Sunday Stealing: The 5,000 Question Meme, Part 1

Sunday Stealing is taking on part 5 of this meme this week, but I’ve never done the other parts, so I’m starting with part 1, which was originally posted to Sunday Stealing 2 years ago.

1. Who are you?

Dayle

2. What are the 3 most important things everyone should know about you?

I tend to care too much, I’m socially inept, and I value honest above almost everything else.

3. When you aren’t memes like this one what are you doing?

Writing, working, hanging out with the family, rinse, repeat

4. List your classes in school from the ones you like the most to the ones you like the least (or if you are out of school, think of the classes you did like and didn’t like at the time).

My favorite courses in college (as I can remember them now . . . it’s been a very long time) were Abnormal Psychology, Animal Learning and Behavior, Psychological Testing, and Political Philosophy. The ones I disliked the most were Sociology (it was an 8am class and my professor spoke with an extremely thick accent . . . I can’t believe I passed), Child Psychology (love the subject matter, but my professor did nothing but talk about her kids), and Finite Math (again, nothing against the subject, but my professor reminded me of Norman Bates).

5. What is your biggest goal for this year?

To step out of my comfort zone more frequently

6. Where do you want to be in 5 years?

Anywhere but this house

7. What stage of life are you in right now?

The stage that has me realizing my limitations and working within them and pushing myself just enough to excel without reaching a breaking point . . . . . wait, sorry, that’s where I want to be . . . . I’m more at the stage of running myself ragged and then collapsing in exhaustion before doing it all over again!

8. Are you more child-like or childish?

That totally depends on the moment in which you catch me!

9. What is the last thing you said out loud?

“Good night my love. I love you!” to my daughter as I tucked her in

10. What song comes closest to how you feel about your life right now?

Wow. I have no idea. I’ll have to think about this one . . . I’ll try to get back to you later, but I make no promises.

11. Have you ever taken martial arts classes?

I have not, but I’d like to someday.

12. Does your life tend to get better or worse or does it just stay the same?

My life is always getting better . . . there are down points, of course, but I am constantly growing, constantly improving . . . outside circumstances will always be what they are . . . my power is in how I react to them.

13. Does time really heal all wounds?

Nope . . . . but it does teach us how to better dress those wounds.

14. How do you handle a rainy day?

If possible, I remain indoors . . . otherwise, I trudge through it.

15. Which is worse…losing your luggage or having to sort out tangled holiday lights?

Losing luggage

16. How is (or was) your relationship with your parents?

My relationship with my mom was wonderful . . . closer than most teenage daughters and mothers. She was my world, the one person I could always count on. . . . My relationship with my father was and is complicated at best. I’ve come to a place of acceptance (most of the time) and I enjoy talking with him on the rare occasions when we do get together, but I don’t think we will ever be close.

17. Do you tend to be aware of what is going on around you?

Not usually . . . I do people watch, but I focus on certain conversation or interactions . . . and if I’m not people watching, I’m usually lost inside my own head. I daydream a lot!

18. What is the truest thing that you know?

Compassion, understanding, and empathy are strengths we should all strive toward

19. What did you want to be when you grew up?

A writer . . . . I might have taken a backwards route to get here, and I might not be quite where I want to be just yet, but my path is working for me!

20. Have you ever been given a second chance?

Yes, several times

21. Are you more of a giver or a taker?

A giver . . . and I don’t say that to talk myself up . . . I give selfishly . . . I give because it makes me feel good.

22. Do you make your decisions with an open heart/mind?

I try, I really do, but I don’t always succeed.

23. What is the most physically painful thing that has ever happened to you?

I had a kidney stone several years ago. It was the most excruciating thing in my life . . . and yes, worse than childbirth!

24. What is the most emotionally painful thing that has ever happened to you?

Losing my mom to cancer when I was 16

25. Who have you hugged today?

My daughter and my boyfriend

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. # 13 I absolutely agree. I never knew until my mom died, but that is so true.
    And yes about the kidney stones, as well. My husband suffers from those – has had kidney surgery and is just prone to getting them, unfortunately. And I know that pain is the worst ever.
    I’m a giver too! As I told you on FB, I’d truly give you eggs if you lived near me…all the time…you’d get tired of them 🙂

    Reply

    • Awww, I wish I lived close to you! And thank you 🙂

      I only had the kidney stone once. I figured out what caused it (on my own because the doc was an ass – I didn’t have insurance at the time so I was treated like crap) and made sure not to let it happen again! I am so happy it wasn’t an ongoing thing. I definitely feel for your husband!

      Reply

  2. No wonder we get along! I care too much as well and value honesty. 🙂
    I like to give too….I think if I was rich, I would quickly go broke buying for everyone I love. Never had a kidney stone but I’ve heard they are extremely painful. The most painful thing that’s ever happened to me is when I broke my fibula and detached my deltoid ligament….don’t have pregnancy to compare it to YET, but God I hope it WAS worse than pregnancy because OUCH!

    Reply

    • I’ve never broken anything, so I don’t have a comparison there! But I figure that at least with childbirth, you have the outcome of your baby, so the pain is worth it . . . not so much with broken limbs, detached ligaments, and kidney stones!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

