WWW Wednesday – January 2, 2013

In addition to blogging every day in 2013, another one of my not-really-a-New-Year’s-resolution-that-just-happens-to-fall-right-around-the-first-of-the-year goals is to read more, well, specifically, to read more books . . . real ones with pages and binding.

I used to read constantly. I had to buy my books 3 or 4 at a time because I finished them so quickly. That was when I rode 4+ buses and trains every day. Now that I work from home and rarely ride public transportation, I always seem to find something more important to do (or I’m lazy and putz around online instead).

I was going to attempt at least 1 book every week, but instead, I’m just going to make a point of reading daily. To help with that, I’m stealing the WWW Wednesday from my friend Sharon (psst – she’s also doing a post a day for 2013 . . . in fact, she’s the one who inspired me to go for it!).

It’s pretty simple. Each week, I’ll share what I’m currently reading, what I recently finished reading, and what I plan to read next. Please, feel free to share what you’re reading in the comments and of course, I’m always open to recommendations!

WWW Wednesays

The Time Keeper

 

What are you currently reading? The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom — I’m about half-way through and I’m a bit disappointed so far. But I’m not giving up. I’ve read two other books by Mitch Albom – Tuesdays with Moorie and The Five People You Meet in Heaven, both of which were brilliant. I’m still holding out hope for this one!

 

 

Retribution

 

What did you recently finish reading? It’s been at least a few months since I read a book cover to cover. I think the last one was Retribution by Sherrilyn Kenyon. It’s part of the Dark Hunter series, a.k.a. my brain candy.

 

 

The AlchemistWhat do you think you’ll read next? The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho — I have been trying to read this book for about 6 months. It’s interesting and I’ve enjoyed what I’ve read, but something always happens . . . I switch pocketbooks and misplace the book in the process or it accidentally gets mixed in with books I’m packing up or something else ridiculous like that. But I’m determined to read it! I had the pleasure of writing an article about Paulo Coelho about a year ago. I didn’t actually get to interview him because he was in the process of releasing Aleph, but his PR people were extremely helpful. He’s a fascinating man and I’m looking forward to reading this book and his others.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Stick with the Alchemist!!! I loved it! I got a little tired of Mitch Albom’s books. Like you, I read those first two, then got bored. I am in the middle of something I can’t remember the name of right now. It’s too early in the morning. LOL!!!

    Reply

    • I read “Tuesdays with Morrie” my freshman year of college . . . just weeks before a dear friend’s mom (who I also considered a dear friend) passed from ALS, so the book was a bit personal for me. I read “The Five People You Meet in Heaven” just a few years ago. I haven’t even tried the others, but yeah, this one’s kind of boring :/

      I haven’t read anything negative about “The Alchemist” and I adore Paulo Coelho (I’ve read his blog a few times and watched some of his YouTube videos), so I will definitely stick with it!!!

      Reply

  2. Since you’re on Goodreads, you can join me in the 2013 Reading Challenge too if you want! You just put in how many books you want to read in 2013 and once you read each book, mark it on Goodreads as read…..AND you can change the number if you need to anytime. 🙂 You can just do a small number if you want!

    Reply

    • I’ll definitely check that out! Thanks!

      I’m trying to get more involved with Goodreads too. I added a bunch of books that are on my reading list and I plan on rating/writing reviews as I finish each books. We’ll see how that goes 🙂

      Reply

  3. currently just finishing up Lolita, and have not decided what to read next. . . i like this idea of WWW. . .might have to adopt it on my blog as well. . .

    Reply

    • Fabulous! I hope you do 🙂

      I put Lolita on my reading list many, many years ago, but I never got around to it . . . let me know if you think it’s worth adding to my list again!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

