stripped and barren

Lying naked with the world barely touching my toes –
just another phase of finding what I really need
is what makes me bleed

touching the sky with numb fingertips
and tasting the vulgarity of the air
with an empty mouth.

Lying naked alone –
and yet not.
I find it hard to tell you,
I find it hard to take

all the rhymes and reasons
and twisted lessons of the universe –
perverse as they continue to rape my soul.

The world –
the world and its irony
and dirty pellets of pleasure and perfection.
My body’s aching, hold me again
burn through the shell
and bring life to what once was dead –
you linger on my tongue and it’s painful –
tied up and twisted, the way I like to be.

Sounds and syllables vibrate through me –
words you never said but penetrated me anyway,
Do what I say and I’ll make you okay, drive them away.”

Still they haunt me –
always, always, always with their screeching rage –
those damn harpies
always, always, always there –
with their nine-inch nails and little fascist panties
they play and taunt,
spin me round and round and round
till I’m too dizzy to speak.

Dye my eyes and call me pretty,
fuck my mind with shards of glass
till the pieces are no longer recognizable
and they’ll say to me,
You’re ready for greatness,
all edited and weightless
.”

And you stand there watching –
but not –
oblivious, as is your way
and I plead with my eyes –
you gaze through me while what’s inside dies.

Songs sampled:

just another phase of finding what I really need
is what makes me bleed
– Volcano by Damien Rice

I find it hard to tell you,
I find it hard to take
 – Mad World by Tears for Fears

My body’s aching, hold me again – Paradise by Shariff

tied up and twisted, the way I like to be – Crash Into Me by Dave Matthews Band

Do what I say and I’ll make you okay, drive them away – Between the Bars by Elliott Smith

with their nine-inch nails and little fascist panties – Precious Things by Tori Amos

Dye my eyes and call me pretty – Laid by James

You’re ready for greatness,
all edited and weightless
– Princess by Matt Nathanson

Photo Credit

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anne Katherine on May 27, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    “tasting the vulgarity of the air”
    “pellets of pleasure and perfection”
    “you linger on my tongue” — these lines I really liked (all are very strong)
    I liked the way I could hear the songs through this piece.
    A very sad place for this narrator to be, but I can certainly relate. The emotions are well expressed here.

    Reply

    • Thank you!

      I’ve always had a love for song lyrics and I love taking pieces of my favorite ones and twisting them around into something else.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

