Movie Monday: This Film is Not Yet Rated and Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog

This Film is Not Yet Rated

This Film is Not Yet Rated

Directed by Kirby Dick, 2006

This is the perfect film to kick off my Movie Monday blog posts.

It’s a documentary about the MPAA rating system. The filmmaker interviewed several directors, including John Waters, Kevin Smith, Matt Stone, and Kimberly Peirce (who I never knew by name before, but she directed Boys Don’t Cry, which is an amazing film that everyone should see). He also spoke with a couple of former raters, a first amendment attorney, a box office analyst, and many others.

The main focus is on the distinction between an R and an NC-17 rating. The film touches on several what-should-be-insignificant factors that seem to influence the rating a film is given. It also explains the effect of rating a film NC-17 instead of an R – it’s so much more than just providing a recommendation for parents. NC-17 films face difficulties that can result in the loss of millions of dollars.

If you’ve read any of my Banned Books Week posts, it’s pretty obvious that I’m not a fan of censorship, which is exactly what this is. I’m not fond of someone telling me what my child can and cannot watch. While I am still years away from my allowing my daughter to watch an R or an NC-17 film, when the time comes, I want to make that decision . . . I don’t want the MPAA to make that decision for me. NC-17 means no child under 17 can be admitted, even with a parent.

I never thought the MPAA ratings held much weight, but I never knew just how ass-backwards the whole system is. There are pretty obvious biases and the overall secrecy is completely ludicrous.

My favorite quote of the film – “You can’t rate reality, and if you can’t deal with it, don’t send people to war.” ~Michael Tucker, regarding his film, Gunner Palace, getting an R rating.

This really was fascinating to watch and left me completely non-envious of artistic filmmakers. It was extremely eye-opening.

I give it 5/5 stars.

Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along BlogDr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog

Directed by Joss Whedon, 2008

There’s something seriously wrong with me for not having watched this a long time ago!

I honestly didn’t know much about it until I watched it. I didn’t even know it was directed by Joss Whedon (yeah, I know I could possibly lose my geek card for that). I had heard of it and I’ve seen it while scrolling through Netflix. I knew it had a cult following and I hadn’t heard one negative thing about it. But I was just never motivated to dig deeper.

Thank you to whatever force inspired me to do this Movie Monday thing . . . which then led me to scroll through all the independent and cult films on Netflix . . . which led me to line up this movie and put it at the top of my list!

This “film” was a 3-part internet mini-series that Whedon and a few others wrote during the writer’s strike of 2008. Apparently, they were just bored. It’s the story of Dr. Horrible (Neil Patrick Harris), an aspiring super villain. Dr. Horrible vlogs about his nefarious deeds, his arch nemesis (Nathan Fillion), and his love interest (Felicia Day).

It’s quirky and ridiculous. If you’re a fan of Whedon, musicals, complete fucking weirdness, and awesome dialogue, you should watch it. Now. Hell, you don’t even need to like all of the above . . . one or two will do!

On a surface level, it’s just a fantastic 42 minutes of entertainment – hysterical with great music. But there’s definitely a deeper message about things not always being what they seem (or sometimes actually being what they seem, even when they seem like they’re not what they seem) and society’s tendency towards sheepish ignorance and gullibility.

I give it a gazillion stars for its total rewatchability!

Have you watched either movie? What are your thoughts?

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Never seen either of these movies but I’ve heard the Titles of them…I definitely remember seeing the second one on Netflix and thinking…weird title, wonder what THAT’S about? But I never clicked to check it out! I DO like Musicals though…..I’ve heard the name Joss Whedon but I don’t know who he is….and I may get yelled at for this LOL…..I DO know Neil Patrick Harris, though!
    Did Joss Whedon direct Buffy the Vampire Slayer, maybe? For some reason when I think of the name, I think of Buffy…..

    Reply

  2. […] up from last week . . . I said that Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog had total rewatchability. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

