Community Network Meme 2011

***This was supposed to post at 12:01 . . . I have no idea why it didn’t. Sorry about that!***

1. As a blogger, what do you draw inspirations from for your posts?

That’s really difficult to narrow down. It might be something going on with my daughter, a news article I read, a comment I overheard someone make or just a random thought. There is very little rhyme or reason to my posts, which is how I like it. Writing, for me, brings together all of my interests.

2. If you could swap blogs with another blogger for a post, who would you switch with and why?

This is a tough one. Like me, most of the bloggers I follow have non-themed blogs. If I was going to switch with someone for a post, I think I’d like to do it with someone who is in a certain niche. Though honestly, I’d be up for guest posting and having guest posters anytime.

3. If your blog had a theme song, what would it be? Why?

This would change constantly depending on my mood. I’m generally a “look on the bright side” kind of person, so maybe “Keep Your Head Up” by Andy Grammer or “Pack Up” by Eliza Doolittle. They’re two of my happy songs – both very true and upbeat messages.


4. What is your writing process for a post?

I start writing in Word – train of thought mostly. Then I reread what I wrote two, three or sixteen times. I’ll tweak and modify and sometimes delete and start over (which is not nearly at satisfying as crumpling up a piece of paper and throwing in the wastebasket . . . does anyone say “wastebasket” anymore? They should. It sounds so much more refined than “trash can”.).

5. Your blog requires a cute, new, mascot – what would it be?

Probably a ferret. I’m pretty much obsessed my babies!

6. Do you feel you express your “true self” on your blog?

Absolutely. I consider my blog to be a “self-indulgent project” – meaning that I write about anything and everything that I find meaningful or interesting at a particular moment. If I did not express my “true self”, it would defeat the entire purpose of my blog. I have shared a lot of personal things here, and while it’s been scary to be so open, it’s also opened doors for me to build some wonderful friendships.

7. What is your biggest online pet-peeve?

People who do nothing but complain. I understand the need to vent now and then, but there are some people are just constantly negative. It’s not just an “online” pet-peeve. It bugs me in real life too . . . BUT it becomes much more noticeable online. When every Facebook update, im, tweet, etc. are about how bad someone’s life is, it irritates me. I certainly have my moments of negativity and there was a time when I was that negative person. I’ve learned over the years though that 90% of the negativity in my life is completely based on my attitude.

8. If you could live in a fictional universe, where would you live? Why?

I would live in Eureka, but I would most definitely have to live in Sarah or another smart house equivalent! While I am not exactly a techie, I am still fascinated by gadgets and so what better place than Eureka?

9. You’re having a bad day, you’re upset, you’re angry, or you’re sad – what is your go-to comfort?

Dying my hair and writing. I usually keep an assortment of colors stocked in my closet and when I’m in a bad mood, I dye my hair. New hair always cheers me up 🙂 And writing, well, I think most of you can get that one!

10. What is your favorite inspirational quote?

I don’t think I have one favorite. I have a few quotes written on dry erase boards around my desk though – “Progress not perfection.” . . .  “Those who dare to dream, experience the greatest rewards.” . . . “Never forget to be grateful that you love words.”

11. If they were to make a movie based on your life, who would play you, your leading lady/man, your best friend, and your rival?

19 questions down and this is my last one to answer. It’s Saturday morning and I’m running out of time, but I’m really quite clueless about this. Are we to base this on look-alikes, personalities or pure fantasy? I’m totally over-thinking this!

12. Do you think the world is going to end in 2012?

No. But I’ll go to the party anyway!

13. If you could change anything about yourself, what would it be?

Oh boy . . . I really wish I could be all deep with this one, but honestly, it would be my weight. I’ve struggled with weight issues most of my life. I know that it is within my power to change, and I am working on that now, but oh how nice it would be to just wave a magic wand and have it happen . . . or at least make it much less of a struggle!

14. What is your favorite season and why?

I love Autumn and Spring equally. I’ve never been fond of the extremes of Summer and Winter.

15. You’ve been bitten by a vampire. Would you fight it with all your undead being or would you embrace it for all it is worth?

Hmm, that depends on whose vampire mythology we’re going by here. Do I become a mindless monster? Or do I retain my personality? If the latter, then I would embrace it and do the best I could with my newfound abilities. If the former, I’d fight it.

16. Have you personally met any of your blogger friends?

I have “real-life” friends who have blogs and I read those blogs, but I have never personally met anyone whom I became friends with through blogging. A few of us have tossed around the idea of a blogging conference, and I positively love the idea. I feel as if I know my blogger friends better than many of my “real-life” friends because much of what we write is so personal. I’ve connected with many through other venues (Facebook and whatnot) and I would love to have the opportunity to meet in person.

17. What does your favorite pair of underwear look like?

Um, I really don’t think anyone reading this wants a visual of my underwear. Just sayin’.

18. Have you ever drank something right from the container in the refrigerator knowing other people will have to drink out of the same container later?

No, because it would skeeve me out if someone else did it. I make my own iced tea and use half-gallon jugs for most of it. I do drink straight from those containers, but only because I’m the only one drinking from them.

19. What is your favorite word and explain why?

I love words. It’s difficult to pick one favorite, but if I really, really had to, it would be “xanthic”. In high school, I used to randomly pick words out of the dictionary and write poems around them. Xanthic was one of those words and it quickly became a favorite. It means to have yellow or yellowish color, typically referring to flowers . . . easily lends itself to poetry 🙂

pink silk against my skin
i close my eyes,
drift into that sacred place,
embraced by those things
that escape me in light,
transcended from the diffidence
that follows me through every waking moment,
tiger lilies and daffodils . . .
scents of a xanthic morning,
my lips still saturated
with the sweet taste of a poised demeanor
when the sparks of reality
emerge through the cracks in the blinds.

20. 2011 is soon coming to a close, is there anything you’d like to do different on your blog in the year 2012?

I want to become more regular with posting. I could never commit to a post a day, but I am planning a schedule that will have me posting 3-4 times a week.

This post is a part of a Community Network Meme from Morning Erection. Here is a list of the other bloggers who participated:

Betwixt And Between
Insignificant At Best
Kay At The Keyboard
WordsFallFromMyEyes
Courage To Change
Jackie Paulson~Writer
Finding The Humor
Over A Cup Of Coffee
Morpho Designs
Broken Sparkles
Curiosity Killed The KAT
Walking The Labyrinth
Life Of Carbon
ConchSaladesque
Blue Jellybeans
Disjointed Rhymings
TheRealSharon’s Blog
How Can I Complain?
Morning Erection
2tha9s

39 responses to this post.

  1. Hi there, Dayle, nice to meet you. I love your poem and – from a distance – your fuzzy ferrets. I think you can do just fine posting 3-4 days a week. Posting just to be posting … bah!

    I’ll see you around on the other blogs!

    Cheers,

    Mitch

    Reply

    • Hi Mitch, nice to meet you as well 🙂

      I’m definitely not into posting just for posting, but sometimes I need to write just to write . . . Even if it’s total crap and I throw it way, it still helps keep my juices flowing!

      Reply

  2. Great to meet you! Wowwwy wow wow that’s a lot of ferrets! You wouldn’t be able to get my daughter out of your house with those. Love the song! Never heard it before and I love discovering new music. Very upbeat.

    Reply

    • Hi Melinda, great to meet you too!

      It’s only three ferrets . . . I couldn’t choose which picture to post 😛 If you ever consider them, they are awesome pets. Though, they do take some work and need lots of play time 🙂

      Glad you like the song!

      Thanks for coming by!

      Reply

  3. I met a ferret once and it didn’t creep me out as badly as I thought it would.

    I think most vampirology (except for 30 Days of Night) allows for maintaining a soul. I didn’t even think of that. I wouldn’t want to be a 30 Days of Night vampire. Gross. Just Dracula’s love slave forever.

    Reply

    • Hehe, ferrets are totally not creepy . . . but they can be highly entertaining! One of these days I’m going to finish the video I’ve been working on 😀

      I’m not familiar with 30 Days of Night. I’ll have to look that one up. And I can definitely see the appeal to being Dracula’s love slave!

      Reply

  4. Eureka is such a great answer but like Star Trek it is such a dangerous world. People just die at random. I’m still laughing at the underwear! Just sayin’.

    Number seven’s answer is spot on. A person’s attitude is definitely 90% attitude, 9% immaturity and only 1% circumstance. Great answers all around. I will have to spend more time here to get to know you and your true self.

    Thanks again for taking part in this year’s meme. Start thinking about two questions you would want to ask to have included in next year’s two memes. I hope you had fun with this.

    Reply

    • I considered the danger of Eureka, but I think Frankford (the not-so-great neighborhood in Philly where I live) has a higher mortality rate than Eureka, so I’m pretty good with my chances!

      I definitely had fun with this (and I’m still having fun with this) . . . What a great tradition. Thank *you* for organizing all of this!

      Reply

  5. I definitely agree about the attitude thing. I used to be such a negative person too, but realized I had to stop blaming everyone else around me, and start taking responsibiltiy for how I felt.

    As far as the weight thing, I absolutely understand what you mean – it’d be great to make the struggle easier. But sounds to me like you’re sticking with it, and even if times get tough, sounds like you still have your goal in mind. I’ve been lazy, and have lost sight of my goals, so you’re definitely an inspiration! Thanks 🙂

    Your poem with xanthic in it is absolutely wonderful, you’re a talented writer, and I’ll definitely have to check back and see what else you come up with 🙂

    Thanks for participating, it’s been great to get to know you a bit!

    Reply

    • Thanks, Cheryl!

      There are definitely situations in life that give us good reason to feel down and depressed . . . death, loss of a job, break-ups, whatever . . . . And I certainly don’t expect to people to be positive *all* the time. I just can’t stand the *constant* negativity. At that point, I think we need to start looking at the common denominator. If all of my negativity centers around me, odds are, I’m the cause of it!

      Good luck with getting back to your own goals! I *know* how easy it is to lose sight of them . . . I lost sight for years. Blogging about it has really been my biggest motivator. The support and the accountability do wonders!

      Thanks for coming by and participating too . . . This is turning out to be a pretty awesome experience 🙂

      Reply

  6. Hi there, nice to meet you!
    This meme thing is a great idea, don’t you think? I’m struggling with my weight too, so I totally relate to number 13 🙂
    Have a nice day!

    Reply

  7. Are all those ferrets yours?! Oh my goodness you’re so lucky.
    When my boyfriend and I first started dating we joked that when we had our own place we would make a ferret room and fill it up with cool ramps and tubes and ferrets!
    Super jealous!

    Reply

    • There’s only 3 ferrets . . . I couldn’t decide which picture to use 😀 (Though I realize, saying “only” 3 ferrets is like saying I “only” have 3 toddlers in the house!) Ferrets are awesome pets, but they take need lots of play time and so can be a bit demanding. Funny about the ferret room . . . we’re moving in a few months and already talking about how we’re going to create a ferret area/room!

      I hope you can get your fuzzies some time not too far away! 🙂

      Reply

  8. Agree with you on the part where people complaining all the time about things is really annoying, I can’t stand it either. We all have good and bad days, happy and sad moments, but positive outcome is all what should be thinking about. I love your answer on the end of the world question 🙂 Nice to meet you through Tom’s Meme! All the best- Blaga

    Reply

    • Nice to meet you too! This has been a wonderful experience so far 🙂

      It’s funny because there was a time when I couldn’t stand the positive and upbeat people. I was very negative. But life’s too short for that .. . I want to enjoy everything moment I can!

      Reply

  9. Posted by wordsfallfrommyeyes on December 11, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    Great stuff – enjoyed your answers. Had never heard that song before. This is my first MEME you know, and I think I’ve clicked on about 3 who didn’t do it. I really wonder why not. As for online peeve – I don’t have FB or tweet and I don’t IM so I only do the blog thing and I reckon wordpress are a pretty positive bunch.

    It was great doing MEME wasn’t it 🙂

    Seeya

    Reply

    • I noticed a few last night that hadn’t done it. I made a mistake with my scheduling, so I figured some others might have done the same thing. I have to go through and see who’s was just late. I don’t know why the other just backed out though ::shrug::

      This meme was pretty awesome 🙂

      Great to meet you here!

      Reply

  10. Ack! I totally forgot about this! I had been planning on participating too. Oh,well…

    I enjoyed reading your answers, Dayle. 🙂 Your poem on the word xanthic was beautiful. We have the same online pet peeve. I really hate when all people do is complain on Facebook and their blogs. And I’m working really hard not to do the thing that I hate! 🙂 My response would have been the same as yours about the vampire thing. It would be cool to have the powers, but not if there was no way to control the killing urge. What a fun meme! I’m sorry I missed out on it.

    Reply

    • Paula, I contacted Sunday Stealing and they are posting this very same meme next Saturday. I know you participate in their thievery, so you still can do this meme. I look forward to your answers!

      Reply

    • I was gonna say what Tom said, but he beat me to it!

      I’m glad you liked the poem . . . I wrote that years ago and it’s still one of my favorites. (A lot of times, I write a poem and love, but I when I read it months or years later, I’m not happy with it anymore!)

      I knew you would be able to relate to my pet peeve 😉

      Did you ever read Bloodsucking Fiends, You Suck and Bite Me by Christopher Moore? I think I’d like to be those kind of vampires (well, at least the good ones!)

      I can’t wait to read your answers next week!

      Reply

  11. Great poem!
    I completely forgot about this as well!
    But I enjoyed reading all your answers.
    Ha- favorite pair of underwear – you’re so funny!
    And I’m the same about drinking from things in the fridge…. that is one of my pet peeves and one of the only areas of my life where I’m kind of obsessive – do NOT drink from my drink (unless you’re my child)! If you do just take it because I will NOT touch it any more!!!
    I’ll be back when I think of someone who should play you in a movie – maybe Cyndi Lauper when she was a little younger!!! (not an actress, I know, but her personality reminds me of you)!

    Reply

    • Thank you so much, Anne!

      You are awesome! Cindi Lauper playing me would totally rock!

      I can handle my boyfriend and my daughter drinking from my cup. That’s about it.

      Maybe you can do the meme next week with Sunday Stealing? 🙂

      Reply

  12. Thanks for sharing this and your blog layout and theme is awesome! I was going to do the this but time wont’ allow me. I am glad you are taking the time to do it.

    Reply

  13. I’m finally getting a chance to comment on yours now! 🙂
    By the way…this is off topic, but I’m behind on reading blogs and I noticed on your side dealio, that you have lost 11.6 pounds? yay! Congrats! So excited for you! 🙂

    I actually don’t have Word OR WordPerfect on my computer 😦 It didn’t come with it…and my only other option is Notepad…yuck! Therefore, I have to do my posts on WordPress and save them if I’m not ready to post…I miss having Word!
    Love the pictures of your ferrets, they are so darn cute!
    I understand your dislike of people that complain all the time….I feel like I am a Negative Nelly a lot myself because of my depression….BUT even if I may be down in the real world, I really honestly try to be more upbeat on my blog and Facebook, etc. I’m not always perfect at this, but I try to even it out. Obviously, the world does have some bad to gripe about, so I intend to try to be more aware of any negativity I do post from now on and for every negative post or status, make the next 5 or 6 be all happy, you know? Balance it out, maybe? 🙂 I think I have been doing better about my own negativity but I think it’s cause I am actively working on my depression issues and getting them under control. 🙂
    I love the quotes you picked!
    Your poem is so beautiful! I am in awe at your talent for words! 😀 AND I learned a new word, YAY!
    I really hope you are able to post more often, I love reading your posts!

    Reply

    • Microsoft Works is free and it’s a gazillion times better than notepad!

      We broke down and bought Word a couple of years ago. Well, I should rephrase, Kes broke down about bought Word a couple of years ago! I’m stingy, so I would have just stuck with Works 😛

      There’s a huge difference between venting out a bad day or expressing your frustrations and *constantly* bitching about *everything*. I have FB friends who will constantly post statuses about how they don’t have any real friends and blah blah blah . . . uh, how do you think the people on your FRIENDS’ list feel about that?!

      Isn’t xanthic awesome? It’s fun to say too 🙂 . . Thank you so much for the awesome compliment! It means so much, Sharon!

      P.S. I have been reading your blogs, but I’ve been doing so in my email . . . hence the lack of comments!

      Reply

  14. Party like it’s the end of the world. Yay. You seem to be a very lively person based on your answers here and also on the kind of music you prefer. I have just listened to your theme song and I was swaying to its beat. Great choice. 😀 I’m really glad to know a little about you through this meme thing.

    Reply

    • Thank you, Addie!

      I do have my angsty moments when I listen to my high school music, aka 90’s grunge 😛

      Life’s too short to get hung up on trivial things. I’d rather be crazy and have fun 🙂

      Reply

  15. Hi Dayle,

    I enjoyed reading your answers! And I am so with you on the people who do nothing but rant online. I remember unfollowing someone I know from Twitter because all she does is tweet her complaints about anything. She sucks all the positive energy on my twitter feed that I just have to remove her..

    And to your #13 answer, right back at ya! I wanna have that cute little widget too!! 🙂

    Nice to meet you!
    KAT

    Reply

    • Thanks Kat! Nice to meet you as well 🙂

      My feeling is that there’s a silver lining to everything, no matter how bad it is . . . sometimes it just takes us a while to see it! Everything is about perspective. 🙂

      Reply

  16. Great to ‘meet’ you, completely agree about constant complaints, there is always something to be happy about, even a tiny thing, you just have to be willing to seek it out!

    Reply

  17. I love your Keep Your Head up choice for the theme song! The words are very uplifiting! Great answers to all the questions..It was really nice getting to know you!

    Reply

    • Thanks, Lisa!

      I wrote an article a few months ago about Yoni Bloch, who created an interactive video for “Keep Your Head Up” and that’s how I found the song. It’s been my cheer up song every since! It even works on my 7-year-old daughter!

      Great getting to know you as well!

      Reply

  18. I so loved learning more about you hear, Dayle! =) I hadn’t heard of either of those songs before and loved them — I even listened to the Andy Grammar one as I read through your questionnaire. =) It was fun to even reflect on myself for a few of the questions. My fave is your answer to whether or not the world will end in 2012. =) Your directness makes me feel more relaxed about all the gossip I’m surrounded by in South America!

    Also loved learning about “xanthic” — your poem truly helped me visualize it! =)

    Reply

    • Thanks, Sam!

      I LOVE Andy Grammer 😀 I taped a stupid Disney Channel show the other day just cause he was on it 😛

      Hey, any excuse to party, right? 😉

      Reply

  19. […] December, I participated in a Community Network Meme hosted by Tom Baker from Morning Erection. It was a ton of fun, so when he said he was going to do […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

