Four weeks and almost 10 lbs. down

Week 5: September 5, 2011 --- 317.5 lbs.

I’ve done really well with my eating this week (save two occasions when I succumbed to salty snack cravings – I blame it on being a girl – and today, I gave in and bought a Mountain Dew in my travels – my first soda in 4 weeks and the last for a while, but damn it was good!).

I’ve still been slacking off with the workout thing. Abby starts school tomorrow (expect a melodramatic mom post tomorrow) and the plan is to drop her off at the bus stop and then take a 1 hour walk with my niece (I babysit my 7-month-old niece for those who don’t know). The routine will really buckle down starting tomorrow!

My energy levels have been up and down this week. I started taking a multi-vitamin and have been more diligent about incorporating protein into each meal . . . and eating more often. It’s just a bad week to really test the results because of my monthly visitor (sorry to the one or two guys who read my updates for the TMI, but it is a relevant part of the whole process).

Junior or senior year of high school "Twin Day" with one of my best friends (also the mommy of my beautiful niece), around 175 lbs.

I’ve also started keeping a spreadsheet to track my energy, mood and productivity levels. I stopped taking my Prozac and while my initial intention was to switch to a new med, I’m going to see how I can fair without meds at all. I keep track of what time I wake up and what time I go to bed, when I take my vitamin, and what I consider to be my energy, mood and productivity for the day – and any other notes that I feel are relevant. I’ve only been doing it for three days, so it’s a bit premature to share, but I will next week.

I’ve lost a pound and a half this week, which is a pound and a half more than I expected because of that monthly visitor, so yay me!

23 responses to this post.

  1. Yay, Dayle! I’m so excited for you. You are kicking some serious butt. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Way to go Dayle! Fantastic progress…keep it up 🙂

    Good luck in good health,
    David

    Reply

  3. Way to go! That monthly visitor can be such a pain! UGH!

    Reply

  4. One of the things I found is that I lose when I get my monthly, so do a lot of people I know. 🙂 Have you checked out Obesityhelp.com? It’s the website I use for the surgery forums but they also have non-surgery help forums. The people there are GREAT! They have health and fitness trackers on there as well 🙂

    Reply

    • I pretty much never lose weight when I have my period. Whenever I’ve been weighing myself regularly, I always stayed the same or gained a few ounces to a pound.

      I have not checked out the site, but I’ll look into it. I joined a forum for weight loss, but after a couple posts/comments, I haven’t been back. I just can’t keep up with everything online anymore 😛

      I do want to figure out how to add a ticker to my blog though 🙂

      Reply

  5. Congrats, Dayle!! Fantastic progress!! You are doing so well.

    Reply

  6. So happy for you! What a lot of work you are doing…just hearing all the things you’re keeping track of wore me out!
    Have a great walk tomorrow and keep up the good work! And good luck to your little girl on her first day tomorrow!

    Reply

    • Thank you! I have the spread sheet in Google docs which makes it super easy to update throughout the day (especially since I leave my gmail account open 24/7)! I even got my boyfriend to start one . . . he added what time his first meal is on his and I think I’m going to do the same. I’m up at 6am during the week and sometimes don’t eat until nearly 11am.

      Reply

  7. That is fantastic, Dayle! You are awesome–

    Reply

    • Thank you so much Ginny! You’re pretty awesome yourself!

      P.S. You need to start writing on that blog! I was so excited when I saw that you have a new blog, but then realized there’s nothing there 😛 . . . I miss reading your posts!

      Reply

  8. 10 pounds in four weeks is awesome! Congratulations! 🙂

    Reply

  9. SOOOO proud of you! And good job on starting the vitamin. I take a lot of vitamins and noticed a big difference in my hair and nails, especially from taking fish oil. Sometimes when you’re struggling with something like weight loss, having nicer hair or nails can make the process a lot more fun!

    Keep up the GREAT work! 🙂

    Reply

  10. YAY you! =) How exciting to be off Prozac! I’m so curious how that will pan out. Maybe it will make an even bigger difference with your energy levels!

    And I so know what you mean about not having had pop for a while. I feel like it makes a big difference. Lately, I’ve felt that the times I do have pop/caffeine gives me minor headaches or puts me in a not-so-awesome mood. Maybe I’m being oversensitive. =P

    Reply

    • Thanks!!

      I really do miss my soda, especially Mountain Dew. I will say that the bottle I had last week tasted amazing and I think limiting the frequency makes me appreciate it more 🙂 I don’t think a Dew once a month is too bad!

      I don’t think caffeine affects me much. I might have to add that to my energy and mood journal. Most of the time I don’t drink any caffeine at all. I live on my iced tea, but it’s homemade – caffeine free and sweetened with Splenda. Coffee is pretty rare, though I do buy iced tea with caffeine at least once a week . . . I’ve never noticed a difference. BUT I do know a lot of people who are very sensitive to caffeine.

      Reply

  11. […] in 2 days because of Roger Hargreaves birthday! My most popular post based on “Likes” is “Four weeks and almost 10 lbs. down.” My post popular post based on unique comments is “Every Day is a New Day” (and also “I am […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

