Five Question Friday – February 8, 2013

Answer the questions in the comments or on your own blog (but leave a link)!

 

Five Question Friday1. What holiday do you wish did not exist?

A whole bunch of them. I think most holidays are pointless. When my aunt was taking her Catechism classes, she had to answer questions on the meaning of different holidays. She asked my opinion and told her they were all excuses to get drunk. I know, I’m all bah humbuggy about the whole thing . . . except for Halloween. I’m a freaking kid when it comes to Halloween.

I will point out Columbus Day specifically . . . it should only be a holiday if we want to celebrate the rape and murder of indigenous people.

2. What is your favorite romance/love movie?

I’m not really into the whole romance category – though a few of my favorite movies that include a romance angle are Sliding Doors, Good Will Hunting, and Wall-E.

3. Do you make a big production out of celebrating Valentine’s Day?

Nope. Valentine’s Day is stupid. . . . I do, however, get sucked in a little bit . . . my boyfriend and I usually exchange something small . . . and I go a bit overboard with daughter.

4. What is something weird you did as a child? (or even now!)

Do you have time to read about my entire life? Seriously. I consider myself to be a weird adult, but I was a really weird kid. Small example – when I was 4, I had an imaginary friend named Timmy (she was a girl – screw gender-typical names) and she lived in my mouth.

5. What makes you love your husband, really LOVE him, you know since Valentines is coming up?

I’m not married, and Valentine’s Day isn’t about love . . . it’s about card companies making money . . . but I’ll comply with the question. What makes me love my boyfriend? He does . . . all of who is . . . he drives me crazy sometimes (a lot of times), but when I’m with him, I feel home. We share a love of most things geeky, he makes me laugh, we hold intelligent and stimulating conversations, it makes my heart happy every time I watch him with my daughter . . . . He’s so much more than he thinks he is and the only thing about him I’d ever change is to make him see that.

3 responses to this post.

  1. 1 – LOL, Valentines Day! Because, I remember when I was a child, teenager, even a young adult, I used to think that since it was celebrated, it meant that someone you loved had to show you they loved you on that day by doing something or saying something – and if they didn’t it meant they didn’t really care about you. A child is very impressionable, and media fees them whether we like it or not. As an adult I ignore the hoopla. When you love someone, you show them every day and in every way possible, in everything you say and do. And it comes naturally, and doesn’t require a card or token.

    2 – Robin Hood (the one with Kevin Costner).

    3 – NO 🙂

    4 – LMAO I love your story of Timmy living in your mouth! My weird thing was leaving my body when I fell asleep. YEH. Like, I would dream that I was rising up out of my body, be able to see myself asleep in the bed, I would float near the ceiling down the hall and “land” where ever I wanted to be… As a child I was also seen by various people being two places at once (the other me would always be seen out of the corner of their eye and when they would look at me to talk to me or catch up with me, I wasn’t there because in reality I was physically in another room or outside, or inside the house when the other me was outside). Probably the whole out of body thing, except it would happen by accident while I was awake. I stopped doing that when I was about 12.

    5 – The fact that Adam is not my husband makes me love him more. I’ve been married 3 times, and divorced 3 times, and I can tell you all 3 times, I didn’t trust my spouse. I wanted to be loved, so I ignored the distrust and found all the good things I could find in them and kept turning that into “love”. Turns out I didn’t love myself, so I didn’t know what love really was. I had to love myself first, and that happened after grieving and healing from the loss of my children, after divorcing husband #3. Adam was the only friend I had as a child who I trusted with everything, every part of me, and that was mutual. When he came along after my divorce, it was exactly what I need to heal, no one else could have helped me find myself. He’s my hero. He kept his cape tucked away until he needed it, and he knew when to take it off. I hope we’re together til one of us is dead. I’ve really found myself and I love who I am with him, and who I am without him. I’m one tough old gal, lol…. these days are cherished…. turning grey and wrinkled with my best friend is one of the coolest things to experience.

    Reply

  2. LOL about Timmy living in your mouth! 🙂
    Yea, Valentine’s IS made up by card companies but I just love an extra excuse to get a gift and give a gift!
    AND I agree with Carolyn’s comment about love being everyday and not just one day of the year. I love my husband everyday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

