Five Question Friday – February 1, 2013

Answer the questions in the comments or on your own blog (but leave a link)!

Five Question Friday1. What is your favorite book to read with your kids?

Wow. I don’t know if I could pick just one. I admit that my daughter and I haven’t done a lot of reading together since she started chapter books (I need to work on this), but there are so many wonderful fun books to read with kids. Anything by Dr. Seuss (of course), Parts by Tedd Arnold, anything by Tomie dePaola (if you have kids – of any age – and you’re not familiar with Tomie dePaola, go check him out NOW), It’s Okay to Be Different by Todd Parr (what I said about Tomie de Paolo, yeah, same goes for Todd Parr), Where the Wild Things Are, The Giving Tree . . . . I could be here for a while!

2. After having kids, what body part has changed the most?

Kid. Singular. Only one. I find it funny how so many of these questions (not just today’s, just in general) assume those filling them out are married moms. Anyway . . . . Not much has really changed (except weight gain, though I don’t blame childbirth for that), except that my back pain is worse. (My hips are misaligned, which puts pressure on my back . . . . apparently 2 hours and 53 minutes of pushing didn’t help.)

3. Would you ever go back to college? What would you study?

I would go back to college in a heartbeat! If money were not an issue, I’d be a professional student. I still have aspirations of earning my Ph.D. in Psychology. Though honestly, I’d love to just take a few classes here and there . . . . biology, world history, philosophy . . .

4. How do you close a phone call? Bye, bye bye or other?

I don’t really talk to many people on the phone, but I think just “bye.”

5. What is the one food that will always be your “cheat food” on a diet?

I gave up on the idea of a “cheat food.” If I want something, I eat it . . . I just work on keeping it in moderation and only if I really want it. There’s a certain time of the month when I find it a bit more difficult . . . at which point, anything chocolate and peanut butter doesn’t really last long.

4 responses to this post.

  1. You’re right on the questions being geared more towards moms or married moms….I think that’s because the person it comes from IS a married mom and she takes question suggestions from tons of people and then picks 5. It makes it difficult sometimes because while I AM married, I don’t have a kid, so I kind of have to do my answers a little differently. I’ve thought about doing different questions before but it’s just easy for me right now to do those five.
    I know what you mean about chocolate and certain times of the month LOL….It’s really hard for me to say NO to chocolate then so I always eat some, but like you said…I just keep it in moderation.
    Now I need to go to MY 5QF! Finally home after being gone all day!

    Reply

    • I like the 5QF – it’s quick and fun. I just find it interesting that the natural assumption for most questions is that the blogger is a married mom (usually of multiples) . . . but hey, you have the married bit and I have the mom bit, so at least we have that covered together!

      I have a love/hate relationship with chocolate and peanut butter!

      I’m still getting around to reading blogs from last week, so I’ll probably get to your 5QF tomorrow 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

