially for resisting a cheesesteak!) I’m glad you are changing your whole life and not just doing a fad diet. But it’s hard to completely change to a healthy diet … that’s why the exercise is awesome too! I’ve heard good things about the Wii Fit. You are such an inspiration! Keep up the GREAT work!

    Reply

    • Thanks Jen!

      I knew someone from the area would understand how tempting that cheesesteak was!

      I love, love, LOVE the Wii Fit! Not only can I not afford a gym membership, I am way too self-conscious to go to a gym. I can’t walk or jog too much because of the back and knee pain. And those home workout videos either bore me to tears or are just too much for me right now (I would LOVE to get back to Tae Bo). The Wii Fit gives me something I can do and it works. It gets my heart rate up and makes me sweat and I can definitely feel it in my muscles 🙂

      Reply

  9. Congratulations! Just be careful…last I heard, that much lost in a week wasn’t considered healthy! Can you imagine…you’re losing too much?!? 😀

    Remember that when you get down to it, the actual weight loss might start sounding disappointing…but muscle is denser than fat. You’re working out as well as watching your intake, so you might not “lose” as much…the way you feel, the way your clothes fit, that should mean more than the scale! It sounds like you’re doing great there if your ankle/foot swelling is starting to let up already! WOOOOOT!

    And just a tip…veggies for a snack are great, but don’t forget your old pal protein. No…not steak. But there’s a weird phenomenon I learned about as a diabetic. Even when I don’t eat before bed, my blood sugar spikes up. They’re thinking this might be because your liver gets bored and needs something to do at night. Anyway…what they’re actually suggesting for a before bed snack is either a handful of nuts (yeah, they’ve got fat…but they’re good fat) or low-fat dairy (cottage cheese or low fat yogurt). I’ve found that they seem to leave me feeling full longer, too, so passing that on in case you can find it useful.

    So much in one week! WAY TO GO! (And might I add, you’re very, very brave putting your picture up. I couldn’t do that!)

    Reply

    • Thank you so much!!

      I did a bit of research on the “too much weight loss is unhealthy” thing. From what I can tell, that’s *mostly* true, but it’s more because most people need to cut their calories way too drastically in order to achieve that. I’m still eating between 1200 and 1500 calories a day (educated guess since I’m not really counting). Plus, from my many, MANY past diets, it’s kind of normal to lose a lot more the first week because of water weight and all that . . . I’ve also cut down my salt A LOT (big, big deal for me)!

      I am totally with you on the way I feel being much more important than the numbers on the scale. I weigh myself every day, but that’s only because I can’t do the Wii Fit body test without a weigh-in. I feel a million times better than I did just a week ago. It’s awesome!

      The nuts are a good idea! I’ll have to pick some up! . . . I do usually have some kind of protein with my salads . . . tuna or chicken mostly.

      The picture thing is so tough! I like added my “thin” pictures though . . . It definitely helps . . . like a “yeah, this is what I look like now, but check out what I will look like!!” 🙂

      Reply

  10. Congratulations on your first week Dayle! 🙂 I have just been reading your posts and looking at your pictures. It is funny that when you were younger you thought that being a size 12 or 14 made you fat. I felt exactly the same way! But now that I am older I am very happy to be a size 12 and I wish that me 16 year old self could have felt the same way. Best of luck to you on your journey!

    Reply

    • Thank you, Paula!

      It’s amazing how age changes perspective. Do you remember the sunscreen song? This is my favorite part, “Enjoy the power and beauty of your youth; oh nevermind; you will not understand the power and beauty of your youth until they have faded. But trust me, in 20 years you’ll look back at photos of yourself and recall in a way you can’t grasp now how much possibility lay before you and how fabulous you really looked….You’re not as fat as you imagine.”

      I wish I would have paid attention to that message way back when!

      By the way, I love your blog, but can’t figure out how to subscribe to it! I can’t keep up with anything without email notifications 😛

      Reply

  11. Believe it or not, I’ve never heard the sunscreen song! lol But I really like the part you shared. 🙂 And I do look back at pictures of myself and think, “Kid you looked great, you weren’t fat at all!” 🙂

    Thanks! I love your blog as well! 🙂 There is a link to my RSS feed in the little section on my sidebar that says Meet the Geek… but I just realized it doesn’t have an e-mail option. Guess I need to figure out how to do that! Thanks for bringing that to my attention. 🙂

    Reply

  12. HA! I figured it out! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

