The world according to you

Do you know who you see when you look at me?
distorted and jumbled –
all twisted and deformed –
not quite what I’m supposed to be
but really good at playing the part . . .
your head cocked to one side,
eye brows drawn in tight –
Does it surprise you to know who I really am?
you see nothing more than fingernail scratches in marble.
not quite making sense,
your mind fills in the blanks
with assumptions about my reality –
new or old, you still can’t see –
my jagged edges –
perceptions blurred
you see the world according to you
and how I fit – or don’t . . .
it’s all illusions –
Do you know who you see when you look at me?
damaged goods or personified strength –
neither quite fits –
but neither is important either
in the world according to you –
no matter –
I don’t blame you for who and what you see . . .
I only see the world according to me –

Photo Credit

6 responses to this post.

  1. Love the new layout!!

    Reply

    • Thanks 🙂 . . . I figured out what I don’t like about it – the date doesn’t show up at the top of each post – which is really not that big of a deal, but we’ll see if it annoys me enough to change it 😛

      Reply

  2. Posted by Anne Katherine on June 6, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    Love this – makes me think about all the assumptions we make daily about people based on surface things we know about them.
    And I doubt the last line is you — I’m pretty sure you consider the world from many different angles! But that’s just YOU! So maybe it is right!

    Reply

  3. Posted by sarah mae on July 18, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    Sends out a positive message for those dealing with people who don’t understand them or their ways. It doesn’t matter! People should never try to force change onto anyone else. Only we can make ourselves happy. Only we decide what we believe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

