WWW Wednesday – February 13, 2013

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

WWW Wednesays

Feel free to share your answers in the comments or on your own blog (please leave the link if you do that!).

The Invisible Man

 

What are you currently reading? The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells – I’m only a few chapters in. I finished The Time Machine on Friday, but I didn’t start this one until Monday and I haven’t spent much time with it. It’s interesting so far, I’ve just been running myself a bit ragged.

 

 

The Time MachineWhat did you recently finish reading? The Time Machine by H.G. Wells – I really enjoyed this book. I needed to keep my phone with me while I read so I could easily access my dictionary app, but it was still a pretty quick read . . . not because of the short length but because of content.

I’m fascinated by how the book was written – with the exception of the beginning and the very end, the book is written by the narrator quoting the Time Traveller. It’s basically one really long re-telling.

The other really interesting thing about the book is that half of the story is pure speculation. When the Time Traveller meets the creatures of the future, he develops an entire back story for their existence, and while it’s intelligently deduced, it’s still not proven. There’s a lot of room for the reader’s imagination to go wild . . . I know mine did as I was reading!

This is the kind of book that makes me wish I was part of a book club because there are just so many things I’d love to discuss!

The Island of Dr. Moreau

 

What do you think you’ll read next? The Island of Dr. Moreau by H.G. Wells – Yep, keeping with the whole H.G. Wells thing. I’m really enjoying his storytelling . . . and honestly, I have so much going on right now that the short length is appealing as well.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Reading “Quiet” by Cain. Just finished “Buried in the Sky.” Re-reading Sherlock Holmes, Gladwell’s “Outliers.

    Reply

  2. I’ve never read The Invisible Man, but the film TERRIFIED me as a child. Let me know how the book goes! 🙂

    Reply

    • Absolutely! I’m hoping to take a nice chunk of time to read this weekend and finish it 🙂

      I’ve never seen the film either . . . I think I should put The Time Machine and The Invisible Man on my movie list!

      Reply

  3. Reading a bunch of classics, I see! 🙂

    Reply

    • I figure I’ll stick with the theme for a bit! I need to get to the bookstore (or just do some shopping online), so I can get some of the other books on my list. . . . A trip to the second-hand bookstore is way overdue as well. I have two bags of books to trade in for store credit 🙂

      Reply

  4. One reason I love my Kindle is the dictionary function within it. Just click on a word, and the definition pops right up! It’s the best $100 & change I ever spent on myself. My current list is at http://katybrandes.wordpress.com/2013/02/14/www-wednesday-feb-13/. .

    Reply

    • I’m one of those anti-Kindle people, but that’s one benefit I hadn’t thought of! I don’t think it’s enough to make me switch over, but it’s definitely on my mind now! 😛

      Reply

Leave a Reply

