Five Question Friday – January 25, 2013

Five Question Friday1. Do you embrace or dread snow/cold weather days?

I dread them. I’ll take very cold over very hot any day, but I still don’t like it . . . and I hate snow. It’s supposed to snow today . . . while I’m chaperoning a walking trip for my daughter’s class. I’m not thrilled!

2. Which game show or reality show could you totally win?

Um, I don’t know. I don’t watch much of either. And I doubt I would be successful at anything that puts me around people in front of a television screen . . . unless of course people were voting on the most awkward, fumbling, nervously-smiling, lip-biting, knuckle-cracking, can’t-stop-jittering contestant with foot-in-mouth disease. If you happen to hear any news for that show, please let me know so I can sign up!

3. What is your preferred climate?

65 to 75 degrees, no humidity . . . the kind of weather where I’m comfortable in a pair of capris, a t-shirt, and sandals . . . no need for heat or air conditioning . . . an open window provides the perfect gentle breeze . . . it should also be slightly overcast . . . no overbearing sunlight . . . so I could sit outside and read a book or take my daughter to the playground without fear of migraines . . .

4. What do you buy every time you walk into the grocery store, no matter what?

Diet iced tea . . . seriously, diet iced tea has replaced cigarettes . . . I used to constantly monitor how many cigarettes I had left every time I left the house so I could make sure I stopped and picked some up while I was out . . . now I do the same thing with diet iced tea. I was drinking a gallon of it every day, but I’ve recently been working on increasing my water intake, so I won’t let myself have any iced tea until I drink a half a gallon of water.

Yellow garden spider I found in my backyard a couple of years ago

Yellow garden spider I found in my backyard a couple of years ago

5. If you see a spider/bug in the house, are you brave enough to kill it, or do you call for your hubby?

I don’t have a hubby . . . if it’s a water bug, I scream bloody murder until my boyfriend comes. If it’s something I’ve never seen before or has a gazillion legs, I generally scream bloody murder until my boyfriend comes. Luckily, those are rarities . . . because my boyfriend can sleep through anything and it doesn’t usually do much good to scream for him! If it’s something small and familiar (I used to live in an underground apartment . . . there was no getting rid of the earwigs in the summer), I’ll kill it myself. If it’s a spider, I let it live and leave it alone . . . I know most people have this ridiculous fear of spiders, but come on, they eat bugs! Spiders are totally my friends!

2 responses to this post.

  1. That garden spider creeps me out…..but if it’s outside, I would be fine…just not in my home! LOL
    OMG to Water Bugs…..those are about as bad as the HUGE Tree Roaches we have here! When I see one of those, I scream so much that I cry! I am deathly afraid of those! I used to be the same with the little roaches but now, I can usually kill them myself….unless they are too high up on the wall, which means I call Chad to kill them for me! I can’t stand seeing a roach! Ewww…I am shivering now thinking about them!

    Reply

    • Water bugs were a common thing at my aunt’s house. We couldn’t get rid of them because they were just in the neighborhood. Luckily, they only came out at night and only on the first floor. I used to have a whole routine to go out for a cigarette in the middle of the night . . . hop from the stairs to the dining room chair, turn on the light, wait for them to scatter, walk to the kitchen doorway, jump on the chair, turn on the light . . . . until I made it outside, sitting on the lawn chair with my feet on another chair! We get an occasional water bug here, but nothing like that!

      Yeah, I’m creeping myself out now!

      I thought the spider was totally cool looking . . . but only because it was outside 😛

      Reply

Leave a Reply

