Dinner with my daughter

We were supposed to go to an event at my daughter’s school last night. She was looking forward to it. I was (mostly) looking forward to it. We went last year and had fun. But I kind of wasn’t in the mood for socializing. My boyfriend’s out of town for the week and I fully admit that when it comes to most social situations, I am rather co-dependent. The whole social anxiety blah blah blah. But I made a promise to my daughter and I refused to break it.

As I was getting ready to pick my daughter up from the bus stop, I discovered my “out”. I’d give her a choice. So, when she got off the bus, I asked her if she would rather go to the school event or go out and have a mommy/daughter dinner. As expected, she chose the latter.

A mommy/daughter dinner meant shorter travel time. It meant not getting home nearly as late. It meant one bus instead of two. But, and so much more importantly, it meant time spent with just the two of us – no TV, no computer, nothing to distract either of us from each other. And it was pretty awesome.

Apparently, she was cold but didn't want to use her hood :p

We talked about her day at school. She aced a spelling test and a math test today. She had music class and they practiced for their spring play. It’s a play about statues. Hers is Egyptian. We talked about her friends and how everything was going with them. We talked about bullies and how it’s never, ever okay to bully someone . . . and how if she is ever bullied, she should always, always tell a trusted grown-up. We talked about what to do if one of her friends ever bullied someone else.

She’s a pretty smart lil’ kid.

We talked about musical instruments and she said she wanted to play piano. I asked if she wanted lessons. She said she did. I told her it would mean a lot of practicing. She changed her mind. I told her with baseball and soccer and karate going on, I wasn’t going to make her take on anything else, but to let me know if she wanted to.

I told her I could see her Mom-mom Janice in her. I thought about those mother/daughter breakfasts my mom and I would go to when I was a kid. I miss those.

We ate dinner and dessert. She had ice cream with rainbow jimmies. I had carrot cake. I showed her how to tip and told her why we tip and then we left. We played the animal game as we walked to the bus stop. We played the animal game on the bus. We played the animal game as we walked down the street. Before we played, I used my phone to look up animals that started with “X” so she couldn’t trick me this time.

It was just one dinner. We were only gone from the house for about an hour and a half, but it was a very significant hour and a half. I realized that I don’t get a lot of time like this with my daughter. We play games a lot. We go to baseball. We go to school events. We sing songs and dance. We talk while we play games and on the way to baseball and at school events and while we sing songs and dance . . . but we don’t often sit down, just the two of us, and have a conversation.

I need to work on that.

14 responses to this post.

  1. I loved this post Dayle!!!! Sounds like it was such a precious date. I too need to work on intentionally getting in those moments…I have lots of quantity but not always quality. I think you made a great choice 🙂

    Reply

  2. Great post Dayle! Sounds like the perfect date! 🙂

    Reply

  3. I need to work on this as well. As Lisa says – there’s lots of quantity — it’s just taking it and using it simple, meaningful ways as you did.
    And that pic of your daughter is so cute!

    Reply

    • Thanks, Anne! She almost wouldn’t let me take the picture. I usually have to sneak them in when she’s not looking . . . Of course, when she gets in her moods, she’ll have me taking pictures all night long! Such a finicky child! :p

      Reply

  4. That’s wonderful! I like to do the same with my daughters is something that they will treasure

    Reply

  5. A wonderful date, Dayle! Thanks for sharing!!!

    Reply

  6. There are so many wonderful parts to this story, but I want to point out what stood out the most to me. “I showed her how to tip and told her why we tip and then we left.” I know it’s silly, but I so admire you for teaching her this at a young age. When I was a child, when my family went out to dinner, sometimes we would ask about the bill. My dad always said “It’s none of your concern,” and mouthed the amount to my mom. We laugh about it now because we could read his lips. But when I grew up, I was terrible with money (I still kinda am). It’s so important to teach kids when they are young, to not only understand money, but to value it. Good job, Mom! 🙂

    Reply

    • Thanks, Jen! I can’t wait to start hearing stories about you and your lil’ one 🙂

      Those mother/daughter breakfasts I mentioned? That’s when my mom taught me how to tip. It amazes me how many people are just clueless about that. And of course, the former waitress in me makes sure to stress the importance even more!

      As for money in general, I really try! I can be really good with money when I have to be, but I don’t know how to save for anything. I don’t want Abby getting my bad habits! We went to Old Country Buffet on Friday night and she insisted on paying, so I gave her $20 and she carried it in her pocketbook and took care of everything! She was so excited. I love how the little things make such a huge impact 🙂

      Reply

  7. Sounds like you guys had a great time! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

