Five Question Friday – January 18, 2013

Answer the questions in the comments or on your own blog (but leave a link)!

Five Question Friday1. If you were going to be stuck on a deserted island, which 5 books, movies, people and foods would you take along?

Books – Blasphemy by Douglas Preston, Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt, She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb, The Red Tent by Anita Daimant, and Timequake by Kurt Vonnegut . . . . This was difficult to narrow down, but I think these top my list of the books I’d enjoy rereading several times.

Movies – The Manchurian Candidate (original), Clerks, Donnie Darko, Serenity, and Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog

People – I hate this part of the question and refuse to answer it.

Foods – Does this mean full dishes that could be continuously made fresh because this is a fantasy land of knowing I’m going to be stuck on a deserted island beforehand with enough to time to prepare to bring my favorite things or just single foods that are not a mixture of other ingredients?  . . . . I’ll go with a mixture of the two . . . . sushi, fried calamari, strawberries, orange peppers, and crab cakes

2. What is your thought on year round school? 

I’m not against it. If I’m not mistaken, year-round school actually covers the same number of school days, but they’re spread across the entire year instead of just 9 months. I actually see a lot of benefits in that.

3 months off in the summer is a long time and retention often suffers. Spreading the vacation time throughout the year can help students retain information.

I think it would also help keep students from burning out by the end of the school year. I remember paying very little attention in school by the time we reached the end of May/beginning of June. My first thought was that summer vacation as coming soon and I was ready for a break. I think students could benefit from more frequent breaks.

During the school year, I look forward to every day off and long weekend because I get to do more with my daughter. I think shorter but more frequent breaks would give me more meaningful time to spend with her.

That all being said, I just don’t think it’s that big of a deal one way or the other. I can understand the opposition, and (obviously) I understand the support. I also think it would work really well for some families and not for others. Like all things, you’ll never be able to please everyone.

3. What is your most embarrassing potty story? (Can’t be one of your kids’ potty stories either!) Hee Hee! This cracks me up and stems from a HILARIOUS twitter conversation…

Seriously? Sheesh . . . um . . . I guess when I was about 11 or 12. I was at my step-father’s baseball game and there were no bathrooms. I apparently drank a little too much and my mom had to take me into a wooded area and hide me with her coat. Squatting is not easy and as pre-teen, it was pretty freaking mortifying!

4. 
What’s the temperature where you are?

It’s been averaging around the mid-40’s.

5. Are you a winter/spring/fall/summer person?

Spring and Autumn . . . . I don’t like extremes in temperature. I hate snow. I hate the heat. Also, I like the colors of Spring and Autumn.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Carolyn Brown on January 18, 2013 at 8:43 am

    1 – I wouldn’t bring any movies. When your doing things to survive, there is no routine where you can fit in time to pop in a movie or read a book. (Having just survived a flash flood when we had about 5 minutes to choose what to bring – I’m still recovering from that). I’d bring Adam, the dog, my ID’s, a jar of peanut butter, and a flashlight – oh wait, thats exactly what I brought with me when I swam the icy cold river the other night! 😀

    2 – I love year round schooling. Then again, I used to home school my children, which is year round because it follows no scheduled pattern.

    3 – LOL, that would be, just last November when I made the mistake of taking my Triam (blood pressure pill that makes you pee to get rid of water retention) before I hit the road to drive 250 miles – oh and the added mistake of drinking a Java Mean Bean on the way, so I ended up pulling over 6 times in 30 minutes to pee, and once was on the side of the road, where I let it loose in a ditch with semi’s driving by LMAO

    4 – It’s 29 degrees. Its been warm, then it rained nonstop for a week…..I’m thankful we swam in the river BEFORE it turned to snow last night.

    5 – I am a spring and autumn person. I hate the summer heat, and I hate the frigid, blah sky and cold temps of winter. And now I hate water in winter. I will not get into water again until summer and it will be a pool, not a river.

    Reply

    • So sorry you had to go through all of that Carolyn! I hope everything gets settled soon and you and Adam are back to sleeping in your own beds!!! ❤

      I can't imagine having to swim in the river!

      Reply

  2. You went with favorites, I gave up on that idea cause I suck at picking favs. and just went with strategy! I have read 2 of those 5 books…”She’s come undone” and “Angela’s Ashes”, which I own…loved BOTH! Only thing I have read of Vonnegut’s was “Slaughterhouse Five”…I may need to put the other 3 on my To read list!
    I cheated on my potty story….I could have probably come up with a more embarrassing one but it was too embarrassing for me to want to post publicly online LOL

    Reply

    • I think you would LOVE “The Red Tent”!

      “Timequake” is an odd book. It’s pretty much Vonnegut writing about trying to write a book and telling a bunch of anecdotes in the process. I love Vonnegut’s writing style . . . it feels more like he’s talking to you 🙂

      Reply

  3. Love your responses. I’ll have to check out Blasphemy. I, too, love Angela’s Ashes.
    One that I would take is Jane Eyre. I re-read this book all the time and I take something different from it each time.

    Reply

  4. 1. If you were going to be stuck on a deserted island, which 5 books, movies, people and foods would you take along?

    Books: Can I count a series of books as one book? Well, I’m gonna. lol
    The Harry Potter Series, Lord of the Rings, Gone with the Wind, Anne of Green Gables, and Pride and Prejudice.

    Movies: Lonesome Dove, Pirates of the Caribbean, The Incredibles, Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark, and The Avengers.

    People: Like you, there is no way that I can choose and I refuse to answer. 🙂

    Food: Chocolate, Froot Loops, strawberries, blackberries, and pancakes.

    2. What is your thought on year round school?
    I really have no opinion on this. I don’t have kids and I was home-schooled.

    3. What is your most embarrassing potty story? (Can’t be one of your kids’ potty stories either!) Hee Hee! This cracks me up and stems from a HILARIOUS twitter conversation…

    I don’t have one. Everybody shits, so I don’t see what would be embarrassing about it. Gross maybe, but not embarrassing.

    4. What’s the temperature where you are?
    It’s been in the 30s to 40s this past week.

    5. Are you a winter/spring/fall/summer person?
    Dayle, I feel exactly the same way you do! I hate snow and the heat, so I love Spring and Fall. Especially Fall. I love the colors of the trees and I love Halloween and Thanksgiving.

    Reply

    • Paula! I’ve missed you!

      You totally cheated on the books! I purposefully left out books that are a part of a series because I couldn’t just pick one of them 😛

      Here’s to the happy mediums of Spring and Fall!!!

      Reply

      • I’ve missed you too Dayle! I just explained my absence on another one of your posts. My e-mail decided to send all you posts to Spam! I didn’t realize you had been blogging everyday, or I would have been by before now.

        And of course I cheated! It was books! How could I not?

        Reply

        • That’s so wacky!

          Now you need to start blogging more! (Not every day mind you . . . that’s just insane . . . I don’t know what the hell I was thinking! lol) I was stalking your blog the other day to see if I missed any new posts!

          Haha . . . I totally give you a pass for cheating with books! 🙂

  5. […] of all, I want to thank my friend and blogger Dayle for finding this image and photo shopping it for me to use! I’m very grateful for her […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

