WordCount Blogathon Theme Post Day #2

Today is theme day #2 for the Blogathon and we’re supposed to write on the prompt, “If I started blogging today, I would . . .” I’ve been thinking about this for the past few weeks and I’ve thought, “Well, maybe I’d have some kind of schedule and I’d write about certain things on certain days or I’d organize my blog more so that I posted at the same time every day or I’d make sure to have pictures with every post” and so on and so forth.

The truth is, I wouldn’t do any of those things because they’re all things I keep saying I’m going to start doing now and well, I don’t do them. The truth is, if I started blogging today, I would do everything the same way I’ve already been doing it.

That’s not to say I’m doing it perfectly. There lots of things I would love to do differently. I would really love to get more organized. I’ve been really proud of how I’ve been able to stay ahead with my posts this month, but I know I’m going to get right back to my beloved chaos when it’s over.

I love blogging and I love the whole blogging world. Ideally, I would be much more involved with it. But that’s not so much a matter of what I would do differently now knowing what I know – it’s a matter of not having the time.

So, instead I’ll write this –

If I didn’t have to work or take care of my kid or pay bills or make meals or clean a house or go to doctor’s appointments or go grocery shopping or wash and dry and fold and put away clothes, I would write a blog post every day. I would schedule them in advance and they’d all post at the same time of day. I’d always include a picture with my post (even if I had to spend an hour searching for the perfect picture). And there would be a theme so maybe on Mondays I would write about politics and Tuesdays I’d write about family and Wednesdays I’d write poetry and so on and so forth.

I’d respond to all of my comments the same day. I’d read the blogs I follow every day and comment on all of their posts and I’d organize a blogging conference where I could meet all of my fellow bloggers and we’d talk about what to write and why we write and how to use social media and why we use social media.

Then we’d relax after a day of conferencing by going to the bar and I’d get drunk on Long Island iced teas and we’d all have a blast and then I’d go home and blog about it.

That’s what I’d do.

11 responses to this post.

  1. That sounds like a good day!

    Reply

  2. I would could also enjoy a Long Island iced tea after a long day of conferencing and blogging. Too bad life has to get in the way. Nice post.

    Reply

  3. Posted by hubbard3 on May 23, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    Love, Love, Love it! 🙂

    Reply

  4. 🙂 This reminds me of the question – “What would you do if you only had xx amount of time to live?” And I’ve always had the same response that you have just had – I’d really do things the same, because yes, ideally, if it were a perfect world you’d get some major stuff done. But it’s not — and so then, I think you are certainly covering the most important stuff your blog, so you’re set!

    Reply

  5. Posted by susieklein on May 24, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    Lol! I agree! We would do what we are already doing because that’s what we did! haha! And from one who is there; more free time does not guarantee that it will be quality time all the time.

    Reply

    • Haha Susie!

      You have me thinking about your post from GoodBlogs about how not to have a freelance career 🙂

      And you’re absolutely right! When I first quit my “real” job a year and a half ago, I didn’t work for 4 months or so and I don’t think I did any kind of writing at all in that time :p

      Reply

  6. […] really enjoyed getting a little taste of blogging organization. As I mentioned in this post, I’m sure I’ll go right back to the chaos, but it was nice to let my neurotic side take over […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

