Strange Places

Strange Places

lying in a strange room,
falling victim to the
incandescence of street lamps.
solid feelings of insignificance
plague my soul.
nightmares come to destroy my dreams
and send me into that long-forgotten panic.
he whispers to me
not in words,
and wounds me
not in touch.
a charismatic longing
for distance and independence
shattered by the elegantly designed webs
that hinder my intentions.
he lingers within,
holding on to all i’ve kept sacred,
stealing the serenity i have called my own.
he stares in silence
with the eyes of Medusa
and hovers over me,
my nightmare turned real.
i toss and turn,
afraid to sleep with my eyes closed.

Photo Credit

3 responses to this post.

  1. I always love your poems! I wish I could write poems like yours! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

