An overdue not-a-diet check-in

It’s been several weeks since my last check-in, and in all honesty, I’ve been afraid to weigh myself. Overall, I’ve been eating fairly well (though we have ordered out at least once a week and that usually does not equal healthy!), but I have not been working out. At all.

The pain in my knee has been atrocious. I could barely move for a few days a couple of weeks ago. I was limping just walking around the house. I’m still only able to take the stairs one at a time. My back pain has been getting worse as well.

I attribute part of that to the change in weather, but I was also afraid that I had gained weight again. I finally broke down and stepped on the scale on Saturday, and I am happy to say that I have lost 7 pounds since my last weigh-in. I’m at 315, which means I have 16 pounds to go until I make it to my first mini-goal.

Kes and I are still planning on getting gym memberships. The cost of the memberships is incredibly reasonable. Our problem comes with traveling to and from the gym. Because we both work from home, we usually get by with a 10-pack of bus tokens every week. Going to the gym would mean that we both need bus passes. It will only cost us $20/month for both of us whereas the bus passes will cost us $166/month for both of us.

Maybe in January, once the holiday hoopla is over.

One of the motivators on my fridge - Perhaps "healthy" would be less shallow than "thin", but whatever works, right?!

Oh, my current weakness? I have been succumbing to my Mountain Dew cravings every day. A 24-ounce bottle every morning has replaced coffee! Maybe once it gets a little colder, I can get back to coffee – at least it’s sugar-free!

I’m not sure that I’m going to weigh in every week, but I do want to get back to posting weekly updates about my not-a-diet. I actually considered doing a vlog, which is totally out of my comfort zone. On Saturday night, I started up the webcam and just did it . . . only to find out that my webcam software sucks and I am unable to save the video to my computer or upload it to YouTube (supposedly, I can, but every time I tried, I was told “upload failed”).

Does anyone have anything thoughts? Would it make things more interesting? Should I pursue this whole vlog thing further or just stick with the written updates or do you not care at all? 😛 Be honest, please!

I’m attempting this thing called a routine. We’ll see how well it goes. As part of that routine, I have myself posting updates every Tuesday. (I’ve also scheduled in at least 2 other blog posts per week and time to read blogs – yay!) I am only on day 2 of this routine and so far, I’m on track. Let’s hope I can keep it going!

10 responses to this post.

  1. Routines are awesome! Unfortunately, I suck at them. lol Well, I am really good at them at work, but not so good in my personal life. I had a really good routine when I had a set work schedule. I exercised everyday, and had good sleeping habits, but all that changed when my schedule changed and I still haven’t found a good balance. That is one of my goals for the new year – to find some balance and a good personal routine.

    Good luck with your own routine! 🙂 And congratulations on the 7 pounds! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Congratulations with your weightloss so far! Don’t forget that gyms aren’t the only place to go to get your exercise fix, personally I’m not a fan which if why I’ve been trying all sorts of different sports from boxing to bollywood dancing. I’m working on posting them one at a time, but you should take a look incase you find something that suits you!

    http://fridaysfivecents.wordpress.com/2011/10/14/exercise-chore-vs-fun/

    Reply

    • Hi fridaysfivecents! Thank you for reading and commenting! I browsed through your blog the other day, but will look through it more this weekend 🙂

      I have always had a problem motivating myself to work out. A lot of that has to do with my pain. The thing with a gym membership is that I know I will use it – if for no other reason than I spent money on it and I’ll be damned if I lose money on anything! In the meantime, I’m working on things that will help get me moving at home. Since I work at a computer for 10+ hours a day, at the very least, I need to get myself out and walking around.

      I’m looking forward to reading about the exercises on your blog!

      Reply

  3. Congratulations on losing 7 lbs! And for starting a routine, that is awesome! I think the vlog would be interesting, if you decide to try again. Not that you need to be more interesting- don’t get me wrong. I agree with fridaysfivecents…gyms are not the only way to go. I’ve actually enjoyed doing some dance workouts at home. They’re fun, burn a lot of calories and the kids like doing it with me. (Well, Piper just laughs at me-she’s not quite walking yet so dancing is kind of out of the question!) Maybe that’s an option? Good luck either way, and keep us posted! hugs!

    Reply

    • Thank you for your thoughts, Sandy!

      I’m still working on finding something that will keep me motivated at home. Part of the lure of a gym is that a paid membership will motivate me to get use out of it 😛

      I might attempt the vlog again this weekend . . . maybe with my Flip so that it won’t go all wonky on my like my webcam did!

      Reply

  4. First, I love your new blog format….very nice!
    And if it’s easier just to write, as opposed to doing a vlog… just write! Really whatever you will stick with! I love to see videos, but love reading just as much…
    That’s crazy about how much the bus pass would be. Maybe you guys should just walk (that would be free…then you wouldn’t have to pay for the bus or the gym membership 🙂 ) Not the same I know!
    I admire you so much for hanging in there with your attitude through all of this…that’s the hardest part!

    Reply

    • Thank you so much, Anne!

      I have this thing with breaking out of my comfort zone. I’ve been saying for years that comfort is over-rated! The more I break out of what’s comfortable for me, the more I continue to evolve . . . so, that’s where the whole vlog thing came from. 🙂

      When you consider the cost of a bus pass vs. driving, it’s really quite reasonable. And if I had a bunch of other reasons to use the pass, it wouldn’t feel like so much, but since it would almost solely be used for the gym, it just feels like an added cost to the membership!

      We are trying to get out and walk more, but I’d still like to get the membership . . . Plus, it’s starting to get cold and Kes and I are both masters at rationalizations!

      Reply

  5. Congratulations on the weight loss so far! I love reading your updates and I’m fine with whether you do the video or not. 🙂
    Hopefully you guys can figure out a solution that works best for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

