Movie Review: Edward Scissorhands

Edward ScissorhandsEdward Scissorhands

Directed by Tim Burton, 1990

I’ve been introducing my daughter to a lot of my old favorites lately and Edward Scissorhands was one such film. I watched this when it first came out and I love it as much today as I did 20+ years ago.

The artistry is the first thing that strikes me. I love the contrast between the dark castle and the vibrant suburban town. I also love the way Tim Burton tells simple stories in such a fanciful way . . . the dark and the weird have always appealed to me.

And, of course, I have a lot of love for Johnny Depp (which definitely goes way beyond my deep childhood obsession for Cry Baby). I like that he chooses his roles carefully, and with few exceptions, I believe he’s made excellent choices. He was particularly amazing as Edward. I’m always impressed with those who can convey the depth of their characters without a lot of speaking parts, and this was definitely an example of that.

While watching the movie, my daughter asked me, “Why is she trying to cover up his scars? I like his scars.” I thought it was a fantastic observation from an 8-year-old, even if she doesn’t fully understand the meaning behind her observation. It made me think . . . . Edward is considered special because of his hands, but it’s really the scars that tell his story.

I love how this movie explores the idea of trying to fit in, of trying to be as normal as possible . . . while simultaneously exploring the false admiration that can sometimes come from being “special,” particularly the part when they’re on the talk show and an audience member suggested someone who could help give Edward hands. Another woman says, “Then no one would think you’re special. You wouldn’t be on TV or anything,” and Peg (Dianne Wiest) answers, “No matter what, Edward will always be special.”

Edward Scissorhands is one of those movies that just sounds like it shouldn’t be good . . . to hear the premise– an inventor creates a man with scissor hands but dies before giving him real hands and that man lives up in a castle all by himself until a Mary Kay lady brings him to an overly-bright suburb . . . it sounds horribly ridiculous. But Tim Burton is amazing and there’s just so much depth in this simple fairy tale. I love it.

Oh, and you can never go wrong with Vincent Price 🙂

I give it 5/5 stars

Have you watched this  movie? What are your thoughts?

7 responses to this post.

  1. I love this movie. My children love it too, Johnny Is fantastic in it, as usual 🙂

    Reply

  2. I love this movie 🙂

    Reply

  3. Love Tim Burton films, Loved “Edward Scissorhands” and LOVE Johnny Depp! I especially love the fact that Johnny Depp never wanted to be an Actor…he wanted to be a Musician and went with his friend to do an audition for “Nightmare on Elm Street”, auditioned for fun and got hired as his first gig! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

