Organizing my house and my life

I would usually post my Movie Monday today, but I didn’t really watch any movies this week. It’s been another long week. We’re still in the process of rearranging pretty much every room in the house. I’m exhausted, my back is killing me, and I really don’t feel like writing anything remotely intelligent. I’d like to write something about how all of this organization of the physical things in my life could translate into a personal organization, but I’m not quite there, so we’re just going to settle for whatever drivel comes out right now

I managed to finish my daughter’s craft area today, which may not sound like a big deal, but we have A LOT of craft supplies and they were EVERYWHERE (I should have taken a before picture).

Crafts 1

Imagine all those things inside the containers just thrown on top of the table

 

Crafts 2

Abby’s old dresser is now her craft drawers

Kes has been working on the walk-in closet/his office, which left me with a shelving unit that allowed me to finally get all of our board games in one place. Woot! It could be considered kind of sad how excited I am about that.

Board games

We might need more games

All of our new dressers have left the dining room and made it to their respective bedrooms. Oh, and I added a sheet to Abby’s reading nook so that it doubles as a fort. I think that qualifies me for fabulously cool mom status!

Reading nook

The reading nook

 

Fort

The fort

 

The goofball's self portrait from inside the fort

The goofball’s self-portrait from inside the fort

Kes even took the boxes of Christmas decorations down to the basement. Once again, I’m super excited! My life is so thrilling.

We’ve also been packing as we’re rearranging and cleaning. We were planning to move last July, but the universe didn’t quite allow that to happen. This coming July is our new goal and it’s looking very doable. I figure the more we can pack up now, the less we’ll have to do later . . . . not to mention, the more we can throw away/give away, the less we have to pack up ever.

It’s 4:30pm and I’m ready to pass out. I have over 4 hours until that’s even a possibility though. I’m going to try to wake myself up with a shower now . . . and then on to play with the kiddo . . . probably with the newly organized board games and crafts.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Can I tell you how much I relate? We just spent a week redecorating and reorganizing the pantry. Yes, you read that right…the *pantry*…:-) I am obscenely proud of it. So…yeah, my life’s pretty “exciting” too…!!!

    Reply

    • Hahaha . . . Instead of a pantry, we have a shelving unit (like the one the games are on but with one extra shelf) for all of our non-perishables . . . and that was one of the things I rearranged over the past week! Great minds, huh? 🙂

      Reply

  2. You ARE a super cool mom and I am NOW even more jealous of the fort/reading nook! LOL
    You have more board games than me…which is saying a lot cause I thought I had a lot! I need to figure out somewhere to stack mine though…half of them are in a closet, the other half on my never used kitchen table…which is totally in the living room next to the TV cause my kitchen had barely enough space for me to walk in.
    I am jealous that you have 80’s Scene it…I want that one! I have Scene it Squabble, the 2nd Movie Edition and the Music one. 🙂
    Oh and I totally have the 90’s Trivial Pursuit too and my hubby always beats me at it…which is no fair since he is 10 months younger than me and I was like between the ages of 7-17 in the 90’s……

    Reply

    • Any time I find a board game at a decent price, I buy it . . . plus, Santa always gives the family a couple of board games every Christmas 😛 I’m actually serious about needing more though! We don’t have Life, Sorry, Trouble, or Taboo and I need those!

      80’s Scene It is fun 🙂 . . . I bought it on clearance 😛

      The 90’s Trivial Pursuit is about the only trivia game I can win against Kes because he’s 9 years older than me, so he’s more 80’s 😛 If we ever get to meet in person, we can team up against your hubby!

      Reply

  3. I am super jealous of that fort!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

