Some ramblings from my journal

I’m still working on getting in the habit of writing in a journal again. I’d like to make this a daily endeavor at some point. One step at a time. One step at a time.

I have been writing in a notebook as well. My journal is more for trains of thought – unplanned writing. My notebook is for writing about specific topics and keeping notes for things I want to write about and for scribbles of poetry.

Whether I’ve been writing in my journal or my notebook, I’ve enjoyed the act of putting pen to paper. I like the way the words look in my own handwriting. It makes me sad to know that so many schools are no longer teaching cursive. I know it’s not a necessary skill, but I think pretty looking words are good for the soul.

I wonder if journals and notebooks will be become more difficult to find as the digital world grows. I was disturbed last weekend because I had to make a trip to a mall and it was ridiculously difficult to find one with a book store. How can a mall not have a book store?

I fear the loss of real books – the ones with pages and binding. And I fear the loss of journals and notebooks and handwriting.

I miss cameras with film and the anticipation of developing your pictures. I miss physical photo albums and getting doubles so you can share with friends and family.

Do you remember leaving the house and having no way to contact anyone until you arrived at your destination? I miss that too – the quiet.

I miss watching infomercials at 3am because they were the only thing on TV.

I miss Tower Records and the stations for listening to CDs. And making mixed tapes. And replaying the same song over and over so you could write down the lyrics.

I miss going crazy because I couldn’t remember the name of an actor or song or TV show and then jolting up at 3am just to say it out loud because it finally came to me – or better yet, waking up to use the bathroom and finding the answer written on a piece of paper taped to the mirror because my Uncle Tom remembered after I went to sleep.

I love the gadgets and the incredible benefits of the digital age (hell, I wouldn’t have my job without the internet), but sometimes I just miss those little things that my daughter will never understand.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sherrysf on May 26, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    I miss the simplicity, especially with electronics.

    Reply

    • I love when the power goes out and we’re forced to play board games and read books and just talk to each other instead of watching TV, playing video games, or putzing around online! We do try to have board game time several nights a week, but I admit that I rarely out of arm’s reach from cell phone.

      Reply

  2. I miss all those things too! This post brought back so many memories. 🙂

    “It makes me sad to know that so many schools are no longer teaching cursive. I know it’s not a necessary skill, but I think pretty looking words are good for the soul.” – I agree!

    Reply

    • After I posted this, I thought of so many other things I could add to the list . . . I might have to extend this at some point!

      And I’m so happy my daughter’s school still teaching cursive!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Karen on May 26, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    me too Dayle, I miss vinyl record albums, I miss the early show, the late show and the late late show, I miss turning on the tv, I don’t like all the electrical cords and boxes attached to everything, I miss the photo albums, and I worry about the absence of books, I did not know some schools had given up writing, I had no idea

    Reply

    • When I was my daughter’s age, I had a little black and white TV in my bedroom – dials, no buttons and rabbit ears . . . I would watch reruns of All in the Family and Mama’s Family. I thought it was the most awesome thing ever!

      Here’s an article I found about schools debating whether or not they should teach cursive – http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/03/30/cursive-handwriting-instr_n_842069.html

      What I love though is that my daughter *wants* to learn cursive! She’s been practicing at home on her own (and is doing pretty well too) and it’s all because she “wants to write fancy like mommy.” 🙂

      Reply

  4. Posted by Karen on May 26, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    how will the children read old letters, read history that is written in cursev

    Reply

    • I agree with you completely. There is such art and value to actually holding that history in your hands. Imagine cleaning out your grandparents house and finding old love letters only to not be able to read them!

      Reply

  5. Posted by Anne Katherine on May 26, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    Sometimes when I forget my cell phone I experience such a wave of liberty…and think that, you know, that’s the way things used to be. Things COULD wait until someone got to a landline. And you’re right – it is a little piece of quiet that you really can’t have if you have your phone with you.

    And I am an amateur handwriting analyst, and it makes me sad that you don’t even get to see people’s handwriting anymore. My husband used to bring home checks from his business and I would look at them and tell him personality characteristics of his customers… I just love looking at handwriting. And for me coming up with my own handwriting style went hand-in-hand with growing up and maturing… None of that can come through in texting. Very sad.

    And that uncle Tom memory— wow, what a nugget of love there.
    And it does make you think – because I think it’s good for our brains to go through that jogging….but no more – you can just google it….

    Great post, Dayle 🙂

    Reply

    • Thank you, Anne!

      “Sometimes when I forget my cell phone I experience such a wave of liberty”

      I never forget my cell phone, but that’s how I feel when it dies on me! 🙂 . . . Amazing how I would never make the choice to leave it at home though. It’s like this sick love/hate thing!

      That is so awesome that you analyze handwriting! I would love for you to do mine sometime (or would it not work as well since you already know me? . . . I could send you a few samples and not tell you which one was mine 😛 hehe).

      “I think it’s good for our brains to go through that jogging”

      Yup! Me too! Now, I’ll sit there and hit up IMDB on my phone *while* I’m watching a show because I want to know what other shows someone was in. Or I’ll Google a lyric to a song instead of listening to the radio for hours just to hear it again so I know where it came from! ::sigh::

      Reply

      • Posted by Anne Katherine on May 29, 2012 at 8:51 pm

        You are welcome to send me your HW samples. It would help if you sent others as well, as yes, it is harder for me to do someone I know. I do best when I don’t know someone at all. I’ll send you my address!

        Reply

Leave a Reply

