Sunday Sharing: Progress, fluffyButts, Philly cheesesteaks, and more

So, I’m back with a sharing post! Woohoo! I can’t promise that I’m going to manage to do this every week, but I am going to try. I’ve been *mostly* keeping up with reading my favorite bloggers’ posts, though I have not been commenting much (if at all). If your posts come to my email in their entirety, I have a better shot of reading them. If they only come with lil’ blurbs, it becomes more difficult to access on my phone while I’m traveling or lying in bed or chopping vegetables! But I’m trying, promise 🙂

Sharon still believes in Santa Claus and in the true meaning of Christmas. I, for one, completely agree!

Joianne, my sister-in-awesomeness, went through weight loss surgery over the summer. Check out her latest amazing results! Joi, you are an inspiration!

I recently stumbled onto Beyond Willpower’s blog and have found another source of inspiration there. She recently wrote about “progress not perfection”, which as many of you know, is one of my favorite mottos!

Alexandra’s recent post about an excursion into the woods with her family reminded me of how sometimes when I’m forced kicking and screaming to do something I don’t want to do, I end up having the best time ever.

Samantha provided an interesting perspective as she described what it’s like to be a Chinese-Canadian living in Peru.

Caroline, as always, has been reviewing some amazing children’s books, but this one, about A Chanukah Noel, particularly intrigued me.

Erik is another favorite children’s book reviewer of mine (have I mentioned that he’s 9?!). He recently broke away from his book reviews to share his experiences at a Lego Robotics Tournament.

Chris helps rescue some of the cutest pups ever! Check out one of her adorable “FluffyButts” here!

Judy is my favorite blogger who writes about blogging. I think I also connect to her posts because she’s a teacher and she draws a lot of parallels between teaching and writing/blogging. Her recent advice about writing a post your readers will remember was incredibly insightful.

Paula highlighted some of her best posts from 2011. I had already read most of these and definitely agree with her choices!

I am way behind on Melissa’s blog, but I really enjoyed her recent post about her feelings regarding forgiving and forgetting.

Tom (remember Tom from the Community Network Meme?) recently wrote about something near and dear to my heart – Philly cheesesteaks! Though I disagree with his statement that “authentic Philadelphia cheesesteaks use Cheez Whiz” (cause, well, they just don’t – it’s a choice, but not one anyone I know chooses 😛 ), his recipe was right on the money!

I was happy to read that Anita is getting back into writing. In a recent post, she shared about an author she came across through her writing endeavors, one who “fires her up”.

Jared admits to falling behind on writing, something I think we have all been able to relate to at some point or another!

20 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for mentioning my blog 🙂 (and me 🙂 )
    Erik

    Reply

  2. you are soo awesome!

    Reply

  3. Sunday sharing is a great idea! Just had to state for the record… I do not believe that cheez whiz makes a cheesesteak; every place I went to do research before posting my recipe stated that an authentic cheesesteak is made with that crap.

    I admit I didn’t spend enough time in the post refuting the statement but I hope my recipe spoke for itself. After all it was Iron Cook Carl who helped me with it! I love the attention anyway. It’s great to be mentioned here or anywhere for that matter!

    There’s no such thing as bad publicity. I don’t agree with that, but how often do we get the chance to use a popular quote in everyday language? Thank you Dayle!

    Reply

    • Hehe . . . It was like 8am after a night of no sleep when I posted this . . . I totally meant to point out that you weren’t condoning cheesesteaks with whiz. Sorry!

      I did a little research myself and apparently, many people think Philly cheesesteaks are supposed to come with Cheez Whiz. Maybe in certain parts of the city that’s true? Maybe it’s a South Philly thing (where Pat’s and Geno’s are)? ::shrug::

      At any rate, I totally agree with the point of view that Cheez Whiz does not belong on a cheesesteak! Cheez Whiz belongs on my fries, not my cheesesteak 😛

      Reply

  4. Thanks for the pingback! I’m glad to see you’re back!

    Reply

  5. Thanks for linking to me Dayle! I’m book-marking this so I can come back and check out all the other blogs. 🙂

    Reply

  6. You are so generous, Dayle! I’m going to check out some of these!

    Reply

    • Aw thanks, Anne! You need to start blogging more so that I can get you in here! (Though I did just notice two posts of yours that I somehow missed . . . I will be checking them out soon 🙂 )

      Reply

  7. Dayle – Your great posts remind me of what a generous spirit you are – and I am so grateful for your sweet support. Thanks as always – really loved this batch of blogs! -A

    Reply

  8. Thanks for mentioning my blog once again! 🙂
    I am hoping to get caught up with everyone else’s blogs after the holidays!

    Reply

  9. I like your new blog layout, very lovely!

    Reply

  10. Hugs! Thanks SO much for mentioning me here, Dayle! =) Sorry to get to this a little later than I would have liked — for some reason, it didn’t show up on my notifications this time! Super-ly appreciate it though. =)

    Happy week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

