Not-a-diet week something-or-other: Making it happen

When I first started this not-a-diet in August, I had a really pretty plan. I was going to post an update every week, complete with pictures. After I had lost a significant amount of weight, I would be able to scroll through those pictures and actually see the progress. I would have this beautiful, consistent documentation of everything week by week.

But apparently, life is just not quite so neat. Which suits me just fine. I’ve always been an organized chaos kind of person. The organized part is optional, of course.

I’m a part of a group on Facebook that is partaking in a 90 day goal challenge. We’ve each set up daily, weekly, monthly and long-term goals for ourselves. We get points for completing each goal and at the end of 90 days, we’ll see what percentage we’ve completed.

I am just over one week into my challenge, and I’m doing fabulously so far. I have 10 goals every day and have hit 8-9 of them each day. The downside? The 1-2 that I didn’t hit were eating well and exercising. I was uber productive all week long with work, family stuff and household thing, but I was stretched to my limits and had very few spare minutes in my days.

My breakfast this morning: Peppers, onions, asparagus, cucumbers, mushrooms, broccoli, crunched up bacon and a little bit of parmesan cheese

Today, I went grocery shopping. For the first time in weeks, I stocked up on produce, came home and chopped everything up. I now have a fridge fully stocked with veggies that are quick to grab for snacks or cooking. I ate healthy today. However, I also only worked about half of the hours that I usually do – which, of course, is going to cost me money. Still, I think I can make this happen once a week.

I also picked up a dozen or so Lean Cuisine meals. I know that anything processed is not exactly healthy, but I just don’t always (or often) have the time to make healthy meals and I figure this is a lot better than having a mountain dew and chips for breakfast (which was what I did all last week).

Slowly, but surely, I am figuring out what works for me. It’s trial and error . . . and there has been a lot of error . . . But I feel like I’m getting somewhere, so I still call this a success.

The exercise thing is still an issue. Honestly, I just can’t handle it right now . . . and “can’t” is not a word I use lightly. The pain in my back is unbearable sometimes. And I know that it has a lot to do with the weight. My plan is to just get myself up and moving more frequently – even if it’s just around the block, or hell, around the house a few times, but to mostly focus on diet.

I am damn near positive that once I lose 20-ish pounds, there will be a huge difference in the pain. When I was around 290-295, I worked on my feet for 12+ hours a day and I felt nowhere near the kind of pain I feel now. Realizing this just makes me more determined to reach that 299 short-term goal!

Now let’s see how well I can stick to a healthy food plan AND remain productive in all the other areas!

10 responses to this post.

  1. Wow! You’re breakfast looks so yummy! I eat cereal every morning, mostly because I am too lazy to get up early enough to fix anything else. 🙂

    “Now let’s see how well I can stick to a healthy food plan AND remain productive in all the other areas!” You can do it!!! 🙂 Good luck!

    Reply

    • I sleep in the day time, so when i eat breakfast at 8am, it’s after being up all night. I’m too lazy to do much of anything when I first wake up!

      I LOVE grilled veggies . . . I could eat them all day 🙂 The pain is getting all the veggies cut, but once that’s done, it’s easy to just throw everything into a pan!

      Thank you so much for your encouragement! I really, really appreciate it!

      Reply

  2. I agree – that looks like a delish breakfast!
    Eating well is so difficult, especially when you’re busy (and this time of year is SO busy).
    But I am so impressed w/ your chopping up things. I have been trying to stick with doing that in my house, but it does require discipline on my part. We DO eat so much more of the produce if I get all that hard work done from the get-go.
    You can do it, Dayle. You have such a great attitude and it is so impressive that you are willing to share all your ups and downs – and inspiring, as well. Hang in there for the sake of your back- I know that kind of pain is some of the worst kind in that it makes everything so hard to do. But you are one tough cookie and I know you can do it!!

    Reply

    • Thank you so much, Anne!

      The chopping is a pita, but so worth it! I need to get back to disciplining myself to do it. For a while, I was right on top of it every week, but for the past month or so, I’ve been really lax.

      Good luck getting yourself disciplined too! You’re absolutely right, soooo much more of the produce is eaten when it’s pre-chopped!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Karen on December 15, 2011 at 1:17 am

    Dayle, My physical therapist uses an eliptical bicycle, one that you sit in and strap your feet too, and set the machine, it pedals for you, it is used by physical therapists for people with back pain – they sell them at costco I think for about $300, they say cycling is easier ie less painful, for people with back problems than walking. You could even easily write while doing it.
    That breakfast looks yummy!!!! I have a great recipe for you if you like avacado!
    I happen to adore fresh veggies and salads. I would buy and chop all at once, tons of containers in fridge, and two huge yummy salads a day…add shrimp for a real treat…Karen

    Reply

    • Thank you, Karen!

      The elliptical sound perfect! I’m definitely going to start looking into one. It may take a bit before I can afford it, but it sounds like it will definitely be worth it. Thank you so much for the suggestion!

      Reply

  4. I know what you mean about pain when you exercise…just cleaning the house this past week has been killing my body…and that’s scary too cause I feel like I’m still so young to be in so much pain!
    Good luck with your goals, you are definitely inspiring me to want to get up and around and do a little more each day…:)

    Reply

    • I feel the same way, Sharon. 32 is way too young to feel like this! I think washing dishes is my most painful chore . . . and well, I just can’t vacuum at all! Kes knows that’s his job!

      Thank you! I think my motto for this week is – every little bit helps!

      Reply

  5. wow, you are a great cook. Home made meals are the best especially when we make it for others and they love it as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

