I’m a dirty, rotten thief

Last week, I decided that I needed a new theme for my blog. I skimmed through every single one, noting the two or three that I liked. I went back the next day and once again skimmed every single one. I changed my mind about those I liked the day before and added a couple of new ones in. This process continued for 2 more days, making my blog theme search last a total of 4 days.

I tried to be very careful as not to choose a theme that one of the bloggers I follow uses. Popping up with the same blog theme as someone else is like showing up to the prom wearing the same dress as another girl. It’s just wrong.

So after those 4 days of hunting, I finally settled on this lovely theme (it’s Choco, in case it’s changed by the time you’re reading this). It didn’t make any of my pages disappear (many themes did) and I like the look of it. I also searched for a theme that makes links show up clearly, something I don’t think my last theme did.

I was happy with Choco. Until today. I started catching up on blog posts today and I came to Anita’s blog . . . Anita is also known as my twin. Anita uses Choco! So, here I am, at the prom wearing the same lovely dress as someone else.

What am I to do? I must go home and change, of course.

Another week or so and maybe I’ll find another suitable theme!

32 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anita on November 14, 2011 at 12:02 am

    HURRY UP! LOL! Gah!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Anita on November 14, 2011 at 12:02 am

    You’re still wearing MY dress!!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Anita on November 14, 2011 at 12:03 am

    I know where you live!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Anita on November 14, 2011 at 12:12 am

    Hahahaha!! LMBWO!

    Reply

  5. Well, it sounds like you’re changing it again but it looks nice. I don’t want to play with mine, since I finally learned how to use the backgrounds and widgets. 🙂

    Reply

    • Thank you!

      I have this thing for change. I blame it on being moved around a lot as a kid. I get bored and have to change things . . . this usually means dying my hair or rearranging my desk . . . and apparently, it’s crossed over to blog themes 😀

      “I don’t want to play with mine, since I finally learned how to use the backgrounds and widgets.”

      That’s the problem with many of the WordPress themes . . . I’d either lose my widgets or my pages, and I’m kind of attached to both!

      Reply

  6. I changed mine either right before or after the Post a Day Challenge and I like mine the way it is, so I don’t envision changing it. Sometimes I embrace change, other times I prefer the phrase, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it”….at least not for now anyways!

    The fact you equated stealing a theme with wearing the same prom dress is cracking me up and your little back and forth with Anita is going to cause me to fall out of my chair from laughing so hard!

    Reply

    • I like yours 🙂

      Hehe, I’m glad I made you laugh! Anita and I were chatting and we were bantering about the theme, so I decided to make it a post 😛 (I’m waiting her to fight me cause I haven’t changed it yet!)

      Reply

  7. Looks great Dayle! I love this theme. I find it quite addicting looking through all the possibilities. I’ve thought of doing the same thing with mine, as a little 1 year anniversary gift for my wee blog. Hmmm this one looks good….just kidding!!

    Reply

  8. LOL You’re always stealing something Dayle! You and Anita both look really cute in this “dress.” So, maybe you should just keep on matching. 🙂

    Reply

    • I’m just a thief . . . . A leopard can’t change her spots, ya know?

      Hehe, I hope Anita doesn’t hear you say that . . . you might end up on her list! (And if you take my top spot away, I’ll be upset :P)

      Reply

  9. Yeah..Twins are allowed to wear the same dress!

    Reply

  10. LOL, this is hilarious! When I changed mine recently, all my widgets were gone and I almost cried. Thankfully, my husband has gotten pretty WordPress-savvy since we have our doggie blog, and he helped me. These things are complicated darn it! 🙂

    Reply

    • Hehe . . . I get very excited when I amuse people other than myself . . . I’m so used to cracking myself up and then just having people look at me like I have 3 heads!

      Oh, I may need to borrow your husband then . . . for WordPress purposes only! There are a good 5 or 6 themes that I really like, but when I preview the changes, my widgets or my pages go *poof*! I’m right there with yout – These things are most definitely complicated!

      Reply

    • Adding onto the cracking myself up bit . . . I have a hard time placing anything I write in the “Humor” category because I always feel presumptuous . . . Iike it’s cocky to believe that other people will find what I wrote funny just because it made me laugh while writing it!

      Reply

  11. Posted by Anita on November 17, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    {Puts Dayle back on da list! And den, adds a bunch of Xs next to her name, and waits.}

    Reply

  12. Posted by Anita on November 17, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    {Adds Lisa P, Paula, and Akanksha Lal to da list… just in case.}
    {Giggles at TheRealSharon.}

    Reply

  13. Haha! Aww man! =) What a bummer! =) Is there any way you can customize Choco with a different header or change the colors, so it’s a little different? =P

    Reply

  14. […] Yes, Anita, I am still working on changing my theme! […]

    Reply

  15. […] a favorite, but I did attempt to use Choco once and then had to change it . . . You can read why here (I don’t know how to link to the actual […]

    Reply

  16. […] a favorite, but I did attempt to use Choco once and then had to change it . . . You can read why here (I don’t know how to link to the actual […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

