Oh poor, neglected blog of mine

I didn’t realize it had been this long until I just read the date on my last post. I’m tired of saying that life’s been crazy. Of course, it’s crazy. I think it’s supposed to be.

I have thoughts and ideas and updates brewing and I’ll get them on the screen in front of me when they’re ready to leak from my head to my fingers to the keys.

In the meantime, I wrote this tonight . . . I’m not quite sure if it’s finished or not, but I wanted to throw it out there.

right there in black & white and still not real . . . intangible, distant, foreign . . .
whispered sounds have power to penetrate and still, they are far from my reach.
the lights go down, eyes are closed . . . and those thoughts . . .
those thoughts bring comfort.
reality brings fear.

insecurities plague me – how could I ever be good enough?
don’t recognize that face in the mirror and yet . . .
she is all too familiar – never quite enough, never perfect . . .
always broken, always damaged . . .
never loved.

crowded with faces and names and words
and I swim inside my own head . . . always alone.
screaming words they’ll never hear
crying tears they’ll never see
letting loose a rage they’ll never understand . . . 

16 responses to this post.

  1. You’re right, life’s suppose to be crazy. 🙂 And your poem – Wow! I like that line – I swim inside my own head. I feel like that a lot.

    Reply

    • Thank you, Paula!

      I swear, at least once a day I think, “I need to sit down and blog today” and then I just don’t! I think I’m jonzing for summer vacation!

      Reply

  2. Awesome poem Dayle but I hope that does not describe you…

    Reply

  3. Hi Dayle!
    I liked your poem… Sometimes I feel the same…But is better to cheer up and think about the good things in life, even the small ones 🙂

    Reply

  4. I love your poem. It brought tears to my eyes.

    Reply

  5. Dayle, I finally did the Meme!!!! It was fun–thanks for tagging me.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Karen Garnica on February 21, 2012 at 6:30 am

    lovely Dayle.

    Reply

  7. Great poem! I can definitely feel where you’re coming from!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

