Weekly check-in: I give up

Well, that’s not entirely true.

I’m not giving up on my not-a-diet. As I have said before, this a lifestyle change and I fully intend for it to be lifelong.

I am, however, giving up the weekly weigh-ins . . . at least until I can figure out a way to weigh myself accurately.

I mentioned last week that my floors are uneven – or rather, my entire house is uneven. It makes it difficult to get accurate weight measurements at time, but I usually just go with it. I weigh in on the Wii Fit because it has been more accurate than our kitchen scale (which I can step on, step off, step back on and find a 15 lb. difference).

Last week we moved our entire lives from my bedroom down to the first floor. I weighed in at 326.1. On Saturday, I cheated — I weighed in early. According to my Wii Fit, I had lost over 7 lbs. since Monday. I didn’t think it was completely accurate and figured it might go up a couple of pounds on Monday. Well, today I weighed in and apparently, I gained almost 10 lbs. in two days.

Now, I know I’ve had a few unhealthy snacks this past week, but certainly not 10 lbs. worth! I can also tell you with absolute certainty that I did not eat 10 lbs. worth of food in two days, or in the past week . . . or the past two weeks for that matter.

So, I’m aggravated. I *need* to be able to measure my success at least somewhat accurately. Having that progression documented is a huge part of my motivation. So, the plan is to go out and buy an analog scale this week. Good, old-fashioned reliability. At least I’ll be able to set it 0 – even on my slanted floors! And I should be back next week with an accurate update!

In the meantime – here is my Energy & Mood Journal. This past week has been amazing. My energy and productivity have been phenomenal and my mood has been mostly positive. Considering that I have been off of medication for an entire month now, I think *mostly* is fabulous!

9 responses to this post.

  1. That makes sense about the scales…I don’t blame you for wanting to get a more accurate weigh-in…How else are you supposed to really know if you’re making progress or not?
    I guess you could do measurements, if you felt comfortable, but that’s still not documenting the weight…..Hope you are able to get a better scale that will work!

    Reply

    • So I got my new scale today. It has me at 331. It’s going to be difficult to attest to its accuracy until I have something to measure it against . . . So, we’ll just have to see what happens on Monday!

      I suck at doing measurements. And I don’t think the difference is as noticeable week to week. Maybe I’ll work on measurements once a month. I just like being able to see even the smallest progressions 🙂

      Reply

  2. I’ve always found scales to be horribly unreliable myself. But I understand your need to see success…I wish I could find some sort of weekly encouragement myself. I make do with my glucose-meter…but it’s not the best gauge of these things! Hope the new scale works!

    Reply

    • I agree with you. Scales themselves are inaccurate and you’ll get different weights on every scale you step on. And then there’s the issue of weight distribution and muscle gain, which makes measuring weight not the best way to measure success. But using the same scale in the same place should give me a somewhat dependable reading. It’s better than nothing at least!

      I got the new scale today, so we shall see how it goes!

      And good luck to you in finding something measurable!

      Reply

  3. I’m glad that you’re not giving up for real. 🙂 And that’s great about your energy and mood levels being so good! Congratulations!

    Reply

  4. Posted by sweetopiagirl on November 26, 2011 at 1:12 am

    Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

