Sunday Stealing: The Basically Obscure Meme – Part 2

Sunday StealingThis is a continuation of last week’s meme.

21: Would you swear in front of your parents?

I generally avoid it, but occasionally a word slips out.

22: Which continents have you been on?

Only North America

23: Do you get motion sickness? Any horror stories?

On very rare occasions in a car or on a bus, but always when I’m on a boat. Luckily, I’m not on boats very often! When I was 14, I went party boat fishing with my dad, uncle, and cousins. I was doing really well for about a half an hour . . . and then the nausea came. Sure enough, in front of everyone, I puked over the side of the boat. I spent the rest of the trip inside sleeping on one of the benches. I was told that everyone’s fishing improved after the incident.

24: Why did you name your blog whatever you named your blog?

I suck with titles and such. I spent a couple of days searching for a blog name that I would love. Stephen Crane is one of my favorite poets, so I went to dig out my book to search for a good line. I couldn’t find my book, so I searched online and found an old favorite –

“Think as I think,” said the man,
“or you are abominably wicked. You are a toad.”
“I think,” I said, upon reflection,
“that I shall be a toad.”

The last line was perfect for my blog . . . everything I wanted to portray in one simple quote. Of course, it was also inaccurate because the last two lines of poem are really –

And after I had thought of it,
I said, “I will, then, be a toad.”

But I like the way “I shall be a toad” looks and sounds, so I’m happy I stumbled on to that version.

25: Would you wear a rainbow jacket? A neon yellow sweater? Checkered pants?

I would totally wear this rainbow jacket . . . probably not on the neon yellow sweater . . . and I’d wear checkered pants to bed.

26: What was your favorite cartoon growing up? Post a picture if you can.

She-ra

I was a tad obsessive. I had damn near every She-ra toy imaginable.

27: In a past life I must have been a…

I don’t know . . . I feel drawn to certain time periods and cultures . . . Ireland in the 16th century, England in the 19th . . . So I’d say I must have lived in at least one of those, but other than that, who knows? But I’d like to think of myself as some kind of artist.

28: If you had to look at one city skyline for the rest of your life, which would it be?

New York. I’ve wanted to live in New York for as long as I can remember.

29: Longest plane ride you’ve ever been on?

From Philly to Las Vegas . . . I think it was 6 hours.

30: The longest you’ve ever slept?

I was at away at a weekend conference and didn’t sleep all weekend. With the exception of a few 15-20 minute naps, I was awake for over 60 hours. When I got home on Monday morning, I crashed and slept for 16 straight hours.

31: Would you buy a sweater covered in kitten pictures? Would you wear it if someone gave it you for free?

I wouldn’t buy one, but if someone gave it to me as a gift, I probably would.

32: Do you pluck your eyebrows?

Nope

33: Favorite kind of bean? Kidney? Black? Pinto?

Black . . . they’re also the only kind of bean I like

34: How far can you throw a baseball?

Not very!

35: If you had to move to another country, where would you move?

I’d like to say Australia, but I don’t know if I could handle being on the other side of the world, so probably England.

36: Have you ever eaten Ethiopian food? Vietnamese? Korean? Nepalese? How was it?

I’ve never eaten Ethiopian or Nepalese, but I have had Vietnamese and Korean. I’ve enjoyed them both . . . except kimchi, which has to be the most disgusting food in existence! (Though my boyfriend would argue that.)

37: How much wood could a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?

A woodchuck would chuck all the wood he could if a woodchuck could chuck wood.

Or, there’s this highly informative website.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Interesting, we share number 28 😉

    Reply

  2. I like green beans and butter beans, but not any others….I would wear that rainbow jacket too and I would wear a yellow sweater, but NOT neon yellow..not sure about the checkered pants cause that would probably make my big butt look even bigger! LOL
    I love the Wood Chuck question and answer. 🙂

    Reply

    • I can tolerate other beans . . . when Kes makes chili, he usually uses a can of kidney and a can of black, but his chili is so good that I deal with kidney beans 😛

      I used to have a pair of checkered chef pants that I wore to bed . . . definitely wouldn’t wear them out . . . and I’m the type to wear my pajamas to the grocery store!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

