WWW Wednesday – February 6, 2013

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

WWW Wednesays

Feel free to share your answers in the comments or on your own blog (please leave the link if you do that!).

The Time Machine

What are you currently reading? The Time Machine by H.G. Wells – I only started this book around midnight last night. I’m about 35 pages in. It’s a short book – only 103 pages. It’s fascinating so far and I’m looking forward to reading the rest of it. This is my first H.G. Wells book and so far, I’m loving his writing style. I have had to look up several words while reading, which is great because I’m always looking to expand my vocabulary.

 

Tyrannosaur CanyonWhat did you recently finish reading? Tyrannosaur Canyon by Douglas Preston – I don’t like to skip when I read, but every so often I am completely turned off with the writing but intrigued enough with the storyline to continue. These are the rare books I would rather see as movies. It’s happened a lot with Stephen King and it happened with Tyrannosaur Canyon.

Each chapter focuses on a different main character, of which there are many. I enjoyed the chapters about some characters and found others painfully dull. I started skipping whole sections at a time just to hurry up and get to the ending. This book could have been half the length and not lost anything. Hell, it didn’t really become worth it to me until the last 40 pages.

I was disappointed because I really enjoyed Blasphemy. From reading other reviews, this book actually follows characters from a previous Preston book, The Codex. I liked those characters, so I might give Preston another shot.

If you’re into dinosaurs, this is a cool story and worth at least skimming through.

The Invisible Man

What do you think you’ll read next? The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells – It’s combined with The Time Machine in one book, so it makes sense to read that one next.

9 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve never read either of those Wells titles but always wanted to do so. My list is at http://katybrandes.wordpress.com/2013/02/06/www-wednesday-february-6/.

    Reply

  2. Stephen King is one of my favorite authors ever but I’m a big Horror fan. 🙂
    Never read anything by H.G. Wells but I do believe I own “The Time Machine” over at my parent’s house somewhere…I can’t believe how much stuff I still have over there!

    Reply

    • I love Stephen King’s stories, which is why I love his movies, but I can’t stand his writing style. With a few exceptions (Gerald’s Game, The Langoliers, and Secret Garden, Secret Window), I’ve never been able to get past the first 20 or so pages in his books.

      I really enjoyed The Time Machine . . . . but I definitely needed to keep a dictionary handy!

      Reply

  3. I love your blog! It’s different- which is GREAT!!!
    Beth @ Free Spirit Books

    Reply

  4. I have War of the Worlds, I should read that. I keep looking at it and passing it up for something else. I used to LOVE watching the Time Machine movie on TV, before they remade it. My www: http://lostinsidethecovers.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/www-wednesdays-feb-6th/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

