Bits and pieces

I was flipping through old journals the other day and came across this bit of a story written with a purple gel pen on the first and second page of a tiny unlined journal. There was nothing else written in that journal. The journal was given to me by my ex-husband when we were still dating . . . so I must have written this more than 10 years ago. I don’t remember writing it. I have no idea where I intended it to go . . . maybe one day I’ll sit down and see where the keys take the rest of the story . . .

Old woman's hands tucked between her legsThe old woman cried as she gazed down upon the child she held in her arms. In that little angel’s eyes she saw what she herself had never had and was only now beginning to understand. Her life was long, full of experience, nothing to have any regrets about. It was a good life, a happy life, but sill there was always this void, an emptiness she could never express. This was, in fact, the first time she had cried in years, and even then it was something as trivial as her favorite couple on her daily soap breaking up. She had a good family, a wonderful husband, 3 beautiful children who still come to visit more often than most children do. But something was missing from her silver sparkling life, something she didn’t know was missing till she held that little girl in her arms. She feels now that it is too late, that she missed every opportunity given to her – she’s wrong.

Photo Credit

4 responses to this post.

  1. Awesome beginning for a story there! I could see a book evolving from this paragraph and if I had opened a book and read THIS, I would definitely keep reading! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Shawna on February 28, 2013 at 1:09 pm

    Dude. You’re writing about me. 😛

    I love gel pens, especially when they’re cool colors like purple. 🙂

    Reply

    • Maybe you can help me finish the story! 😛

      I had a huge gel pen fetish in college. I used to go to the art supply store and spend nearly an hour testing every pen I could so I could find my favorite colors and the ones that wrote with the most ease. I haven’t done that in years . . . maybe I should schedule a date for myself to go to the art supply store!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

