Random acts of kindness

Random acts of kindnessThanks to technology and social media, the world has become a very, very tiny place. Hundreds or even thousands of miles away something horrific happens and we feel it. Thanks to (often unethical) media coverage, we’re right there when it happens. We feel it in our own souls and we react. We want to make sense of it. We want to make it better. And our humanity manifests a little stronger. The more horrific the event, the more we want to do . . . as if we need to prove to ourselves that the world is not this deteriorated wretched place . . . that we’re better than this.

In the days following the tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary, the need emerged in so many of us to honor those innocent lives ripped from this world way too early. “26 random acts of kindness” went viral quickly. Give back . . . show the community that there is still humanity left in most of us . . . show our children, our world, our gods, and ourselves that we, as the human race, can do so much better.

There is beauty and kindness and love and joy and compassion within us. And I value and praise every effort any of us makes to demonstrate that to the world. I only wish that it didn’t take these horrific events to make us appreciate and reach out to one another. I only wish that those random acts of kindness could become the everyday norm, not just something to do be done in the wake of a tragedy.

I am so far from perfect. I rush through life too fast sometimes and forget about the world around me. I can have difficulty controlling my anger. My social anxiety causes me to hold back at times I’d like to be friendlier. . . . But I am making a conscious effort to be kind, helpful, generous, loving, and compassionate. I am making a conscious effort to do whatever I can every day to help those around me . . . because that is what humanity should be.

We can start with 26 random acts of kindness, but please don’t stop there. Don’t forget to continue seeing the world outside of yourself once you check off number 26. Give what you can when you can. No one is keeping a tally. No one is measuring you against anyone else. Sometimes the smallest gestures can make the biggest difference in someone’s day.

Photo Credit

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Karen on December 25, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    It’s my hope that everyone would be kind each day also Dayle, I hope and think it’s appropriate for all who care to sign petitions, call their congressmen, call their senators to ask for a ban on assault weapons except for the military and for special swat teams on police depts. It’s my hope that Americans will try to immediately prevent another tragedy. I think the victims of assault weapon violence deserve that.

    Reply

  2. Great reminder, Dayle!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

