It’s a process

It’s been over two months since I started this whole not-a-diet and of course, sharing the journey with everyone. On the surface, it may seem as if I have not had much success. Number-wise, I honestly don’t know what my success has been. I mentioned the difference in using the Wii Fit upstairs vs. downstairs and my wacky slanted floors. Last week, I bought an analog scale, so I’m going to be using that for now on.

According to that scale, I weighed in at 325 lbs. this morning, which puts me at a whole whopping 1.7 lbs. less than where I was 2 months ago. It doesn’t seem like much on the surface, and I admit that it aggravates me at times. However, my pain is still less, I am continuing to make efforts to improve my diet and exercise (even if I slip up, I’m still trying) and I am slowly, but surely learning what works for me and what doesn’t.

On top of it all, I have taken on quite a few new projects, both for work and in a volunteer capacity. Not to make excuses, but it definitely does influence my time management which influences my eating and exercising (as an example, I forgot to eat today until 6pm – I wasn’t trying not to eat; I quite literally forgot).

In short, it’s a process.

We ordered out a couple of nights this week, which I KNOW I need to completely stay away from. The workout thing has been non-existent, but today Kes and I made a commitment to walk 3 times a day. It went really well and I credit quite of bit of today’s energy with the walking. Sitting at a desk all day for work can actually be quite exhausting. I feel my body stiffen from it and today’s walks made a huge difference!

I’ve kept up (mostly) with my Energy and Mood Journal. I need at least a few more weeks of consistency before I can start noticing patterns, I think.

I think I’m going to stop with the weekly pictures and maybe do monthly ones instead . . . and possibly include measurements. We’ll see.

In general, regardless of the lack of provable progress, I feel good about this. If this was just another diet, I’d be pissed, annoyed, frustrated and ready to give up and order a cheesesteak, onion rings, pizza and cheesecake. (Eating because I’m depressed about not losing weight has been an ongoing issue for me — I fight and fight and fight to lose weight, have little to no success and say f*** it and just basically gorge myself till I’m sick.)

But this is not just a diet. I keep saying it but I mean it – it’s a lifestyle change. That change in mindset makes a HUGE difference. It’s what keeps me going because while I may not be where I want to be, I’m closer than I was yesterday!

P.S. I’m so super sorry that I missed my Saturday Sharing this week and that I’ve been completely awful about keeping up with everyone else’s blogs. I’ve been working on juggling some new responsibilities and I am slowly getting into a new groove. I’ll be back at full force soon!

12 responses to this post.

  1. Good luck! You CAN DO IT! 😀

    Reply

  2. Posted by Karen Garnica on October 18, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    Dayle, I am not on a diet either, simply a life quest…I don’t look at a scale…just go by the way my clothes feel on me:) Karen

    Reply

    • I still kind of need the scale. I need to see those numbers. Most of my pants are elastic waists, so it’s hard to tell by my clothes unless I’ve lost A LOT of weight. As I start to lose more though, I’m sure I’ll notice 🙂

      Reply

  3. Good luck! And just keep focusing on how much better you feel that’s the important part! 🙂

    Reply

  4. I love the picture (closer than yesterday), and that is what you need to focus on. And also, remember that if you are exercising more, your fat may be turning to muscle which I’m sure you know weighs more than fat….so that may be in the equation as well….which is a purely positive thing… stay with it, Dayle! I know you can do it!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Anita on October 24, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    It IS progress… NOT perfection!

    You are doing a wonderful job! Yes, you treat yourself. So what! You ARE making progress… making change, and that’s what’s important. Many of us dieters/non-dieters choose to ignore the scale because it can be deceiving. Muscle weighs more than fat, and your weight is different at different times of the day. So, weighing yourself less is a good idea. The truth is in how you feel, and how your clothes feel on you! So, congratulations! You’re doing something right because your body is thanking you! 😉

    Reply

    • Thank you so much!

      I am definitely working on only weighing myself once a week and at the same time.

      It’s difficult to tell with clothes because most of clothes are oversized or elastic waists . . . but I’m sure withing a few weeks, I’ll be able to tell 🙂

      And as for how I feel? I feel awesome, so I’m going with that!

      Reply

  6. Dayle good for you!!! I love that quote…very inspiring. I think dieting stinks…I like the lifestyle route much better…my downfall is eating late at night…corn chips…sooo bad!!!

    Reply

    • Thank you, Lisa! Late night snacking has always been my downfall as well. I’ve been working on replacing all late night snacks with veggies. I’m getting pretty good at it, but admittedly, I slip up sometimes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

