On motivation, discipline, and goals

I placed a fairly daunting goal in front of myself in the beginning of the year – to blog every day for 365 days. This post makes number 49 and I have 316 left to go. The first month actually went rather smoothly. As I move into the second half of my second month, things are becoming a bit more difficult.

I should be writing my Movie Monday today, but once again, I haven’t really watched any movies this week. I have my WWW Wednesday coming up in 2 days, but I don’t think I’m going to finish my book in time (and it’s only 200 pages). There are many things I want to write about and they’re all swirling around in my head, but I’m struggling to find the motivation to put my fingers to the keys.

The thing is, February has been a ridiculously busy month. I’ve explained on many other posts that anything involving walking out my front door can be exhausting for me. Even activities that I know I’m going to enjoy, even when I have the most fabulous time in the whole world . . . it just mentally drains me.

This past weekend was incredibly overwhelming, I think even for a “normal” person. I was out of the house all day on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday and I had a great time all three days. It was great to break out of my comfort zone, change out of my pajamas, even put a bit of makeup on, interact with people outside of my home . . . and these experiences have given me more things to write about . . . they’ve just taken away the time and the energy to write about them. I suppose that is an ongoing challenge for many, if not most, writers.

I’m beginning to doubt my ability to keep up the motivation and the discipline to write and to blog every day for an entire year. And that’s why the goal is there . . . that is why I’ve made such a daunting commitment. I know I’m not disciplined enough to just keep up with daily posts if I didn’t have that year-long goal. I wouldn’t be writing right now if I didn’t have that goal . . . if I didn’t have the accountability of advertising that goal . . . if I wasn’t so determined not to eff up meeting that goal in less than 2 months.

Perhaps it would be better if I did this every day just because and maybe one day I’ll get back to that point, but I lost that place many years ago and it’s not going to come back to me over night. Blogging, goals, prompts, plans, schedules, memes . . . all of them are tools to help get me to the point where writing on a daily basis is natural again. Until then, things will be a bit messy as I try out different systems . . . until I find one (or two or three) that work for me.

4 responses to this post.

  1. There is a “Small is Beautiful” Blogging group that I read because I like the idea that words can come in small packages and still be worthy of thought, and of sharing. You have a lovely mind and sharing it in a blog, daily, makes it a fun and a thoughtful read.

    Reply

  2. Back in 2011 when I first went from blogging very rarely to daily, a lot of posts were about not knowing what to write and how difficult it was for me to post so much…..this time around, it’s been a lot easier because I have been blogging for so long now but I still have difficult days. It’s hard sometimes but I think if you make it, it’s so worth it and such a huge sense of accomplishment!

    Reply

    • I’m definitely determined to make it!

      I’ve been battling a bit of mild depression lately, on top of other things. It makes it difficult to stick with things . . . as I’m sure you understand . . . but I think even something as simple as following through with a blogging goal is helping me to combat it. There’s definitely a sense of accomplishment already!

      I’m so glad you’re doing it too! We can keep pushing each other along for the next 10 1/2 months!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

