Five Question Friday – February 15, 2013

Five Question FridayAnswer the questions in the comments or on your own blog (but leave a link)!

This week’s Five Question Friday comes from Sharon at The Real Sharon.

1. When you feel the urge to use the bathroom, do you hold it or go right away?

It depends on whether or not I’m in the middle of doing something. I also generally try to avoid public bathrooms.

2. When was the last time you held hands with someone?

Yesterday – with my daughter walking home from the bus stop.

3. Do you hold in your emotions or let them out?

Years ago, I took the Myers Briggs personality test and came out as an ISFJ. I’m not sure how much stock you put in personality tests, but mine was spot on. The relevant part for this question is this – “One ISFJ trait that is easily misunderstood by those who haven’t known them long is that they are often unable to either hide or articulate any distress they may be feeling. . . . An adult ISFJ may drive a (later ashamed) friend or SO into a fit of temper over the ISFJ’s unexplained moodiness, only afterwards to explain about a death in the family they ‘didn’t want to burden anyone with.’”

So basically, I let my emotions out, but I have trouble expressing what they are and what caused them . . . which is why writing is such an important outlet for me. The difficulties I have with real life interactions are much less pronounced when I’m writing.

4. If you play blackjack or poker, are you more likely to hold or fold on any given hand?

Um, it depends on the hand. Of course, I only ever play with fake money on my phone or computer. I do have a bit of a system down though . . . won a few million playing Texas Hold ‘Em . . . too bad it was fake! . . . I can’t share that system with you though . . . just in case we ever play in real life with real money 😛

 5. In general, can you hold your tongue? When you have a secret? When someone says something you don’t agree with?

It depends on the person and circumstances.

I can definitely keep a secret.

If it’s in an argument, it depends on the person. Usually, I’m much less reserved with the people closest to me. I admit that it’s more than a little messed up. I tend to take things out on those I know will still care about me afterwards. It started with my parents. I never talked back to my father or expressed any kind of disagreement with him because I was afraid he wouldn’t love me if I did. I knew my mom would love me no matter what, so I let loose. It’s something I’m working on. There are a few individual exceptions to that.

If it’s a debate, I have no problem sharing my opinions with just about anyone, though I’m less likely to do it in person because I have anxiety issues over confrontation.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I don’t like confrontation either which is why over the years I have learned to bite my tongue around certain people. Remind me not to play against you in Texas Hold ‘Em…even though I have no clue how to play and since I live in Texas, I feel ashamed now! I hate public bathrooms….especially ones with stalls…I feel like people are looking in on you….
    And YOUR answer to #2 is cuter than my answer 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

