A new journal

I only wrote in my previous journal three times. I didn’t like it. It’s a bound book with a magnetic flap. I kept having to hold the flap down and it was a pain in the ass. So last night (Saturday night), I bought a new journal and so far, I like it.

I’m about 2/3 of the way through this Blogathon and I even have the rest of the month planned out. Yesterday, I was thinking about how a lot of my posts have been “lazy” in that I’ve done a lot of reposting and sharing things I wrote years ago instead of taking the time to write something new.

But those “lazy” posts have served an important purpose for me – particularly those that had me rummaging through my old journals and notebooks.

I’ve rekindled my passion for poetry – which was, of course, my first love. At 8 years old I didn’t just tell my mom I wanted to be a writer when I grew up, I told her I wanted to be a poet. I’ve found inspiration in the pages of my past. It’s pretty much awesome.

I’ve found other forms of inspiration as well – old stories, journal entries, letters to my mom after she died, letters to my dad after he stopped speaking to me, collages, and chalk pastels – all of it has helped me get back to that beautiful chaos – to let go of some of my perfectionist tendencies.

It’s okay if my words are messy and my thoughts disorganized. I can sort it all out later. What matters is the passion. Do I mean it? Do I feel it? Does it penetrate me? Can I feel it crawling through my skin, itching to find its way to the page? Am I writing just to write or am I writing because I need to be free?

Those are the things I need to focus on. The rest is just editing.

7 responses to this post.

  1. I love this, Dayle. I’ve thought of myself as a writer for a long time, but will forever struggle with poetry. I so admire you and others who can turn the chaos into something so fluid. And I agree with you, those posts aren’t lazy at all. I like to think that everything I write means something, even if I don’t quite know what, at that moment.

    “The rest is just editing.” Love that line!

    Reply

    • Thank you, Jen!

      I think I’ve always preferred poetry because it doesn’t have to make sense! And I like that it can mean different things to different people and I don’t need a clear beginning, middle, and end and it’s okay if I don’t title it (I suck at titles) and I can be creative with commas and ellipses (I screw up on commas all the item and I have a tendency to use ellipses rather liberally) and I can always go back and play around with it and change and then make something completely new from something old.

      Basically, I like the lack of structure 🙂

      Reply

  2. I just dropped in to say hello Dayle. How have you been? I hope good and enjoy the new journal!

    Reply

    • Thanks for stopping by, Tom! I’ve doing well, thanks! How have you been?!

      I know I still owe you 2 questions and I promise, I’m getting to them this weekend!

      Reply

      • I’ve been okay. Yes, I look forward to those questions. I plan on emailing the questions to everyone on Monday so you are right on time. Your spot is still vacant. You can tell me also which one you want for July and the one for December.

        Reply

  3. Dayle – I so agree – it’s the passion – which is why you need a journal you LOVE, a PEN you love, and a PLACE to write that you love. Can’t wait to see more from you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

