Baby Steps

I’ve had arthritis in my right knee since I was 17 years old. I fell down the stairs at school and landed on my knee. For the most part, it hasn’t been too bad. It would hurt more whenever it rained or if it was really cold . . . and then every so many years, I’d re-injure it doing something stupid, but it never affected my daily movement. Until about a year ago.

Of course, bad knees also run in my family. Over the past year, the arthritis in my right knee has gotten worse and now I have it in my left knee as well. My weight doesn’t help and neither does the fact that my daily life is not as active as a freelance writer/editor as it was when I worked out of the house.

Last Spring, I started walking with a cane. I don’t need it quite as much for general walking. My normal walking pace still has me passing people half my weight and age. But stairs are pretty much hell. I haven’t been able to walk up and down stairs normally for several months. I take them one at a time and I’m pretty damn slow.

I’ve been working on losing weight because while I will always have knee issues, I know my weight contributes to them. However, I’ve also been spending some time over the past few weeks focusing solely on my knees . . . little things mostly . . . forcing myself to go up and down the stairs more frequently, bending and stretching my legs while I’m sitting down working, and so forth.

Baby Steps

Not the actual steps :p

This morning, I took the train downtown and I had to walk up several stairs once I got off the train. Like always, I braced myself for the tedious climb, for the pain, and for my inevitable apologies for being so damn slow. Like always, I took the first couple of steps normally, just to see if I could . . . only this time, I did it without pain.

I don’t know exactly how many steps it was to the street, but it was a lot . . . and I walked up every single one of them at a normal pace. By the time I reached the top, my right knee was a little sore, but it was so worth it.

It may not seem like a big deal to many, but it was so wonderful to get even that small piece of normalcy back . . . that piece of progress. . . . It’s worth so much more to me than any number on a scale!

Photo Credit

15 responses to this post.

  1. go dayle go! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Karen on December 18, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    that’s huge Dayle, I have arthritis in my knee cap, and problems with the connective tissues, wanted to mention that it was pointed out to me that weak hips and muscles in that region many times cause more knee pain, I am looking for exercises to strengthen my hips now as I think that will help as well.

    Reply

  3. Positive attitude, great! I have had several knee surgeries, have arthritis and am likely to need a knew knee within 10 years and I am only 41, I empathise with you. It doesn’t stop me (yet!) !

    Reply

  4. This is awesome Dayle! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by Christopher Paulinski on December 20, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    I’m so happy to hear that. Keep up the good work. Merry Christmas.

    Reply

  6. So glad for you. Arthritis is the pits, but I, too, admire your positive attitude in spite of it all. You are an inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

