Why I won’t vote third party

I’ve never really considered myself a Democrat, a liberal yes, but not a Democrat. I don’t think the two are synonymous. I would be a registered Independent, but I’d like to be able to vote in the Democratic primary. I’ve voted third party in local elections and I strongly advocate that other people seek out and know their local third party candidates and consider doing the same.

I have not, however, ever voted for a third party candidate in a presidential election (there haven’t really been many – this will be my 4th). While I don’t consider it a “wasted” vote, I do think it is an unwisely used vote.

Like many other people, I don’t think the two-party system is ideal. Like many other people, I’d like to see a prominent third party . . . or better yet, a complete dissolution of the party system. Unfortunately, that’s not going to happen any time soon. I think it has the potential to happen in my lifetime, especially considering the continuing advancements in the reach of social media, but it’s still very far off.

The sad fact is that a third party candidate will not win the presidential election . . . primarily because most people have no clue who the third party candidates are. I took a quiz online a month or so ago. It said I agreed very heavily with Green Party candidate Jill Stein. I had never heard of her, so I did some research and sure enough, I really liked the vast majority of her policies. But I won’t vote for her.

I need to look at the real choices the lie in front of me, and as unjust as that might be, my choices are Obama or Romney. One of them will win this election.

We hear the phrase “voting for the lesser of two evils” when talking about our presidential election. I can honestly say that I am not voting for a lesser of two evils. I’m not even voting against one candidate rather than for the other.

I’m voting for ownership of my own body. I’m voting for the right of my gay and lesbian friends to get married and raise families. I’m voting for their right (and mine) to not be fired because of sexual orientation or gender identity. I’m voting for all citizens of the United States to have affordable access to health care so that nobody has to die because of a lack of health insurance or go broke because of medical bills. I’m voting for cleaner energy. I’m voting for the rights of people and not of corporations. And I’m voting for the candidate who offers me the best chance to see these things or continue to see these things happen.

Of course I don’t agree with everything President Obama has done. I don’t think a person on this planet exists who I would agree with 100%. I don’t think one exists that you would either. But I’m not voting for a lesser of evils. I’m voting for my future. I’m voting for my daughter’s future.

Photo Credit

2 responses to this post.

  1. A-freakin’-men.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

