WWW Wednesday – February 27, 2013

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

WWW Wednesays

Feel free to share your answers in the comments or on your own blog (please leave the link if you do that!).

What are you currently reading?

The Graveyard Book

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

I started this yesterday afternoon and I’m about 1/3 of the way through. I’m absolutely loving it so far. This is my first Neil Gaiman book. I’ve had him on my list to read for quite some time, but only recently made it to the bookstore to pick up a couple of his books. He’s been recommended to me by several people (plus, he wrote one of my favorite ever episodes of Doctor Who – “The Doctor’s Wife” and his commencement speech at the University of the Arts made me fall completely in love with him).

This book is about a little boy who grows up in a graveyard and is raised by ghosts. The story is intriguing and the characters are beautifully written.

What did you recently finish reading?

The Invisible Man

The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells

I was really disappointed in this book. I started The Invisible Man right after finishing The Time Machine, which I thought was a wonderfully written and intriguing story. The Invisible Man, however, was just flat and uninteresting.

I have zero sympathy for the title character. I understand that he’s supposed to have gone insane because of the invisibility, but he’s just an ass and that preceded his invisibility.

I think it’s difficult for a book of less than 200 pages to be overly wordy, but this was. So much of the story was completely unnecessary. It took me a while to finish this book solely because I just wasn’t interested in it. I think it would have worked better as short fiction.

I was planning to continue with H.G. Wells for a bit, but after this book, I decided I needed a break from him!

The House on Mango Street

The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros

I could have easily read this book in one sitting if I didn’t have mom duties and work duties and the inability to sit still for more than 5 minutes (okay, maybe more than 5 minutes . . . but not much), but I’m really glad I didn’t. I think I would have been disappointed to rush through this book. Sometimes I read 4 or 5 chapters, sometimes only 1 or 2 . . . and that made me appreciate them even more.

Each chapter in the book is a short (sometimes less than half of a page and I think the longest was 3 pages long) vignette written in the voice of Esperanza Cordero, a young girl living on Mango Street . .. where she does not want to be. We meet several of her neighbors and friends and learn little pieces of their lives, but the heart of this book are the words that aren’t written. Each chapter provoked a powerful train of thought.

I think it takes immense skill to pack so much depth into such a short book, but that’s exactly what Sandra Cisneros did.

What do you think you’ll read next?

A Game of Thrones

A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

I’ve been putting this book off because I’m a bit overwhelmed by its length, but everyone I talk to (and especially those whose interests generally mesh with mine) raves about it. Santa Claus gave it to me for Christmas, so I think it’s about time I crack it open and start reading!

8 responses to this post.

  1. Woohoo – you’re reading The Graveyard Book! I hope you like it as much as I did. It’s supposed to be made into a movie as well. My list is at http://katybrandes.wordpress.com/2013/02/27/www-wednesday-22713/.

    Reply

    • I’m just about half-way through the book now and I really, really love it! I hope I enjoy the rest of his books this much! . . . The movie part makes me wary . . . I’m always afraid they’re going to butcher my favorite books, but they do pull it off sometimes, so I’ll keep my fingers crossed!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Shawna on February 28, 2013 at 1:08 pm

    Wow, what a cool cover on the first book. Love the title of the third. I’m reading Wintergirls. I’ve been on a YA streak for ages. I only almost only check out books from the young adult section at the library. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Glad you read Mango Street. One of the few books I’ve read multiple times (mostly because I taught it for five years, but I like to think that I may have read it repeated times anyway). It really is magical, and you said it right. . . it’s what’s not written that makes it so powerful. . . Glad I could turn you on to it. I have another one of her books – a much longer one – on my to-be-read shelf. Might have to pick it up soon. . .

    Reply

    • While reading it, I was actually thinking about what a wonderful book this would be to teach. . . . And I definitely see multiple re-readings in my future. 🙂

      Reply

  4. I’ve only read “American Gods” by Neil Gaiman and I liked it so I definitely want to read “The Graveyard Book”. “The House on Mango Street” looks interesting and our library has it, so I guess I will have to check it out sometime! 🙂

    Reply

    • You will *love* “The Graveyard Book”! I just finished it last night and it was amazing! My only complaint is that I want more! . . . . And you should definitely read “The House on Mango Street” as well! I know you read pretty fast, so my suggestion would be to read this one in little bits at a time. I really don’t think I’d have gotten as much out of it if I read it straight through in one sitting. I liked taking time to reflect after every few chapters 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

