Happy Mabon Eve

Or Happy Autumn Equinox Eve or Happy Last Day of Summer/Night Before the First Day of Fall πŸ™‚

I have a post planned for tomorrow, so I figured I’d do my Autumn post today!

As Persephone prepares to descend into the Underworld and Demeter’s sorrow causes a temporarily barren Earth, I want to take a moment to give thanks.

I am thankful for friends and family to fill my life with joy and love.

I am thankful for the beauty to be found in the Heavens and on Earth.

I am thankful for my health and my continued progression towards a healthier life.

I am thankful for my opportunities and the ability to follow my dreams.

I am thankful for the gift of seeing the world through a child’s eyes but with an adult’s mind.

I am thankful for every step, every breath, every hug, every conversation, every moment of every day of my life.

——–

I wrote this several years ago . . . poem in progress, maybe? or just some free-flowing thought . . .

Red and yellow and brown amongst the evergreens . . . swift moving pale grey clouds travel along with a comforting breeze. Long ago and far away I gathered leaves too . . . found the beauty in simplistic intricacy. I’ve always been in awe of the world around me, knowing it extended far beyond my understanding. Walking through the woods I found my friends . . . a box turtle and a lady bug, some squirrels and a deer, so long as she didn’t see me. I escaped into my surroundings . . . nature never judged me, never belittled me . . . never made me feel not good enough. The echo of the wind through the trees is music played in perfect harmony with the scampering of furry feet. I could sit, a single audience member, listening for hours. An old soul, they said I was. I really wasn’t a typical child . . . as hard as I often tried to be. The “dramas” of those around me always seemed trivial. I tried to get caught up in them, tried to be normal (whatever that is) . . . but it wasn’t me . . . still isn’t . . . though I must admit, I do still try sometimes. But this is what is important in life . . . . watching young faces smile . . . collecting bouquets of leaves . . . so proud of what they have found. And as Autumn surrounds me I remember not only the woman who I am, but the child I once was.

~November 16, 2005

——–

What are you thankful for?

17 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anne Katherine on September 22, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    Ready or not…here comes fall!
    Love this: “Nature never judged me, never belittled me, never made me feel not good enough.” So true, so true, and that’s why it’s so soothing to turn to nature in times of trouble sometimes…
    I agree with your last “thankful” : for every step, every breath…. all of it!

    Reply

    • Thanks for reading and commenting, Anne!

      I have always had a love of nature . . . oddly enough, I also have a hatred of the outdoors πŸ˜› . . . I’m chock full of contradictions! It’s actually sunlight that I have an aversion to . . . maybe that’s why I love the woods . . . the trees block all that dreaded light! πŸ˜›

      Reply

  2. Stunning in its wistfulness, I too was a dreamer of a child. But you already knew that, didn’t you? πŸ˜‰

    This week, I’m particularly thankful for my faithful husband and the laughter of my boys. I am also in awe of the beauty even shattered dreams and financial frustrations cannot take away from my eyes or from my heart.

    Reply

    • ::Smile:: somehow I think I did know that you were a dreamer πŸ™‚

      “I am also in awe of the beauty even shattered dreams and financial frustrations cannot take away from my eyes or from my heart.” LOVE this!

      Reply

  3. I read this in my e-mail, so I didn’t notice that yo uhad redecorated your blog–to allow for less sunlight, perhaps? (Btw, I too love the way the sunlight trickles through the foliage to make a shadowy lace across the forest floor.

    Reply

    • Haha, I wasn’t thinking about sunlight when I changed my layout, but that definitely works for me!

      One a side note, during the Summer we all move into my bedroom because it’s the only room with AC. My desk in my room is right next to the window and I can’t stand it! This weekend I am so looking forward to moving my desk back down to the dining room and away from all windows, and of course, sunlight πŸ˜›

      Reply

  4. That’s beautiful Dayle! This line really stands out to me: The echo of the wind through the trees is music played in perfect harmony with the scampering of furry feet. I just love it!

    I’m thankful for my family, my friends, my new online friends πŸ™‚ , my job, and my blog, which keeps me sane!

    Happy Autumn!

    Reply

    • Thank you, Paula πŸ™‚

      I have a handful (out of hundreds) of pieces I’ve written throughout the years that I can still recite from memory . . . this is one of them.

      “I’m thankful for my family, my friends, my new online friends , my job, and my blog, which keeps me sane!” — I could not agree more!!!

      A Happy Autumn to you as well πŸ™‚

      Reply

  5. Very cool, you are teaching me something new! πŸ™‚
    If I calculate your age right, you were about my age when you wrote this? Wow! You are so talented! I want your autograph for when you become a famous writer! πŸ™‚
    I am thankful I found WordPress and have found so many new friends as well as thankful for the great friends and family I already had in my life! πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Awww, thank you, Sharon! You’re so sweet πŸ™‚

      I was 26 when I wrote this (I just had to do the math :P). I was teaching preschool and the kids were all outside on the playground. They kept running up to me and giving me bouquets of leaves. It was positively adorable! This was during my MySpace days, so I used to blog there a tiny bit and this is what came out that night πŸ™‚

      “I am thankful I found WordPress and have found so many new friends as well as thankful for the great friends and family I already had in my life!” —- Yes, yes, yes!!!! πŸ™‚

      Reply

  6. Apparently I am now addicted to smiley faces….:)

    Reply

  7. I love your poem, and I love that you often post things you wrote long ago.

    “I am thankful for the gift of seeing the world through a child’s eyes but with an adult’s mind.” Love this!

    Reply

    • Thank you so much, Jen! “-)

      One of these days, I’ll take all of my old stuff and combine it one place πŸ˜› . . . My *real* dream . . . the one I’ve had since I was 8 years old . . . is to become a published poet. I’ve been wanting to create a book of my poetry for years, I just haven’t had the time to gather it all!

      Reply

  8. […] During Banned Books Week, she highlighted daily books that had been challenged. She celebrated the beginning of Autumn with thanks and an old poem with beautiful imagery. In her post, 46 cents, she took a writing […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

