Sunday Sharing: Patriotism, Roald Dahl, inspirational progress, and more

I read two weeks’ worth of blog posts from nearly a dozen different bloggers today. It was exhausting. But fun. I’ve missed my favorite bloggers! There are still a bunch that I didn’t get to, but I am going to make more of an effort to stay on top of others’ posts. I’m also going to try to stay more on top of writing more frequently. I’ve been trying to get myself into a new routine, and I think I may have just figured it out. Literally. I figured it out today. So, fingers crossed that I can stick with it this week!

Need to make your Mondays better? Check out Sharon’s Mirthful Monday!

What do you think of free speech and Facebook statuses? Are there lines that should not be crossed? Check out Paula’s opinion on the subject.

How do you define luck? Camylleon recently updated her definition.

Are you proud of your country? Samantha reflects on Peruvian and Latin American pride in her recent post.

I’ve been following Caroline since Banned Books Week (not that long, I know, but her blog is already a favorite of mine).  She reviews children’s books and has provided me with an awesome list of books to pick of up for my daughter. One of her recent reviews was on a book I already own, Matilda by Roald Dahl. She’s also asked her readers to recommend the next Roald Dahl book she should read. My suggestion was The B.F.G.!

How do you feel about redshirting kindergartners? Would you rather your child start school earlier or later? Be the youngest or the oldest? Jennifer discusses this both as a parent and a kindergarten teacher.

Are you a sucker for your pets? I have a feeling that Jen might be . . . just a little bit 😉

Is your child on the path to becoming a great leader? Jared’s pretty certain his daughter is following in the footsteps of Gandhi.

Ever wonder what Halloween was like in the Victorian era? Check out some of the pictures Stacey posted on her blog!

I’ve been checking in on David’s blog for the past couple of months. David has Type II Diabetes and over the past several months has been on a mission to lose weight and become healthy. Reading about his progress has been a huge inspiration to me.

How do you organize? Are you passionate about shelving? Lisa is and she’s shared a ton of awesome ideas in her recent post!

16 responses to this post.

  1. ME?!?! A sucker for my pets?!?! NEVER. (har har har) 🙂

    Reply

  2. Thanks for including me! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Thanks for including me in your shares and all your comments! 🙂 Now I have more blogs to check out.

    Reply

    • You are very welcome!

      I know! It’s crazy, isn’t it? I just started following a couple from your last sharing post 🙂 (Especially the kid who reviews books . . . how awesome is that?!)

      Reply

  4. Hi Dayle,

    Thanks for the shout-out; it would be allot tougher for me without all of the support I’ve received 🙂

    I love Roald Dahl, but I’ve only read his childrens books: James and the Giant Peach, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, The BFG, and Danny, the Champion of the World. I’ve seen the move “Matilda” several times; it was one of my niece’s favorites.

    Kindest regards,
    David

    Reply

    • You are very welcome, David!

      I completely understand about the support. When I first starting with my not-a-diet posts, I was emotionally drained. It was so difficult to share my weight and post pictures, but I can really feel the support and it’s been a huge help in pushing me forward!

      Interesting . . . I just had to look it up because I didn’t even know that Roald Dahl wrote for adults too! I might have to go check them out now 🙂 I adore his children’s books and am so looking forward to passing them along to my daughter!

      Reply

  5. Dayle thank-you so much for sharing my post!! Seems we may share a passion for shelving!! Its soooo addicting..but in a good way 😉

    Reply

  6. AH! I am so behind on reading blogs myself! It really IS hard to stay in top of it and I feel guilty for not staying up to date with all the people who comment on my blog! 😦
    Thanks for mentioning me here! I want to go check out all the ones you mentioned but I really need to get caught up with the ones I already follow first then make my way through all the ones you have shared these weeks!

    Reply

  7. Aww! Thanks soo much for sharing my post here, Dayle!! =) I loved Paula’s opinion piece on Facebook statuses, Jared’s Ghandi-like daughter (hilarious!), and Lisa’s post on shelves too! =) Loving this series!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

