WWW Wednesday – January 9, 2013

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Feel free to share your answers in the comments or on your own blog (please leave the link if you do that!).

WWW Wednesays

The AlchemistWhat are you currently reading? The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho – I mentioned last week that I’ve been trying to read this book for several months because I always seem to misplace it. But I’m determined to finish it this time! I’m enjoying it so far and I’m looking forward to seeing where it goes.

Love this quote from the book — ‎”[Books] tell their incredible stories at the time when you want to hear them. But when you’re talking to people, they say some things that are so strange that you don’t know how to continue the conversation.”

 

The Time KeeperWhat did you recently finish reading? The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom – I struggled to finish this and I wasn’t thrilled with it at all. The point was belabored and it came off a bit preachy. I don’t remember getting that same vibe from his other books . . . I’m not sure if that’s because they were truly better books or if it’s just because I was at a different place when I read them. I read Tuesdays with Moorie over 10 years ago, right around the time a good friend’s mom (and someone I considered a dear friend as well) died from ALS. I read The Five People You Meet in Heaven about 4 years ago and I recall that one being profoundly simple and not all preachy, but I remember very few specifics.

I have a feeling I’d have enjoyed this book much more in high school.

Hocus Pocus

 

What do you think you’ll read next? Hocus Pocus by Kurt Vonnegut – This book has been sitting on my book shelf for at least a year. I’m not sure what’s taken me so long to open this one up. It’s been a while since I read anything by Vonnegut, so I’m looking forward to it.

25 responses to this post.

  1. Currently….. I read blogs online, and newspapers offline. I write song lyrics, blog entries, reviews, and I love writing my heart out in a diary.

    Recently…. I reread my Black Beauty series that I’ve had since 1981. I want to give them to my youngest daughter. She’s 12, she would love these books right now. But I’m afraid her father would destroy them simply because they were mine for 32 years. I also signed my name in each book when I was 11 years old.

    Soon…. I’ll have to see what the thrift store has in stock as far as books are concerned. I know a place that sells them for 25 cents.

    Reply

    • I *love* used book stores/thrift stores for books! I like to imagine who read the book before me 🙂 There’s this awesome used book store in Center City. You can volunteer there for store credit. It was awesome!

      I have to find the link, but there’s a site where you can swap books for free . . . you have to pay for shipping (only one way though) . . . not as good as 25 cents, but still way better than the cost at a regular book store!

      That’s so sweet about your Black Beauty set . . . definitely hold onto them until you’re sure they’d be safe giving to your daughter. It’s sad you can’t just give them to her now, but it will be such a wonderful gift to pass down when you can. . . . Any chance you can find a cheap used set to give her now so she can read them and save the sentimental set for later?

      Reply

  2. I still need to read something by Kurt Vonnegut. Everyone raves about his work. Maybe I’ll look him up next time I’m at the library. :]

    My WWW Wednesday

    Reply

    • His style is not for everyone, but those who love one of his books usually love them all 🙂

      The first for many is Slaughterhouse-Five, but I recommend Breakfast of Champions first!

      Reply

  3. People really love ‘The Alchemist.’ I read it and wasn’t terribly impressed. . .but maybe that’s me. Am I not deep enough!?!
    🙂
    I’ll be interested in your take on ‘Hocus Pocus.’ My husband likes Vonnegut and like you, it’s been a long time since I’ve read anything by him.

    http://wellreadfish.blogspot.com/2013/01/whacha-reading.html

    Reply

    • I was surprised to see such varying reviews on Goodreads. I may be a bit biased going into this because I wrote a piece on Paulo Coelho for a magazine a while ago and I just fell in love with him. I’ve never read any of his books, but his overall outlook on life is fabulous . . . I’ve enjoyed his videos and blog posts, so I’m not sure how or if that will sway my view of this book!

      Reply

  4. I read the Alchemist years ago…sadly though I don’t really remember it so I’m not sure I liked it all that much. But I know many who love it and so I hope that you are as well

    My WWW Wednesday is here.

    Reply

  5. I just finished reading Rules of Civility by Amor Towles. SUCH a fantastic read–it was one of those I hated finishing because I would miss the experience of reading it for the first time. The heroine, a brilliant, bookish, strong female, was so well-written that I was surprised to find out Amor is a man. Set in Manhattan in 1938–love, loss, literature–fabulous!

    Reply

    • Thanks for coming by and sharing, Ginny!! I’ll definitely check it out and add it to my ever-growing list!

      How are you?! Are you still blogging? I’ve been horrible about reading others’ blogs, but I’m getting much better now that I’m more attentive to my own!

      Reply

  6. I read the Alchemist a long time ago, but I remember enjoying it. My last Vonnegut was The Galapagos one, so weird and awesome. Hope you enjoy Hocus Pocus!
    http://lostinsidethecovers.wordpress.com/2013/01/08/www-wednesdays-january-9th/

    Reply

  7. Posted by Karen on January 9, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    currently reading “Saving Ruth” by zoe fishman, next, Beautiful Souls by Eyal Press

    Reply

  8. Posted by Karen on January 9, 2013 at 9:01 pm

    I finished Loose Diamonds by Amy Ephron.
    forgot that part on my first comment 🙂

    Reply

  9. I’ve been doing a LOT more reading since my daughter told me my phone has a Kindle on it! I’ve been doing a lot of motivational stuff to try to help me focus on reaching some goals, so I just finished Be Your Passion Kindle book by Sue Montelone. I didn’t like every idea in it, but it helps you to break down goals in achieving bit size pieces. I am now reading a few other books, whichever suits my mood. =) All motivational stuff-maybe I will have my fill by the end of the month, and then will move on to other stuff. =)
    I got an Amazon gift card for Christmas-will be using it soon!
    I haven’t read much fiction lately, but one of my all time favorite books was The Atonement Child by Francine Rivers. That was hard to put down!

    Reply

    • I do the whole focusing on a genre till I have my fill thing all the time. I went through a self-help/motivational kick several years ago . . . now I can only take them in small doses :p

      I totally admire people who can read multiple things at one time!

      I’m not familiar with The Atonement Child. I’ll look into it 🙂

      Have fun spending your gift card!! 🙂

      Reply

  10. Just finished Miguel Street by V.S. Naipaul (which I believe was suggested by someone on a FB post of yours a few weeks ago). Awesome stuff!

    Currently reading Factotum by Charles Bukowski. Well, you may remember from my writings how much I enjoy Bukowski, and this book is not disappointing. . .

    What’s next? Not sure. . .I usually don’t know until I put the just finished book on the shelf, and then I peruse my options. . .

    Reply

    • Yep, my friend Karen (also from GoodBlogs 🙂 ) recommended Miguel Street. Now that it’s doubly recommended, I’ll have to move it up on the list!

      I added Ham on Rye to my list last night (as well as the other 50ish books you recommended)! I’m definitely looking forward to getting to know new-to-me writers 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

