Some more favorite reads

Between a weekend of social interactions and the fighting off of migraines and depression, I haven’t read much this week at all. It feels a bit ridiculous to not even be able to finish a 200 page book over the course of a week, but it is what it is. I also have to admit that I am not enjoying The Invisible Man as much as I enjoyed The Time Machine, so I am much less motivated to pick up the book. However, I’m far enough in that I’m not willing to put it aside. . . . I do think I need a bit of a break from H.G. Wells after this one.

So once again, in lieu of my usual WWW Wednesday, I’m sharing a few of my absolute favorite books.

BlasphemyBlasphemy by Douglas Preston – I mentioned Blasphemy a few times while I was reading Tyrannosaur Canyon, another book by Douglas Preston. It’s been a few years since I’ve read it, but it’s one of those books that had a definite impact and put me into a reflective state. Twelve scientists are working with the world’s largest supercollider to unlock the secrets of the universe. The amount of money spent on project puts a ton of pressure on the scientists. And then there are the groups of Christian fundamentalists who believe the project is an attack on God. What they discover is something none of them would have expected. It’s a great sci-fi thriller that provokes a lot of thought about human nature as they’re tied to science and religion.

Dirty JobA Dirty Job by Christopher Moore – This is the first book by Christopher Moore that I ever read. About half-way through the book, I realized why I loved his writing style so much – he very much reminds me of Vonnegut in that his writing is very conversational and witty. A Dirty Job is about Charlie Asher, a “beta male” who unwittingly has taken on a new job as Death. The fantasy concept of the book is brilliant and it’s absolutely hysterical. Even if you’re not a fan of the fantasy/paranormal genre, you’ll still enjoy this book . . . as long as you like to laugh!

Merry GentryMerry Gentry by Laurell K. Hamilton – Laurell K. Hamilton is more widely known for the Anita Blake series, but I could never get into that one. The Merry Gentry series, however, is probably my favorite set of fantasy novels. Unfortunately, Hamilton hasn’t written a new one in a few years. There are currently 8 books in the series and it doesn’t feel anywhere close to being finished. I am definitely jonzing for a new Merry book! Merry Gentry is a private investigator who left the high court of Faerie and went into hiding because her aunt, the Queen of Air and Darkness wants her dead. The books involve a lot of kinky sex between humans and non-humans . . . so if that stuff bothers you, I don’t recommend this series! I will say that the sex is not gratuitous. It actually does serve a very significant purpose to the story. It’s more fantasy than romance, but there is that element . . . and in addition to being open to reading about cross-species kinky sex, you should be open to reading about polyamory as well. A lot of stories about the Fey can feel hokey to me, but Hamilton creates an amazing mythology that meshes perfectly with the “real world.”

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Christopher Paulinski on February 21, 2013 at 9:19 am

    Love Laura k Hamilton though I’ve only read the Anita Blake series I’ll have to check out the other one. And I’ll have to check out blasphemy. You should check out bite me, try me, and fang me by Parker Blue and the sword of truth series by Terry Goodkind

    Reply

    • Merry Gentry is fabulous. You should definitely read them! And I really think you’d enjoy Blasphemy too! . . . I’ll check out the Parker Blue books, thanks 🙂

      Reply

  2. I love Christopher Moore as you already know 🙂 Still have “Blasphemy” on my To read and I own most, if not all the Merry Gentry books but haven’t started them yet. I’m up to date on my Anita Blake though and I love that series! As far as the “sex” aspect….Anita Blake is pretty much the same although it doesn’t really get as wild until further into her series. The last few books of that series haven’t been as good, in my opinion, but I’ll keep reading anyways cause that’s what i do. On Goodreads, it has both the newest Anita Blake AND Merry Gentry books scheduled for release in 2013, though! 🙂

    Reply

    • I need to read more Christopher Moore! Love him 🙂

      The sex starts out pretty wild in the Merry Gentry books, but it’s actually pretty central to the story line.

      I’m not getting my hopes up for a new Merry book . . . Hamilton’s been saying there’s a new one scheduled for 2 years now. I follow her on Facebook and the last thing I saw was that she had writer’s block and didn’t want to force the story, which I totally respect. I’m holding out hope that there will be more books, just not getting excited until I actually see it finished!

      Reply

      • I do NOT blame you! I think she SHOULD actually switch because she has primarily been sticking with Anita Blake for years and I feel as if that series is kind of going downhill and maybe if she switched, it would be better? The sex in Anita Blake is also central to the story line….don’t want to give out spoilers but it’s actually VERY important to the story so her last few books have been MORE that then action and plot which is why I haven’t liked them AS much..my favorites of the series are in the middle when there was so much STORY and less of the sex. And Christopher Moore is amazing, I want to read everything of his but our library doesn’t carry much of his stuff and we have no book stores around here…..I have been able to get one or two of his in the annual book sale, though! Next one is in April, I can’t wait!

        Reply

Leave a Reply

