Happy birthday me, plus my weekly check-in

Week 3: August 22, 2011 --- 320.3 lbs.

I have had a bit of a rough week on several different fronts, but I’ve stuck with my not-a-diet (for the most part). I did enjoy a few splurges over the weekend because of my birthday (namely my Café Roma’s strawberry shortcake – a tradition since I was 13 years old). My weight loss progress is not as much as I would like it to be, but there is still a loss and for that I am happy! I lost 1.4 lbs. this past week.

My birthday was pretty much awesome! I spent the afternoon with some fabulous friends before the storm kicked us out of the park. The rest of my birthday was spent relaxing.

Here’s the video that Kes and Abby made for me:

Oh, and do you remember that blog I wrote about my Uncle Tom and what he said on the radio? Well, my oh-so-awesome cousin taped it when it first aired (I had completely forgotten) and she sent the audio file to me for my birthday! ❤ you!!!

(Ok, so after spending the last 40 minutes trying to figure out how to attach a sound file here, I give up . . . it was really freaking awesome and I’ll leave it at that!)

It gets even better. A month or so ago, my writer friend Samantha asked me to write something about career advice I had received from my elders. She asked me if she could use it to put an article together. I had no idea what to expect. Well, she sent me the finished article yesterday and words cannot even express how amazing it made me feel. I’ll share the article once it’s published! Sam, you’re awesome and thank you again!

Updated 8/24/11 — Here’s the link to the article I mentioned above 🙂

My 19th birthday; around 175 lbs.

Add all of that to the amazing messages and phone calls and lots of hugs and kisses from my daughter. Yup, definitely an awesome birthday! It feels great to be 28 (again)!

18 responses to this post.

  1. Happy Birthday! My niece is so cute. 🙂 I love you guys!

    Reply

  2. Happy birthday–late! And I’m absolutely dying to know how you found a way to circumvent the typical space-time continuum, as was evidently needed for you to accomplish this amazing feat: “Well, she sent me the finished article tomorrow”!? 😉 (Yes, I be wonky-wooed, tonight!)

    Reply

  3. Okay, that video made me smile! She is so adorable! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Woohoo! Glad to hear that you had a beautiful birthday, Dayle! And to think that you still lost over a pound! They always say that slow and steady loss means lifelong changes, eh? =)

    YAY! Thanks so much for mentioning the article! Can’t wait to publish it today and will let you know as soon as I do! =)

    Reply

    • Thank you, Sam!

      They say the appropriate weight loss is 1-2 lbs a week, but from what I read, a bit more than that is not unhealthy, especially when there is so much to lose. I’m aiming for around 3 lbs. a week, which will put me at my goal weight by my next birthday 🙂

      I still can’t get to your blog. This happened once before. I’ll keep trying though, so I can link to it! (Plus, I really want to read the posts you linked to on your last blog!)

      I’m about to go in and edit this post to add the link to your article 🙂

      Reply

    • Ok, now it works 😛

      Reply

  5. Posted by Shawna on August 24, 2011 at 1:18 am

    Happy birthday, sweet girl! … And don’t devalue losing over a pound during your birthday week. That’s a huge accomplishment. If it were me, I’d have gained at least 5. You rock. : )

    Reply

  6. I’m so happy you had a good birthday! Hey, that’s the best time to splurge. And you still lost weight, yay!!! It sounds like you have a really healthy attitude and outlook on your weight loss and I’m cheering for you!!

    (Your daughter is ADORABLE.) 🙂

    Reply

  7. Happy Birthday Dayle,

    Congratulations on the loss, and the article tells a very inspiring story. Thank you for sharing it.

    Warmest regards,
    David

    Reply

  8. I am a former special education teacher and I wrote a children’s picture book that tackles the issue of childhood obesity. Hunka Chunka Monkey Shapes Up entertains children without being preachy. It places a simple truth as a foundation in their hearts…..to cut back on their favorite snack, become active and make new friends.

    Chris Powell of ABC’s Extreme Makeover: Weight Loss Edition reads my book to his children every night. He stated on his FaceBook, “The kids are requesting Hunka Chunka Monkey Shapes Up for their bedtime story tonight….AGAIN! This is the third in a row, but I love it. What a great message of healthy living for children:). Nicely done, Sam E Bromley!” Chris’s wife, Heidi Powell, used such words as ‘amazing’ and ‘brilliant’ when describing my story! I am excited about getting this message out. You can go to YouTube.com and type in my book’s name: Hunka Chunka Monkey Shapes Up and see a brief message about my story! Please pass this on for all to see and partner with me and let us stop the obesity problem in America by encouraging the very young to skip, run and jump their way to a better life and a better future!

    Sam E Bromley
    http://www.hunkamonkey.com
    sebnest@yahoo.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

