Progress not perfection

This has been a rough week. I’ve been lazy about cooking my veggies and have grabbed some “easier” snacks throughout the week . . . you know, the not-so-healthy ones. I’ve also been in a lot of pain this week. I think it has a lot to do with the weather and adjusting to the new routine since Abby started school.

That’s the negative. Here’s the positive: in the past when I’ve dealt with the same struggles, I’ve gotten depressed about it. I usually allow these issues to affect me on a much deeper level. My productivity plummets and I drag through the day. This past week, however, I have been extremely productive and was able to push myself through the issues.

I cannot figure out how to post my Energy and Mood Journal so that it’s embedded in my post. So, if you’re interested, you just have to click on the link!

Week 6: 9/12/11 --- 316.6 lbs. (Tomorrow is laundry day - hence the pink pajama pants :P)

I had a discussion with a friend the other day about weight loss and dieting. We both agreed that I should probably copy and paste what I said here! (I reworded a tiny bit, of course.)

The thing is, I could have a 1000 fitness experts tell me what I should do, and I would definitely be grateful. But to be perfectly honest, it means very little to me unless those people have ever had to lose an entire person. It helps so much more to talk to people who have gone through massive weight loss. I am not trying to lose 15 to 20 lbs. I’m trying to lose 160+. It’s a whole different game.

Documenting my journey will both help keep me accountable and hopefully help others realize that it is possible. I pretty much hate doing this every week. I hate having Kes take a picture of me. I hate posting that picture. I hate telling all of you exactly how much I weigh each week. BUT if my discomfort can help one person in a similar situation, it’s all worth it.

I know all too well how overwhelming this all is and how easy it is to say, “Forget it! I’ll never been thin so I might as well enjoy being fat.” I’ve lost count of how many diets I’ve been on. I’ve taken countless different pills, starved myself, binged and purged, did Atkins, Quick Weight Loss Center, Weight Watchers, 6-Week Body Make-over, calorie counting . . . and on and on and on.

I had a conversation with Kes yesterday about this whole lifestyle change. We stopped for lunch at the Hard Rock Café. There’s really not much to eat there that would be appropriate for my not-a-diet. The waitress saw me looking at the dietary information page and says, “Oh, don’t look at that! You can’t eat anything here!”

She was being playful, of course. I told her that I had to do my best. She suggested the mahi mahi, which came with rice and steamed veggies. I know occasional indulgences are okay, but given the difficulties of the week, I wanted to make this lunch as healthy as possible.

Winter break my freshman year of college (back to visit CAPA), around 175 lbs.

This elicited a conversation about my recent weight loss journey. I told Kes that I found it interested how everything comes together. I have always said that the reason I let myself get to the size I am now is because I never felt fat. Even now, at 316.6 lbs., I pass people half my size and smaller when I’m walking. I have always been in damn good shape for my size.

That changed after I quit smoking. The 30+ pounds I put on in just a couple of months caused all of my minor problems to become major issues. I hit my rock bottom. And I don’t think I would be pushing forward in the way that I am had I not.

Progress may be slow at times, but there is progress nonetheless. Now is the time to focus on my favorite mantra – Progress, not perfection! I will reach my goals.

12 responses to this post.

  1. I feel you on what you said about it not meaning much unless they have had to lose an entire person. I have been told by countless people who have always been skinny that it’s not that hard, you just need to eat less and exercise some and all that crap and every time they talk, I’m not truly listening, I am just getting heated up and frustrated. Why? Because they have never known what it’s actually like and probably will never know…….
    I want to hear stories and advice from someone who is either my size NOW or has been my size before and has had success…cause I’m sorry to the skinny people but just having an overweight friend is not the same. If you have never walked in the body of a bigger person, then you can’t possibly know….

    Reply

    • That’s exactly it. I was talking to a friend of mine earlier who had gastric bypass 3 years ago . . . My 160 – 200 lb. self couldn’t relate to me now, how could someone who’s weighed 110 lbs all her life? Show me people who have done this, who *know* exactly where I’m at right now. Their advice will mean everything to me!

      Reply

  2. I love your mantra – Progress not perfection! That is great! And it is something that can be applied to all areas of life. Like me with my clutter. lol It doesn’t matter that it’s not perfect yet, as long as I’m making progress! Thanks for this reminder!

    Reply

    • I have it written on my dry erase board next to my desk. It’s been there since I started freelancing 6 months ago. In my first month of freelancing I made a whopping $180. It was a bit daunting to think that I was trying to turn that into a full time income. But I kept making progress . . . and I still am.

      You’re absolutely right, it can be applied to everything! I used to use with my special needs kids. Little things become so, so important. When one of my kids would master something new, the joy was incredible! I think we should celebrate those “small” progressions in every area of life!

      Reply

  3. I need to find someone to embroider this title on a pillow for me! I love it. And just think, even if the number on the scale doesn’t go down one week, you are still making progress because you are taking steps to become healthier, not just thinner.

    You are an inspiration.

    Reply

    • An embroidered pillow would be awesome!

      “Progress not perfection” is one of the many 12 step slogans I still carry around with me everywhere. Simple and to the point . . . and remember that can make a world of difference!

      Reply

  4. I’m so proud of you, sister. Most of all for pushing through a rough week and not letting it completely knock you over! That is a HUGE deal!!! You should be very proud of yourself for continuing to put one foot in front of the other even when it feels like the week has kicked your butt. : )

    Reply

  5. Dayle – You are doing great!!! There’s a quote attributed to Eleanor Roosevelt that I thought of as I read about your challenging week –“A woman is like a tea bag; you never know how strong it is until it’s in hot water.” I love the Progress not Perfection concept, so so helpful and I should print this out and put it on my wall. Thank you for sharing your journey with us, it’s incredibly inspiring in ways I can’t articulate fully, but continue to carry with me. -Alexandra

    Reply

    • Thank you!

      I love the Eleanor Roosevelt quote! (I love Eleanor Roosevelt!)

      I also saw your message earlier about “Heavy.” I haven’t had a chance to watch an episode yet, but I I went to their website. I’m definitely going to check it out more and I think I found a topic for next week’s check-in! Thanks for the recommendation 🙂

      Reply

  6. Posted by Anne Katherine on September 18, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing your journey. Please remember when you are at your lowest points that you are not alone – we are SO rooting for you. And you deserve nothing less than success….so keep progressing, little by little, step by step…you are an inspiration to us all!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

